Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roast Turkey with Old Fashioned Bread Stuffing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roast Turkey with Old Fashioned Bread Stuffing

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on November 15, 2002

      This is the way my family has always done it! Stuffing inside of the bird for wonderful, old-fashioned (mouth watering)flavor!! With proper precautions, it is perfectly safe !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2002

      I made my first Thanksgiving turkey this year following this recipe, and it was a complete success! Everyone raved about the turkey, and the stuffing was delicious as well. I plan to save this recipe and use it every year.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2002

      Sahara, you have a winning recipe here. I made two loaves of bread for cubes just as you said. Our guests couldn't get over the difference. I stuffed the turkey and then put the rest in a casserole and baked; then grilled it. Excellent! I'll never use store-bought bread again. The turkey was "killer" too. Thanx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      This is not a rating for the turkey but for the stuffing. (I followed another recipe for cooking a turkey in a roaster oven). Per the suggestion of making your own bread for the stuffing, I can't agree more. I made two kinds of dressing as I do every year--corn bread and regular bread dressing(usually a couple boxes of Kraft). The cornbread dressing is usually the star dressing, but this year everyone raved about the bread dressing. I made one loaf of bread in my bread machine, cooled and cubed it and spread it out on two cookie sheets and let it dry out for 3 days. When time to make, the only thing I did differently was to leave out the mushrooms and add a chopped apple. I will be making this again next year. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2009

      This is an almost exact duplicate of our old family recipe, sans mushrooms. Since the late 1940s, my Dad cooked using this approach and it is hands-down the best and easiest method to turkey cooking ever. A few notes: The bird must be thoroughly thawed. And don't substitute any commercial bread crumbs or croutons. It must be bread you've allowed to dry at home. I do toss in a few slices of rye and wheat (but not too much as it will overpower the dressing). For you first timers, the biggest secret of all is to let the bird rest under a gentle tent of foil for a solid half hour prior to cutting! Do not even think of touching the bird until then. The juices must rest...and will seep back into the meat, making for the juiciest bird ever. People will think you're a genius!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      I have used this recipe for years, as well! I usually make 2 batches of stuffing, though. One with the boiled, cut up giblets, and a small potato (boiled and mashed up), added to the recipe you have listed, and then, the regular. Also, after stuffing both ends of my turkey, if I have left over stuffing, I start it cooking as a cover for my turkey breast. I shape it like meat loaf, across the top from the drum sticks, over. Then, I make it wider over the top of the breast. I add a little extra butter to seep through as a baster. Just before you cut the legs loose so that the thighs will cook evenly, I remove the stuffing, and place it in a covered casserole dish. The breast and whole turkey is juicy and moist with all the basted flavors from the fantastic stuffing! My family and friends always hope it is me cooking the Thanksgiving bird.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2014

      A great recipe, very similar to what my dad has made for years! You can't go wrong with this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2013

      THIS IS IT! I had Thanksgiving at my house this year, and had both sides of the family over. I had never made a turkey before, and I was really nervous. When this came out, it was so moist, the meat fell off of the bone. The flavor was amazing. Thank You.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2012

      I had moved halfway across the country in my early 20s and did not know how to make a turkey until I found this recipe and it saved our holiday! My family LOVES it! Super tasty and very easy. I make it every holiday. I use a turkey roaster instead of the oven so the cooking time is different. I don't leave it breast down for any longer than 25 minutes in the roaster and then flip it. Also, my hubby hates vegetables and onions so after sauteeing them, I put them through the blender before adding them to the bread. Other than that, I don't change a thing!!! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2010

      Turkey turned out so moist. I will be preparing turkey this way from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      Greatest stuffing ever!! I am not a stuffing fan (actually hate the stuff) but when doing Christmas turkey I have to make it. This time I used this recipe and what a delicious one it is. What I hate about other stuffings is the heavy sogginess they become. This one being made of dried cubes of bread is light and tasty. Not gluggy at all. I followed the recipe exactly and thought it was perfect. It did make a far larger amount than I required for my turkey, so next time I'll halve the ingredients. Thank you so much for posting this GREAT recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      This was the best stuffing I have ever had. I couldn't believe the flavor and this is not the first time I have made stuffing. My family really liked it. Will use it again!!! 5+ stars - Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      5 stars for the stuffing! I got raves on how great it is and I loved it myself!! Thanks for posting the stuffing recipe!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      The best stuffing I have ever made or eaten. I have never cooked a turkey before (shock horror!!! - not as popular here in Australia for Christmas). I left out the mushrooms (due to children) and substituted fresh sage for the dried. The turkey was tender and juicy, I did add butter (1/2 cup) and fresh sage (12 leaves chopped) all over the turkey and under the skin of the breasts. I was concerned that the turkey would be 'disformed" as it was cooked upside down - nope, it was golden and beautiful just like the picture. I was left with over 2 cups of straight stock (and that was after I skimmed off all the fat) which made the most wonderful gravy too. I was a hit - no-one ever suspected it was my first time, until I told them! Thank you, thank you, thank you! Elizabeth

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      The best stuffing I've ever made!! I added 1 finely chopped green apple to the onion/mushroom mix while cooking. I got RAVES!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      Outstanding recipe! I omitted the mushrooms and added a bit of poultry seasoning. A five star rating from hubby (a rare occurence) and the comment, "Tastes just like mom's...but look's better!"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      Excellent stuffing - Just like my Grandmother used to make it. I had to make it separately as my daughter must eat gluten free. I added a bit more broth and it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      Great. Used jar of mushrooms. Put celery, onions, mushrooms in microwave as I ran out of space on the stove. Didn't want to stuff any in turkey so I just put it in muffin tins. Gerry likes the crispy parts of the stuffing and this made lots of crispy. Added some extra broth (vegetable broth) since it wouldn't get the turkey juices. It was great. I don't really like stuffing, but loved this. The "muffins" were easy to serve and easy to store after. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2006

      This is a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2006

      I have been making stuffing like this for years...only without the mushrooms. This year, though, I did make fresh potato bread and used it in my stuffing. It turned out wonderful. Thanks for the great idea!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roast Turkey with Old Fashioned Bread Stuffing

    Serving Size: 1 (892 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1475.0
     
    Calories from Fat 657
    44%
    Total Fat 73.0 g
    112%
    Saturated Fat 24.0 g
    120%
    Cholesterol 541.6 mg
    180%
    Sodium 1013.6 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.7 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    15%
    Protein 160.2 g
    320%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes