Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roasted Butternut Squash, Red Grapes and Sage Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roasted Butternut Squash, Red Grapes and Sage

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on January 04, 2011

      YES! This is the first five-star rating I have EVER given! I roast a lot of veggies, including butternut squash, but I never would have thought of using the grapes. It's a wonderful combination with the onions and squash, and visually attractive, too. I'm afraid I disagree with Happy Harry #2 about the grapes, they are really good all caramelized and sweet and soft, not soggy, after the full roasting time. They'd be good even roasted by themselves. The pine nuts add a firm, crunchy texture that complements the softer grapes and squash. Pecans or walnuts would probably work too. Oh, I did use all oil instead of butter, but I'd use the butter for a special meal, like Thanksgiving.

      Added 12/20/10: Out of sage? Try rosemary! It's a nice variation. If you have neither, thyme is goo, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2010

      What a wonderful combination of flavors! Made exactly as posted-and wouldn't change a thing. All my favorites plus an easy oven recipe. Am going to add this to my 425 oven collection. Thank you for sharing Geema.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      You can not go wrong with this yummy side. The sage and grapes bring a whole new wonderful level to your everyday roasted squash. Made as written using globe grapes. Will make again. Thanks for the post.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2010

      Loved it! This was a great combination of flavors and so easy to do. I just drizzled on some oil, (no butter), and put everything in a 9x13 pan. Baked it for about an hour. Perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2010

      This is positively AMAZING! I could not stop eating it. What an amazing layer of individual flavors. Next time I will add more sage. It's beautiful and delicious! I will be adding this to our Thanksgiving menu. I'm on board with Zeldaz, add the grapes and allow then to roast with all the other ingredients. Watch your timing. It may not take 50 minutes. I wish I have made more! I forgot to add the pine nuts before the taking the photo, but I did roast and add them before serving. Do not leave them out! YUM! Thanks Geema!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      I've made this several times now, and everyone who has tried it has loved it. I even sent the recipe to my neighbor last year when she wanted something different to serve at her huge Thanksgiving dinner, and she liked it so well she plans to repeat it this year. It's a nice combination of flavors and textures; quite unexpected, which makes it even better when offering to company. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2005

      I made this tonite and enjoyed it very much. I followed your ingredient list as written but kept the grapes aside until the squash had baked for thirty minutes. The reason for this was because I have baked with whole grapes before and I was afraid they would get too soggy. The dish was really very tasty and company-worthy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2014

      This is sooo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2013

      This side dish is so easy, so good, and so Fall! Prep is reduced by buying pre-diced squash. I loved the addition of pine nuts and the savory taste of the sage. I actually served as a side to falafel sandwiches because I was looking to use up ingredients, but this recipe would pair well many different main dishes. I already saved this into my keeper file. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2012

      Very fancy! In the end I added a drizzle of balsamico. I think garlic would go well here, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2012

      Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2012

      If you haven't tried this recipe then you should! I loved the flavors together and will definitely be making this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2011

      Delicious!! I loved the combination of flavors and the smell while it's baking is amazing!! This would be a great side dish to almost anything. Will be making again - thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2011

      Delicious. I wasn't sure how the whole roasting grapes thing was going to go, but they really made this dish stand out. The pine nuts were a nice touch, but those suckers were pricey so I would probably skip them next time. I didn't really measure the oil and butter and I think I put too much in, so I'll watch that more closely next time. I've always eaten steamed or boiled butternut squash, but now that just seems silly since roasting is clearly the yummier way to go :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roasted Butternut Squash, Red Grapes and Sage

    Serving Size: 1 (387 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 316.8
     
    Calories from Fat 138
    43%
    Total Fat 15.3 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 4.6 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 14.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.4 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 7.1 g
    28%
    Sugars 16.4 g
    65%
    Protein 4.8 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes