Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roasted Caramelized Balsamic Onions Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roasted Caramelized Balsamic Onions

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on June 04, 2007

      My rating may go up on these in another half hour. My DD and I both thought they should be much softer that they came out so I turned down the oven and put them back in to cook some more. The flavor is nice. I used Walla Walla onions. Reviewed for ZWT 3

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2005

      Onion side dishes are one of our new favorite things since we discovered how yummy they could be this summer while grilling out. This recipe takes the cake! It is so easy and the onions are so flavorful. I also used my microwave to melt the butter mixture but other than that followed the recipe to a T. This has been in my cookbook to try for so long, and I'm glad I finally did it! When the weather warms up, I'm going to try these wrapped in foil on the grill too. The flavor is amazing and the aroma is intoxicating. I love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2004

      WOW! I am not an onion fan at all but PaulaG's picture made me try it! I only had small white onions so I used those. Not only was the aroma wonderful but the look and taste made it gourmet! Awesome pic and awesome onions!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2004

    • on July 09, 2004

      This is a nice way to prepare onions. I used Vadila onions and was out of thyme so I used an Italian Herb Seasoning. I microwaved the butter and then added the other ingredients. The aroma filled the house and probably the neightborhood.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2004

      This was nice change of pace for a side dish. I used vidalia onions and when I quartered them I cut to far and the slices fell apart (my fault) but I just kept basting them with the sauce. The smell and taste were very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2004

      I used ordinary brown onions that we have here for this recipe and took Jewlies advice and microwaved the butter. As I had some fresh thyme I used it also. Great recipe, and they do look good the way the swell. I think it turned out great, may have been slightly sweeter if you used Spanish onions, but with the balsamic I think it turned out well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2004

      Excellent, love the smell while cooking these wonderful onions. I cheated a bit and microwaved the butter until soft, mixed in the balsamic and thyme then poured all over the onions. Looks great the way the onion rings swell and rise up once cooked. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roasted Caramelized Balsamic Onions

    Serving Size: 1 (111 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 150.6
     
    Calories from Fat 104
    69%
    Total Fat 11.5 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 154.8 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.6 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 6.3 g
    25%
    Protein 1.0 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites