Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roasted Butternut Squash and Shallots Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roasted Butternut Squash and Shallots

    Average Rating:

    64 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 64

    Sort by:

    • on November 14, 2009

      Delicious. Two of use ate all of it. I tossed it under the broiler to put a brown crust on the squash pieces, after cooking at 475 for about 25 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2011

      I have made this recipe many times for company and my guests always leave asking for the recipe. You can use whatever onions you have on hand, plus I substitute maple syrup for the brown sugar and that works well too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2010

      We loved this! I only had 2 shallots so I used onions as well. We actually liked the onions the best. We will be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      This recipe was delicious. The shallots were not too strong, and the taste was not cloyingly sweet like some sweet potato casseroles. I never peeled and diced uncooked butternut squash before, and it took me a while to peel but it was worth the effort. Oops, I originally forgot to give this stars. P.S. Made it again for Christmas day 2008. Still wonderful. I added a handful (about 1/4-1/2 cup) of dried cranberries and it made it prettier! These days I find that pre-peeled butternut squash is readily available which makes it much easier. Thanks again! Made it again for Thanksgiving 2009! Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2009

      This is so good! I did use small chopped yellow onion due to the fact that I didn't have shallots on hand. I put everything in a large plastic bag and made sure the flavoring was well dispursed, then dumped onto the baking sheet. We'll keep this in our 'Favorite' catagory. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      A winner. Just enough brown sugar. It isn't too sweet, it doesn't burn. Although I did crank the heat down 25 degrees after the first 10 minutes or so. It just seemed a little too hot. I didn't have shallots or onions. I had leeks. I sliced them up and mixed them in with the squash & other ingredients. Very very tasty. A keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2014

      Wow, just Wow. These are super yummy. I want to try adding some things. Bacon Crumbles using some of the Bacon fat to replace the oil, Chopped Pecans, Cranberries... Thanks for a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2011

      Excellent!! I used an onion and really enjoyed this dish. thanks so much for sharing!! Will be making again soon as I still have some winter squash to use up from the garden. Thanks so much for sharing!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2011

      Could tell it had promise, but was dry. Also the temperature is too high.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      Amazing delicious and so easy to prepare! Had no shallots so used sweet onions instead--super tasty.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2010

      Delicious! I used butternut and acorn squash from the farmer's market and it baked up beautifully! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      yay! one of my favorite side dishes and I don't even like squash! When you don't have any shallots, small, quarted onions works well too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2008

      Absolutely *loved* it. Didn't have the brown sugar so I used real maple syrup. I also used onions instead of shallots. Think I'll make it again tonight....it was *that* good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2013

      I made this as part of a turkey dinner. I doubled the recipe as I had a large squash and didn't want to cook the next day, lol. I still only used the 8 shallots but they were big ones. I had it in with the turkey at 375 degrees for about 20 minutes then put it up to 475 when the turkey came out for about another 10 min or so. It was absolutely delicious. I highly recommend and I will certainly make it again. Thanks Ridgely!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2013

      Delicious! I used 4 extra large shallots and roasted the squash up in the morning. Use more shallots as they turn out really, really good! I gently heated it up in the crock pot to save on last minute cooking! Yum! I have a half squash leftover, so I will roast the squash with more shallots and make a soup out of it! This is a keeper! Kudos on a great find!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2013

      Red onion is a great substitute to the shallots. Love this recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2013

    • on June 18, 2013

      Made with onion, and baked longer to get more carmelization, delicious! Will try with a little balsamic next time for a sweet & sour effect. Definitely will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2013

      What a great side dish. I made this just as written and wouldn't change or add a thing. Thank you for sharing with us this hearty side dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2013

      This was a great way to use up the squash I had. I used scallions instead of shallots, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. This one's a keeper, thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roasted Butternut Squash and Shallots

    Serving Size: 1 (153 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 114.7
     
    Calories from Fat 26
    23%
    Total Fat 2.9 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 591.4 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.5 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 5.6 g
    22%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites