18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made these tonight. I only had about 3-4 cups of sprouts and they were huge, so I quartered them. I put the sprouts, slivered red onion, slivered shallot, only 1 tbsp. olive oil, kosher salt, fresh pepper and 1/2 tsp. sugar in a big zip lock to toss. It was delightfully delicious! The white balsamic finishes the dish with just the right amount of freshness. Sometimes I don't like the heavy taste of Brussels Sprouts, but this cooking method provided a light fresh and easy side dish.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Smartypup February 21, 2010

This just might be my new favorite way to make brussels sprouts! I also loved the idea of using tin foil - easy clean up and no more roasted brussels sprout shaped stains on my pans.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sofie-a-toast November 07, 2010

We like roasted veggies, but brussels sprouts have always been a hard sell in my family. I enjoyed this very much. I used 4 cups sprouts and kept the remaining indredients the same. The balsamic vinegar was a nice touch. The rest of my family, well it may be too much to ask for them to love brussels sprouts, but I'll keep trying.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' November 30, 2009

The smell of this cooking was super! I did add about 5 strips of bacon, torn and partly pan cooked. Tossed the onions in with the bacon for a bit then tossed it all in the roaster pan with the sprouts. Made for Canadian Thanksgiving.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SoupCookie October 17, 2009

I love brussel sprouts, and I love red onions....what was not to love about this recipe? The wonderful taste of the roasted vegetables was fabulous. I might add a little more salt, but otherwise, I wouldn't change anything. Made for Zaar 123 Hit Wonders Tag! Thanks so much for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom April 18, 2009

Over Thanksgiving, I was served brussels sprouts, which I never really loved. I found I enjoyed them, so I wanted to try them again. This recipe has won me over. Thanks for posting it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PainterCook January 17, 2009

Made for Photo Tag.I would give this 10 stars if I could.If the only way you have ever eaten sprouts is boiled...you have to try this method.They are sweet and creamy and just gorgeous with a light splash of balsamic. I did'nt have the large amount of sprouts listed...I likely only had 2 cups worth but I sliced 2 medium redonions because we are onion-lovers,I also only added a pinch of sugar.My balsamic was'nt white but it totally did'nt matter.VERY VERY good flavour and the sprouts look lovely all carmelized.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorrie in Montreal December 27, 2008

Yum, yum, yum!! We love roasted brussel sprouts and am glad I found a new recipe for them. I cut the recipe in half and we pigged out! Made for PAC Spring 2013.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty March 22, 2013

I love this recipe!! Easy and delicious! <br/>I even made a mistake and added the vinegar with the other ingredients and not at the end. The sprouts still turned out super!<br/>I used brown sugar. It gave a nice flavor with the vinegar. <br/>I will be making these again. <br/>Thanks a bunch!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bellablue March 17, 2013

This is a great recipe for brussels sprouts. I made these to go with some roasted chicken and potatoes and they were the perfect accompaniment. I was pressed for time, so I diced the sprouts a bit, and the smaller pieces roasted up quickly in the oven - some actually becoming a bit crispy! The flavors are wonderful - and the fact that the family was eating brussels sprouts without any argument was an added bonus. This will be one of my go-to recipes in the future for sprouts. So glad I tried this recipe - made for "Come to a Garden Party" diabetic forum tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FloridaNative July 04, 2012
Roasted Brussels Sprouts and Red Onions