118 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

FABULOUS! Will roast my turkey this way from now on. Best Thanksgiving turkey and gravy ever!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
punkarooni December 14, 2009

This is the BEST turkey I have ever had. Better than anything you can buy, or anyone, even family, can make. Delicious!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachel T December 03, 2009

I give this one five stars. I've tried a variety of ways to prepare turkeys over the years, and this is one recipe that got me many compliments. I will definitely use this again. I like to roast turkey in a cooking bag and this worked very well with that method also; and the pan drippings added to a delicious gravy! Thanks a ton, Alan!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ibpensive November 29, 2009

I didn't follow the recipe exactly, but used as a guide. I didn't use the salt as we had brined our turkey. I also left out the tarragon and used fresh basil and sage. I didn't put the chicken broth in the bottom of the pan as I stuffed the bird and put some stuffing around the bird. Our 10 lb turkey was perfect in 3 hours.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise! November 27, 2009

This was a very good recipe, my mistake was I used a brine first and the skin of the turkey was so salty we couldnt eat it. i would recommend omitting the salt or at least cutting it in half if you are planning to use a brine. I also thought the flavor of the turkey would be so much stronger due to all the herbs, but over all my turkey turned out good for my first try. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KellieBell November 20, 2009

This was good. But with an 11 lb. Butterball (TM) turkey, I found it too salty. Since the recipe calls for a 12-20 lb. perhaps that was my error: using the whole recipe. Next time I would cut the salt in half if using a Butterball. Normally I can only find scrawny natural turkeys where I live, so when a State Department worker had a leftover Butterball when they were re-stationed, I was the happy recipient. With this recipe I think I would use a natural turkey, brine it, then use 1/2 this recipe with 1/2 the salt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KWB October 21, 2009

I've always cooked the turkey in the electric roaster, but as this was my first time using an oven. I am happy to say this worked out great. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marisa2008 October 12, 2009

I used this recipe for Thanksgiving '08. That year was the first I cooked turkey for a family dinner. You know...one that I had to show to other people! It was so brown and beautiful. Not to mention it tasted fantastic!! Thanks for a great recipe that made me look like I knew what I was doing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BamaBelle30 August 31, 2009

This recipe is a total winner. I have been putting 14 pound turkeys on the rotisserie for years ,thinking the oven will never compete again. The big trick here, is putting the breast side DOWN for at least the first hour of cooking.Then turn it back over and follow the directions as stated. The butter and spice rub is priceless. All I can say is, when your eating the leftovers 2 days later and it still tastes like the best turkey ever, thats saying somthing right there.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ano1ridesthe19 August 23, 2009

I have made this a coupleof times now and after the first time I halved the salt. With this change I love this recipe. Very flavorful and makes great gravy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fairy Godmother April 30, 2009
Roast Turkey