Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roasted Chestnuts Oven or Stove Top Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roasted Chestnuts Oven or Stove Top

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on November 12, 2009

      FABULOUS, Rita!!! I luv roasted chestnuts, but never liked making them as I always had the skins sticking to the nuts like mad, which made peeling without burnt fingers impossible. But today I tried your oven-roast method and it worked like a charm! No sticking, no burnt fingers and the nuts tasted so yummy! THANKS SO MUCH for sharing this winner with us! It will be my go-to method for chestnut roasting from now on!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      WOW! Super recipe! I've always cooked them in a really hot oven. They tend to get burnt and the skins stick to them. These were fluffy and adding the water at the end made the skins slip right off them! Very nice!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      Excellent! I served as a snack for New Year's Day. I have been told that it is good luck to eat these chestnuts on New Year's day. I served with salt. I would like to try sea salt with the next batch.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2005

      Easy and excellent recipe! Made them for my husband tonight and he loved them! Thanks Rita!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2005

      Hi Rita; Made 2 lbs. of Chestnuts yesterday and they turned out so nice and crunchy and tasty. My DW went out and bought some Chinese Chestnuts late yesterday. They are somewhat smaller, so will try them following your recipe. Thanks for such a simple, but delicious recipe for chestnuts. "Uncle Bill"

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2013

      This worked well using the oven method even though the chestnuts were hard to cut into they turned out pretty good dipped in grey sea salt. I plan to try this again the same way with fresh chestnuts picked out how you describe in the introduction. This will be my go to recipe unless I have a real fire to put them in!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      These have a good flavor, but I don't think they cooked long enough. I followed the directions exactly, but I still had a heck of a time getting the skins off. I don't think I would make them again just because of the hassle. Thanks, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2007

      i had my first ever roasted chestnuts last year from a greek friend, and this is the same recipe he used. can't wait to make them for the holidays this year

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roasted Chestnuts Oven or Stove Top

    Serving Size: 1 (75 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 145.6
     
    Calories from Fat 19
    13%
    Total Fat 2.2 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.1 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites