Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roast Turkey (Easy Steps for New Cooks) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roast Turkey (Easy Steps for New Cooks)

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on December 07, 2002

      I was born and raised in Germany, so turkey is not really my cup of tea but when I tried this recipe for Thanksgivimg, all my (american!) friends said that they never had a better turkey! Great recipe, easy to follow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2001

      For those of you who were as confused as Recipezaar's computer by the N.B. ... it stands for Nota Bene, which is Latin for Note Well. Although I am not a new cook, Turkey is not on my resume, but I found this procedure very easy to follow. Once I have tried it, I'll be back to rate it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2003

      I made this in January just for the fun of it. I have never cooked a turkey before, but was given one and needed to find a way to prepare it. The procedure was easy to follow, and the turkey was amazing! The herbs are a really nice added flavour. I didn't use the mushroom stuffing mentioned though, because we ar enot mushrrom fans here...I used the bread stuffing that is with Roast Turkey with Old Fashioned Bread Stuffing. Thanx for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2010

      I never cooked a Thanksgiving turkey by myself, until today! I can honestly say that, thanks to your recipe, our dinner came out great! My husband said that he thought this was the best turkey he has ever had! We made an unstuffed, 14 pound turkey and cooked it for just under 4 hours. It came out tender and flavorful! Thank you so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      Super-simple! Tasted wonderful! I loved the herb-butter idea and plan to use it whenever I roast a bird from now on. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      Thank you Bergy! This was my second turkey and my first family dinner with the inlaws Was a total hit and so easy to make!! Felt very confident about making it with the descriptive steps. So confident in fact that a=I shared it with my future Daughter in law. She hasn't made one yet and my stepson

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      Wonderful! Made great broth for my southern cornbread dressing. I used butter, fresh cracked pepper and kosher flake salt. Will decrease the thyme a bit next time, but otherwise wouldn't change a thing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      Thank you so much for this posting, Bergy!! This recipe was so easy to follow and the turkey came out spectacular. The only variation I did was to use fresh herbs rather than dried and it really came through in the flavour. Having never cooked a turkey before, I was really nervous. Your recipe made my Christmas dinner a breeze! Thank you again!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2007

      While not a _new cook_ I borrowed your recipe to brighten up my Thanksgiving meal. Spreading the herbed butter mixture under the turkey skin was a brilliant success! The drippings also made a rich, savory gravy when mixed with a little flour. I made another batch of the butter, using the same herbs only fresh minced, to serve alongside the hot dinner rolls and everyone except the kids loved it. (quoting one grandson: “Green leaves do not go on bread, Gran.� ;-)) Thanks for teaching this _old_ cook some new tricks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2007

      I was really intimidated by some of the other recipes on this site, and I wanted to make my first Thanksgiving as hostess the best possible. This really worked great! I was unable to get the margarine mixture under the breast skin, but it still turned out super moist and flavorful, and I got rave reviews! Thanks a million, Bergy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      This was easy to follow, thanks! My first turkey turned out really well, and next year I will be more confident!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      I always made my turkeys in a roasting bag but after making your herb butter I never will again! The turkey was so moist and tender, my mom said it was wonderful! Doubled the margarine as I had a 20 pound turkey and added a bit more of each herb. Spread the mixture under the skin and than with the bit I had left, rubbed all over the turkey. Basted while the turkey roasted and my turkey browned beautifully! I did cheat and use a packaged stuffing mix that I added a few goodies too but next time will try your dressing recipe too. Bergy thank you so much for a wonderful recipe! UPDATE - 2007 Outstanding turkey, thank you again Bergy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2007

      Delicious recipe for my first ever turkey. Very clear instructions for first timers. I did not stuff the bird but it still turned out very moist and delicious. I basted the bird with chicken broth in the bottom of the pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2007

      Very easy and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2007

      Well, I pulled out my frozen $5 turkey last week and was looking for a recipe this morning that would be easy as well as tasteful. I was a little nervous, never having roasted a turkey before, but this was very easy, and turned out very moist and flavorful! And I even used canola oil since I was out of butter. And I didn't make any dressing, just left the inside hollow. I needed it done in less than five and a half hours, so I turned up the heat around 4 1/2 hours to 400 and let it cook for about 30 minutes (covered in foil). For some reason, I didn't have any juices to baste with, but it didn't seem to matter. Bergy, thank you for a simple and delicious recipe for those of us who are new at roasting turkeys!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roast Turkey (Easy Steps for New Cooks)

    Serving Size: 1 (649 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1104.7
     
    Calories from Fat 543
    49%
    Total Fat 60.4 g
    92%
    Saturated Fat 20.3 g
    101%
    Cholesterol 456.6 mg
    152%
    Sodium 727.6 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.3 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 130.0 g
    260%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites