31 Reviews

Made a few modifications after reading the other reviews but overall really liked the recipe! To increase the flavor of the filling I added chopped onion, garlic, and spices and also added some plain yogurt to address the dryness comments. To serve as a main, I added 1/2 c. of cooked brown rice and then the squash was overlowing with filling but it still looked nice. Will be making this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nikki123 May 23, 2010

There are plenty of recipes for squash that use maple syrup, cinnamon and butter, so it's nice to see a savory recipe like this. I was able to get the stuffing into one squash. I microwaved my squash for 10 minutes and seasoned each half with salt, pepper, nutmeg and italian seasoning. To the stuffing mixture, I microplaned one clove of garlic into it and added a few sprigs of fresh thyme. Baked this for 30 mins at 300F and my partner and I thoroughly enjoyed with Cod With Onions and Chives (Kabeljau Mit Schnittlauch Zwiebeln). This is a very filling side dish that could easily be the entree. Thank you, Barb, for sharing this delicious recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef-Boy-I-Be Illinois September 01, 2009

This was absolutely beyond awesome! My definite new fave way to prepare acorn squash. I did tweak the recipe a bit, based largely on other reviews. I whisked together one egg, a couple of tblsp. light sour cream, 1+ tsp. minced garlic, 1+ tsp. dried minced onion, about 1/4 tsp. garlic-parsley salt, 1/2 tsp. dry mustard & 1/4 tsp. or so ground pepper. Then added 3/4 cup shredded Swiss cheese, 1/2 cup chopped walnuts (yes, I doubled the walnuts) and the thawed spinach, and folded together well before stuffing the pre-baked squash. I used one large squash (2 halves), and it was a perfect fit. Topped with remaining cheese and baked as indicated. The egg and light sour cream prevented any dryness at all, and added a bit of protein as well. EXCELLENT.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CCPontiac February 14, 2016

I think this recipe is a good start for us. I've never had acorn squash before so I didn't know what to expect. Now I know. Next time I'll kick up the flavor a little bit as I found this to be very bland. I think I'll season the actual squash better as well as add some garlic and onion to the spinach mixture. All in all it was still good and everyone is game for another try.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilysse November 16, 2011

Very good! My husband is not a winter squash fan but I'm trying to eat more within the seasons. He liked the end result. I did make some changes as per some other reviews.The following is for 2 halves of one acorn squash (2 servings) I added 1 - 1.5 c. brown rice, used fresh baby spinach (uncooked), chopped 2 garlic cloves, added a dusting of cayenne ( 1/8 tsp? ) and rosemary ( 1/4 tsp? ), 1/4 of an onion diced and 4 oz. yogurt. Remember to roast squash cut side down! I cooked mine cut side up and it dried out a bit. Very good and filling vegetarian entree. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brighid November 11, 2011

Delicious and easy. I will definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenJBissett May 10, 2010

Excellent recipe! The walnuts really sent it over the top :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peachie Keene January 14, 2010

Delicious. I used two squash weighing just over 2 lbs. together. I scooped out just slightly more than the seeds, not going too far into the flesh. The filling filled my 4 halves perfectly. The only thing I changed was that I added a dash of nutmeg, but I do that often with spinach. This dish was AMAZING. 5 bright stars from the BF too. We ate this as a main dish with crusty bread and a glass of wine. Outstanding.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JennyLynn99 November 18, 2009

Made this today and it was excellent! I put plenty of cheese and walnuts and used fresh, steamed spinach. The squash without the stuffing was a bit bland - not sure what to do about that. Overall very good and looks awesome when its done too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Frankie&Johnny October 18, 2009
Roasted Acorn Squash With Spinach and Gruyere