120 Reviews

This is, hands down, the best turkey recipe. It makes the most juicy and flavorful turkey. I have made this recipe several times and it consistently receives rave reviews. Thank You a million times over for this wonderful recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
j_fras926 November 29, 2013

This was my very first Roasted Turkey and it was DELICIOUS!!! The entire family gave it two thumbs up. Thank you for sharing. I followed your directions, but just added a tad bit more of the seasoning. It was very tender and juicy. My husband doesn't like turkey because of the dryness, but he was pleasantly pleased with this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pwbernot August 25, 2013

Fantabulous! This was only the second turkey I had ever made...I usually make whole chickens...this recipe was awesome! My bake time was a bit longer because ai baked a 23lb bird. Awesome recipe! Great with the turkey gravey!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kellyrayemarie December 25, 2012

Used this recipe for the spices and instructions prior to roasting - I used a cooking bag in place of the instructions for the roasting part. The flavor was outstanding - my DD especially loved the crispiness and spices on the skin. Will definitely use this for future turkey preparation. Thanks for posting Alan Leonetti.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gagoo November 23, 2012

Ive used this turkey roast recipe for the last 3 Thanksgivings and it's simply the BEST! It makes the turkey so tender and delicious. I put the seasonings and butter under the skin and it makes the turkey taste great. Will be using this recipe for many Thanksgivings to come!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hilaryhill November 22, 2012

Egads, I have used this recipe for the last 3 Thanksgiving's and in between too and just now see that I have not rated it..... Senile, but not so that I do not know a great turkey recipe when I have it. This is one of them. Will make the cheapest turkey look and taste like you robbed it from the white house and anyone can make it happen. Sorry it took so long to add my rating Alan but know that it was worth the wait for both of us!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jockey November 20, 2012

I had an 8lb turkey and cut the ingredients by 1/4 but it was still a little too salty and peppery. That is why it only got 4 stars. My daughter who doesn't like turkey loved it and even ate leftovers the next day. My husband (whose mom is a turkey fanatic) said that this was the best turkey he's ever eaten, just a little too much salt. (High praise to beat out mom's cooking.) It was juicy and cooked in only 2hrs. It's definitely a keeper recipe, just need to adjust the salt and pepper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MIKEANDJENNJOHNSON June 26, 2012

I followed this recipe to the letter for my christmas turkey and it was perfect! We love turkey in my house and we make it every year, but this method produced the most tender and delicious turkey with no dry bits. Yum. I used Kittencal's http://www.food.com/recipe/dried-cranberry-and-apple-turkey-stuffing-79683 delicious stuffing and made Nigella's giblet gravy. Thanks Alan.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fayz810 December 25, 2011

I found your recipe when I was looking up how to roast a turkey. I didn't have the tarragon or sage, so I put some poultry seasoning instead and I added the paprika when I wasn't suppose to, so when I rubbed it on, it was already brown and looked burnt when it was done cooking. It was the best turkey I have made and my father loved it and well as my sister who doesn't like turkey. It was moist and my dad wanted the recipe and was excited about the tarragon as he uses it all the time with his foods. Thanks for sharing your recipe. I am going to make it again with the real ingredients. Merry Christmas!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stephanie in Indiana December 18, 2011
Roast Turkey