318 Reviews

Laura, thanks for this great way to prepare brussel sprouts! (The Barefoot Contessa strikes again!) I have always loved them and my husband is just accquiring a taste for them and he loved them prepared this way. Once cooked I sprinkled them with a little fresh grated parmesan cheese and they disappeared in a flash. Thanks for sharing! Tweeky

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judith N. October 28, 2003

Simply delicious! I didn't have any lemon pepper so I used coarse black pepper and lime and lemon zest. I was also in a hurry, so I cut them in half and they were perfectly done in about 15 minutes. My mother, that does not like Brussels sprouts period, LOVED them.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsPia July 25, 2010

What can you add to this many great reviews? Perfect EXACTLY as written! Did use the lemon-pepper option and note that it says just olive oil, If you have it, use pure olive oil instead of extra-virgin.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little_Sister May 16, 2010

I had some brussels sprouts that I needed to use up from the last of our CSA share (they're not a typical purchase in our household). These are the best brussels sprouts I've ever had. I was afraid I'd roasted them too long because they were quite brown, but they tasted perfect. The outside was a bit crispy and the inside was tender, almost creamy. The roasting also gave them a sweeter flavor than they get when sauteed, steamed, or boiled. I won't wait until next year's CSA share - this recipe is worth purchasing brussels sprouts!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jdoe November 03, 2003

Oh Yum! I, too, used montreal seasoning rather than lemon pepper seasoning. Convected this for 20 minutes at 400! PERFECTION!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedVinoGirl July 01, 2010

These are so good and so easy. I don't know why I don't buy fresh brussel sprouts more, but after this I sure will!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iewe April 20, 2010

Who knew Brussels could be so wonderful!! And they are so easy that there is no excuse not to eat your veggies! For a different flavour I've tryed tossing them in Feta Oregano Salad Dressing. I can't get over how yummy they are! And did I mention that they are super easy?

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rinjii Flower June 25, 2003

Wow, wow, wow Sharon. I am not a huge fan of Brussel sprouts, but I may be now. These little sprouts were oh so lovely, soft, tender, slightly sweet with a nice dark outer skin that had a great bite. Made exactly as written wouldn't change a thing. They were so quick and easy to make, I know that we will be enjoying these again. Made for the Best of 2013, Kudos to you for making it into my Best of Cookbook for 2014.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato February 10, 2014

First and foremost, prepare your guests for lemon-pepper flavoring if they're accustomed to steamed brussel sprouts. Secondly, preparation is tedious, but worthwhile. I prepared 2 lbs of fresh brussels and ended up with 1-1/2 lbs, but still served 6 with few leftovers. I think my guests were only being kind in not sweeping them up for leftovers because I got rave reviews. Next time, I will prepare double the servings. I LOVE THEM! Other than preparation being tedious, they were delightfully tasty.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eightthirty November 29, 2010

I wasn't too crazy about this one. Maybe my brussels sprouts were too large or maybe my oven just sucks but they didn't turn out any different than any other type of bs I've made before. They were definitely nothing like popcorn - the outside wasn't crispy at all and I cooked them for about 40 minutes. BUT the leaves that fell off during cooking were crispy and yummy.... made me think of Kale Chips I make all the time.... maybe I will peel off all the leaves and then roast them! Crispy and yummy like potato chips. Overall I was disappointed that these didn't turn out as well as everyone said but I'll keep trying!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lilmsbritches July 19, 2010
Roasted Brussels Sprouts!