Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roasted Beets With Honey Balsamic Glaze Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roasted Beets With Honey Balsamic Glaze

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on January 11, 2011

      Very good though I had to change it up a touch.I had four beets that I chopped into 1'in bites and I roasted them straight on the cookie sheet with olive oil and salt.Four was all I had.I also increased the temp to 425 as its that intense heat that roasts them.I kept all the sauce amounts the same but added a TBSP minced fresh ginger-I read this off of another recipe.I simmered that sauce as directed but per another reviewers note I poured it over the beets and roasted for another 10 min.OMG!!these were amazing!I cant wait to try this same idea with a winter squash.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2010

      When I made these tonight I realized I have never rated this recipe! I made it several times last fall with fresh beets from the farmers market. Tonight I made the sauce and threw in a can of sliced beets, simmered for about 5 minutes and they were a quick and easy side dish. I usually cut the butter in half. Will make these both ways often - this is a delicious way to eat beets! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      I used three golden beets & one carrot. I sliced them and roasted them in the oven. at 450. I added the glaze at the very end and put them back in the oven for 5 more minutes (20 minutes total.) The glaze is so good and mellows out the earthly beet taste. Tender, but crunchy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2012

      Wow!!! These were so good. I truly feel that beets are one of the most under utilized and appreciated vegetables out there. This is such an easy and tasty way to serve them. However, I did cut the cooking time way down by peeling and cutting beets into half moon slices and roasted them like this. Much quicker cook time. The glaze is SOOOO yummy. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2011

      For this recipe I used a variety of root vegetables: heirloom red beets, golden beets, a parsnip, two purple potatoes, couple of carrots. The oven temperature was increased to 400ยบ and the beets since they were small were left unpeeled. Roasted veggies served over braised greens: mustard, chard, etc. This was a great accompaniment to Grilled Greek Pork Chops and steamed orange cauliflower. The sauce-Mmmm!! Reviewed for Veg Tag January.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      Amazing!!! I peeled 1/2 the beets before roasting and 1/2 after and I definitely prefer peeling before. Peeling after was difficult right out of the oven and the previously peeled were just as juicy. I added peeled carrots and a couple sliced cloves garlic. i used an olive oil spray bottle and coated generously (probably about 1 tbl). I likely will alwys do beets this way. Thanks!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2012

      Love these beets! I made a ton of them and shared with everyone. They are fabulous...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2012

      Best beets ever!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2011

      I like this recipe and am likely to make it again. It was my first time making beets of any kind and I roasted them in the oven for an hour. You can peel the skin after they cool by hand, but if you don't have the time or patience you can use a peeler. Your hands will get pink but luckily I didn't get anything on my clothing and the color washes out pretty easily. If you look at Joy of Cooking, the length of cooking time depends on the age of the beets, with older ones taking up to two hours. I only needed an hour to get the desired results, despite it being about a month since I bought them (organic) {they had been in the crisper which is near freezing in temperature}. I used a lemon flavored raw honey and a butter substitute (from canola oil) and I didn't have a clotting problem. The glaze tempers the potency of the beets, producing a milder and less tart taste. I definitely would recommend giving this recipe a try! I sprinkled some dry parsley flakes on top for presentation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2011

      I had never tried beets, but had been wanting to try them for quite some time after seeing so many appetizing-looking recipes on food.com. This was the one I chose to start with, and it was a very good start! I scaled the recipe back to 1 serving as well as I could since DH expressed a distaste for trying them. I was surprised at how messy they were -- after peeling the beets, my whole kitchen was splattered magenta! But the flavor of this dish was worth the mess. There did seem to be an awful lot of glaze left on the plate, so I think next time I will cut back on the butter a little bit to avoid wasting the yumminess. This is definitely a keeper! Thanks for sharing, Elmotoo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2011

      Since I had mutant sized beets I cooked them 30 minutes longer. These beets were very tender and the glaze was yummy too. Made for Veg 'N Swap tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2010

      Have made this a few times. My daughter loves this beet recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      I am not a big beet fan but had some from a work to market veggie mix. My beets were a variety of sizes, which made cooking them difficult. I ended up having some that were a bit too firm. Otherwise, they were great! I did slice them at the end and place them in the sauce in the oven for the last 10 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      We really liked the glaze used in this recipe! I roasted some carrots and beets together. Did not use the olive oil, just some cooking spray. Turned out great! Thanks for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2009

      We loved these beets. The butter does coagulate a little when they are cold but it didn't bother us. I just scrape it off. They are delicious hot or chopped up cold on salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2009

      I haven't made beets in a long time, and wanted a way to make them to get my kids to eat them. This recipe fit the bill! I used a pressure cooker to cook them so omitted the olive oil. My only complaint is that I will peel the beets first the next time. Otherwise, this a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      I liked this beet recipe alot and I think the flavor improves with age. I think I just don't like it quite as well as my "usual" pickled beet recipe. The balsamic vinegar is quite good. I might try either less oil (i used olive oil in the glaze) or maybe no oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      This is the first time I have made fresh beets and it is a very good recipe. I Only have two beets but made half a recipe of the glaze. I cooked them a little over an hour and should have cooked them a little longer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      This tasted okay but just didn't have that "wow" taste for me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      I am really confused with this recipe. It calls for 16 beets and 6 tablespoons of olive oil and then just says to use 1/2 tablespoon of olive oil on the beets. Not sure what to do with the other 5 1/2 tablespoons of olive oil. What am I missing?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roasted Beets With Honey Balsamic Glaze

    Serving Size: 1 (163 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 356.8
     
    Calories from Fat 237
    66%
    Total Fat 26.3 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 6.5 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 207.3 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.9 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 25.7 g
    102%
    Protein 3.4 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes