14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

YES! This is the first five-star rating I have EVER given! I roast a lot of veggies, including butternut squash, but I never would have thought of using the grapes. It's a wonderful combination with the onions and squash, and visually attractive, too. I'm afraid I disagree with Happy Harry #2 about the grapes, they are really good all caramelized and sweet and soft, not soggy, after the full roasting time. They'd be good even roasted by themselves. The pine nuts add a firm, crunchy texture that complements the softer grapes and squash. Pecans or walnuts would probably work too. Oh, I did use all oil instead of butter, but I'd use the butter for a special meal, like Thanksgiving.

Added 12/20/10: Out of sage? Try rosemary! It's a nice variation. If you have neither, thyme is goo, too.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zeldaz January 04, 2011

What a wonderful combination of flavors! Made exactly as posted-and wouldn't change a thing. All my favorites plus an easy oven recipe. Am going to add this to my 425 oven collection. Thank you for sharing Geema.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal November 16, 2010

You can not go wrong with this yummy side. The sage and grapes bring a whole new wonderful level to your everyday roasted squash. Made as written using globe grapes. Will make again. Thanks for the post.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl November 14, 2010

Loved it! This was a great combination of flavors and so easy to do. I just drizzled on some oil, (no butter), and put everything in a 9x13 pan. Baked it for about an hour. Perfect!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wish I Could Cook November 12, 2010

This is positively AMAZING! I could not stop eating it. What an amazing layer of individual flavors. Next time I will add more sage. It's beautiful and delicious! I will be adding this to our Thanksgiving menu. I'm on board with Zeldaz, add the grapes and allow then to roast with all the other ingredients. Watch your timing. It may not take 50 minutes. I wish I have made more! I forgot to add the pine nuts before the taking the photo, but I did roast and add them before serving. Do not leave them out! YUM! Thanks Geema!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagoland Chef du Jour November 11, 2010

I've made this several times now, and everyone who has tried it has loved it. I even sent the recipe to my neighbor last year when she wanted something different to serve at her huge Thanksgiving dinner, and she liked it so well she plans to repeat it this year. It's a nice combination of flavors and textures; quite unexpected, which makes it even better when offering to company. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CCPontiac October 18, 2009

I made this tonite and enjoyed it very much. I followed your ingredient list as written but kept the grapes aside until the squash had baked for thirty minutes. The reason for this was because I have baked with whole grapes before and I was afraid they would get too soggy. The dish was really very tasty and company-worthy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Happy Harry #2 December 29, 2005

This is sooo good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Quail2 February 20, 2014

This side dish is so easy, so good, and so Fall! Prep is reduced by buying pre-diced squash. I loved the addition of pine nuts and the savory taste of the sage. I actually served as a side to falafel sandwiches because I was looking to use up ingredients, but this recipe would pair well many different main dishes. I already saved this into my keeper file. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny October 17, 2013

Very fancy! In the end I added a drizzle of balsamico. I think garlic would go well here, too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare November 23, 2012
Roasted Butternut Squash, Red Grapes and Sage