65 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious. Two of use ate all of it. I tossed it under the broiler to put a brown crust on the squash pieces, after cooking at 475 for about 25 minutes.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jeanmarieok November 14, 2009

I have made this recipe many times for company and my guests always leave asking for the recipe. You can use whatever onions you have on hand, plus I substitute maple syrup for the brown sugar and that works well too.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StillRiverCook January 24, 2011

We loved this! I only had 2 shallots so I used onions as well. We actually liked the onions the best. We will be making this again!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VA June 25, 2010

This recipe was delicious. The shallots were not too strong, and the taste was not cloyingly sweet like some sweet potato casseroles. I never peeled and diced uncooked butternut squash before, and it took me a while to peel but it was worth the effort. Oops, I originally forgot to give this stars. P.S. Made it again for Christmas day 2008. Still wonderful. I added a handful (about 1/4-1/2 cup) of dried cranberries and it made it prettier! These days I find that pre-peeled butternut squash is readily available which makes it much easier. Thanks again! Made it again for Thanksgiving 2009! Wonderful!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend January 18, 2010

This is so good! I did use small chopped yellow onion due to the fact that I didn't have shallots on hand. I put everything in a large plastic bag and made sure the flavoring was well dispursed, then dumped onto the baking sheet. We'll keep this in our 'Favorite' catagory. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Colorado Lauralee December 04, 2009

Could tell it had promise, but was dry. Also the temperature is too high.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GSMontana January 05, 2011

A winner. Just enough brown sugar. It isn't too sweet, it doesn't burn. Although I did crank the heat down 25 degrees after the first 10 minutes or so. It just seemed a little too hot. I didn't have shallots or onions. I had leeks. I sliced them up and mixed them in with the squash & other ingredients. Very very tasty. A keeper.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeCake December 09, 2007

I made this for dinner and it was very good. My husband loved this dish and ate most of it. We grow butternut squash so I'm always looking for good squash recipes and this is a keeper. I started by cutting the squash in half, scooping out the insides, and using a fork to poke the squash with holes. Then I microwaved the squash for 5 minutes, turned the pieces over, and microwaved for another 5 minutes. That's the only way I can peel and cube butternut squash without feeling like I'm chiseling marble. I also used onions instead of shallots, and otherwise made as directed. A company-worthy dish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scribbler515 September 11, 2014

Wow, just Wow. These are super yummy. I want to try adding some things. Bacon Crumbles using some of the Bacon fat to replace the oil, Chopped Pecans, Cranberries... Thanks for a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bill Butler March 13, 2014

Excellent!! I used an onion and really enjoyed this dish. thanks so much for sharing!! Will be making again soon as I still have some winter squash to use up from the garden. Thanks so much for sharing!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SPrins January 11, 2011
Roasted Butternut Squash and Shallots