Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roasted Acorn Squash With Spinach and Gruyere Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roasted Acorn Squash With Spinach and Gruyere

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on May 23, 2010

      Made a few modifications after reading the other reviews but overall really liked the recipe! To increase the flavor of the filling I added chopped onion, garlic, and spices and also added some plain yogurt to address the dryness comments. To serve as a main, I added 1/2 c. of cooked brown rice and then the squash was overlowing with filling but it still looked nice. Will be making this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      There are plenty of recipes for squash that use maple syrup, cinnamon and butter, so it's nice to see a savory recipe like this. I was able to get the stuffing into one squash. I microwaved my squash for 10 minutes and seasoned each half with salt, pepper, nutmeg and italian seasoning. To the stuffing mixture, I microplaned one clove of garlic into it and added a few sprigs of fresh thyme. Baked this for 30 mins at 300F and my partner and I thoroughly enjoyed with Cod With Onions and Chives (Kabeljau Mit Schnittlauch Zwiebeln). This is a very filling side dish that could easily be the entree. Thank you, Barb, for sharing this delicious recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2011

      I think this recipe is a good start for us. I've never had acorn squash before so I didn't know what to expect. Now I know. Next time I'll kick up the flavor a little bit as I found this to be very bland. I think I'll season the actual squash better as well as add some garlic and onion to the spinach mixture. All in all it was still good and everyone is game for another try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2011

      Very good! My husband is not a winter squash fan but I'm trying to eat more within the seasons. He liked the end result. I did make some changes as per some other reviews.The following is for 2 halves of one acorn squash (2 servings) I added 1 - 1.5 c. brown rice, used fresh baby spinach (uncooked), chopped 2 garlic cloves, added a dusting of cayenne ( 1/8 tsp? ) and rosemary ( 1/4 tsp? ), 1/4 of an onion diced and 4 oz. yogurt. Remember to roast squash cut side down! I cooked mine cut side up and it dried out a bit. Very good and filling vegetarian entree. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2010

    • on May 10, 2010

      Delicious and easy. I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      Excellent recipe! The walnuts really sent it over the top :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2009

      Delicious. I used two squash weighing just over 2 lbs. together. I scooped out just slightly more than the seeds, not going too far into the flesh. The filling filled my 4 halves perfectly. The only thing I changed was that I added a dash of nutmeg, but I do that often with spinach. This dish was AMAZING. 5 bright stars from the BF too. We ate this as a main dish with crusty bread and a glass of wine. Outstanding.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      Made this today and it was excellent! I put plenty of cheese and walnuts and used fresh, steamed spinach. The squash without the stuffing was a bit bland - not sure what to do about that. Overall very good and looks awesome when its done too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      I love this recipe. It's delicious and doesn't take a lot of ingredients or make a big mess in the kitchen. This should go on the vegetarian single-mom must-have list of recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

    • on March 18, 2008

      Very good recipe. My husband made this the other night for dinner, he doubled the chesse on accident but it turned out great! We will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

      This was okay, but quite low on flavor for my taste and very dry. If I made it again I might increase the cheese or add some garlic/herbs with the spinach mixture (as others have said).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

      I really enjoy this dish, and my partner - who usually hates squash! - likes it too. My only modification is adding minced garlic and herbs de provence to the spinach mixture. I'm totally perplexed by the reviewers that found it dry and bland! Perhaps it was overcooked?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2007

      This was a very simple and easy to prepare dish. This was a very bland though. If I were to make it again I would probably add a little garlic to the spinach filling to give it some ompf. This was also the first time I ever cooked with acorn squash and found that it didn't have as much flavor to it as I thought it would when I smelled it raw (very much like pumpkin but not as strong a flavor). Wasn't bad just not a lot of flavor all around.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2007

      This was really good. Our 4 year old and our 1 year old both loved it, and so did we. I'll definitely make this again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2007

      I tried this dish tonight based on the positive reviews and both my bf and I didn't like it. We are both squash fans and love spinach, but this dish just seemed too dry and flavorless. I doubt I'll make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2007

      Not bad. My vegetarian son said he liked the basic brown sugar-type squash better, but DH liked the Gruyere. We were out of walnuts and used hazelnuts instead, which worked out well. And we fit all of it into 1 squash (2 pieces) instead of two.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      I loved this and so did my Father, he said "Ive been wanting to do something different with acorn squash, rather than just putting butter in it and roasting" I was able to fit the whole pakage of spinach into 2 halves, just 1 squash but I had to sqeeze all the liquid out, I then added about 3 or 4 tablespoons of heavy cream, I like creamed spinach, I packed it in the squash but it fit. I will definately be making this again, thanks Barb for a new way to eat acorn squash!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2007

      Excellent and Easy!! I used swiss cheese but otherwise followed exactly. I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roasted Acorn Squash With Spinach and Gruyere

    Serving Size: 1 (333 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 276.5
     
    Calories from Fat 131
    47%
    Total Fat 14.5 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 5.9 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 31.2 mg
    10%
    Sodium 154.9 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.7 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 5.9 g
    23%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    3%
    Protein 13.9 g
    27%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes