28 Reviews

Greatest stuffing ever!! I am not a stuffing fan (actually hate the stuff) but when doing Christmas turkey I have to make it. This time I used this recipe and what a delicious one it is. What I hate about other stuffings is the heavy sogginess they become. This one being made of dried cubes of bread is light and tasty. Not gluggy at all. I followed the recipe exactly and thought it was perfect. It did make a far larger amount than I required for my turkey, so next time I'll halve the ingredients. Thank you so much for posting this GREAT recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiwi Kathy January 03, 2010

This was the best stuffing I have ever had. I couldn't believe the flavor and this is not the first time I have made stuffing. My family really liked it. Will use it again!!! 5+ stars - Thank you!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Husker7 April 06, 2009

5 stars for the stuffing! I got raves on how great it is and I loved it myself!! Thanks for posting the stuffing recipe!! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Judith Irene March 13, 2009

The best stuffing I have ever made or eaten. I have never cooked a turkey before (shock horror!!! - not as popular here in Australia for Christmas). I left out the mushrooms (due to children) and substituted fresh sage for the dried. The turkey was tender and juicy, I did add butter (1/2 cup) and fresh sage (12 leaves chopped) all over the turkey and under the skin of the breasts. I was concerned that the turkey would be 'disformed" as it was cooked upside down - nope, it was golden and beautiful just like the picture. I was left with over 2 cups of straight stock (and that was after I skimmed off all the fat) which made the most wonderful gravy too. I was a hit - no-one ever suspected it was my first time, until I told them! Thank you, thank you, thank you! Elizabeth

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingpompom December 25, 2008

The best stuffing I've ever made!! I added 1 finely chopped green apple to the onion/mushroom mix while cooking. I got RAVES!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clever_Little_Witch March 24, 2008

Outstanding recipe! I omitted the mushrooms and added a bit of poultry seasoning. A five star rating from hubby (a rare occurence) and the comment, "Tastes just like mom's...but look's better!"

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nikbern525 January 17, 2008

Excellent stuffing - Just like my Grandmother used to make it. I had to make it separately as my daughter must eat gluten free. I added a bit more broth and it was great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sanzoles January 14, 2008

Great. Used jar of mushrooms. Put celery, onions, mushrooms in microwave as I ran out of space on the stove. Didn't want to stuff any in turkey so I just put it in muffin tins. Gerry likes the crispy parts of the stuffing and this made lots of crispy. Added some extra broth (vegetable broth) since it wouldn't get the turkey juices. It was great. I don't really like stuffing, but loved this. The "muffins" were easy to serve and easy to store after. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gramara November 23, 2007

This is a keeper!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DzzRed December 26, 2006

I have been making stuffing like this for years...only without the mushrooms. This year, though, I did make fresh potato bread and used it in my stuffing. It turned out wonderful. Thanks for the great idea!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl December 26, 2006
Roast Turkey with Old Fashioned Bread Stuffing