Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roasted Beet Salad With Horseradish Cream Dressing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roasted Beet Salad With Horseradish Cream Dressing

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on June 30, 2011

      Perfection! I love roasted beets, and this was wonderful. I hate the red stain it leaves under my fingernails, but I should wear gloves! The dressing was delightful, and I added just a bit more horseradish because I like things "hot, hot, hot"! So glad I tried this recipe for the tour. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2011

      Loved this! I typically have roasted beets on hand because I love them, and this was a nice and different way to use some up. I really liked the combination of the zingy horseradish and fresh dill in the dressing. I didn't see any reason to buy another head of lettuce when I had some in the crisper, so I just used the romaine that I already had. I don't usually care for raw onion in salads either, but I think it went very well with the other flavors in this salad. I'm sure I'll be making this salad often. Thanks for posting! Made for the Emerald City Shakers for ZWT7

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2011

      The dressing on these beets was oh-so-good (be sure to include the horseradish)! I made my life very easy and used some vacuum-packed pre-cooked beets that I had in my pantry. Also, did not use the lettuce - just beets, onions and dressing for us. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      Colourful, elegant salad. I used a thick, Mediterranean-style yogurt in place of the whipping cream and sour cream, which worked out very well I think. Also, I like to soak my sliced onions in cold water for salads in order to remove some of the harsh zing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2010

      Imagine my surprise walking outside to the herb garden only to realize that my dill plant was eaten down to a nubbin. Fortunately I have dried dill on hand which isn't as good as fresh but sometimes you gotta do what you gotta go. I subbed half of the red beets with golden beets and half red onion for white onion. The selection of boston lettuce at the store wasn't very good and again I subbed romaine hearts and a variety of mixed spring greens. All in all a delicious and actually very simple recipe to prepare. Reviewed for ZWT 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2010

      Restaurant worthy recipe. Loved everything about it. I did use more horseradish than what the recipe called for, but I am silly like that. I also used seasoning salt instead of regular salt and I HIGHLY recommend this sub. Thanks for sharing! Made for ZWT6 Team SSaSSy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2010

      I loved this recipe. I used both red and yellow beets because I like the contrasting colours. I'm a heat wimp so I started with 1/2 of the horseradish and added smidgeon by smidgeon until it was spicy but didn't peel the skin off the inside of my mouth. ;) (I did say I was a wimp). I also used a little less dill and was very please with the result. Thanks for posting this very pretty and tasy salad. Made for ZWT6 on behalf of the Looney Spoon Phoodies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      wow this is nice it would be a good pickle type dish to set out . i didnt have fresh dill yet so i used dry . imixed it all together it takes a couple of minutes for the dill to show up in the flavors ,but it does t.the horseradish and the beets are a wicked combo though everyone should try this . i used canned beet slices for this easy easy easy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      Fabulous! Served it tonight at a dinner party. I thought my horseradish was sharp, but once I combined all the ingredients, it was very mild ... so I just kept adding horseradish. It ended up being mild, but quite flavorful, and combined with the beets and sweet onion, made for a wonderful salad. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2008

      This was great! My horseradish was getting old and I think may have lost some of its kick so I added quite a bit more than the recipe called for, tasting after each addition. Approximately 3 tablespoons all together. It was delicious! Can't wait to make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2008

      I added a little lemon to this because I didn't think there was quite enough seasoning for the lettuce, but it was really awesome before I added it as well. I used shallots instead of onions, and though I doubled the recipe I forgot to double the horseradish. Next time I'll definitely use the listed amount of horseradish. That really made the beats super tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2007

      I made this for our dinner along side some plain chicken. It was delish! I loove beets, but dh is a little suspect. Even so, let's just say he likes them now! The dressing made the beets! I will make this again for company - I would also serve as a starter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2007

      This is a wonderful combination of sweet beets and heat from the horseradish. We really enjoyed it. I was a little concerned that the horseradish didn't provide enough heat so I added a touch of wasabi powder and it was perfect. I did peel and dice the beets prior to roasting and they were done in about 20 minutes. The beets were prepared in the morning and chilled until serving time. I used Romaine for the greens. A definate winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roasted Beet Salad With Horseradish Cream Dressing

    Serving Size: 1 (102 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 143.6
     
    Calories from Fat 113
    79%
    Total Fat 12.6 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 7.7 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 44.4 mg
    14%
    Sodium 60.1 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.9 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes