Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roast Turkey Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roast Turkey

    Average Rating:

    117 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 117

    Sort by:

    • on December 03, 2009

      This is the BEST turkey I have ever had. Better than anything you can buy, or anyone, even family, can make. Delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      I give this one five stars. I've tried a variety of ways to prepare turkeys over the years, and this is one recipe that got me many compliments. I will definitely use this again. I like to roast turkey in a cooking bag and this worked very well with that method also; and the pan drippings added to a delicious gravy! Thanks a ton, Alan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      I didn't follow the recipe exactly, but used as a guide. I didn't use the salt as we had brined our turkey. I also left out the tarragon and used fresh basil and sage. I didn't put the chicken broth in the bottom of the pan as I stuffed the bird and put some stuffing around the bird. Our 10 lb turkey was perfect in 3 hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2009

      This was a very good recipe, my mistake was I used a brine first and the skin of the turkey was so salty we couldnt eat it. i would recommend omitting the salt or at least cutting it in half if you are planning to use a brine. I also thought the flavor of the turkey would be so much stronger due to all the herbs, but over all my turkey turned out good for my first try. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2009

      This was good. But with an 11 lb. Butterball (TM) turkey, I found it too salty. Since the recipe calls for a 12-20 lb. perhaps that was my error: using the whole recipe. Next time I would cut the salt in half if using a Butterball. Normally I can only find scrawny natural turkeys where I live, so when a State Department worker had a leftover Butterball when they were re-stationed, I was the happy recipient. With this recipe I think I would use a natural turkey, brine it, then use 1/2 this recipe with 1/2 the salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      I've always cooked the turkey in the electric roaster, but as this was my first time using an oven. I am happy to say this worked out great. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      I used this recipe for Thanksgiving '08. That year was the first I cooked turkey for a family dinner. You know...one that I had to show to other people! It was so brown and beautiful. Not to mention it tasted fantastic!! Thanks for a great recipe that made me look like I knew what I was doing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      This recipe is a total winner. I have been putting 14 pound turkeys on the rotisserie for years ,thinking the oven will never compete again. The big trick here, is putting the breast side DOWN for at least the first hour of cooking.Then turn it back over and follow the directions as stated. The butter and spice rub is priceless. All I can say is, when your eating the leftovers 2 days later and it still tastes like the best turkey ever, thats saying somthing right there.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2009

      I have made this a coupleof times now and after the first time I halved the salt. With this change I love this recipe. Very flavorful and makes great gravy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      We really enjoyed this. The spices were delicious, and it made yummy gravy. I added some aromatics to the cavity of the turkey as well. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2009

      This was awesome. The flavor was really really good! My only complaint is that the juice in the bottom of the pan was wayyyyyy to salty for making gravy. Next time I will cut back on the salt. I also made a turkey soup the next day and barely had to add any spices since there was so much on the bird.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      Good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      I made this turkey for our Christmas dinner and it was FABULOUS!!! It was the first turkey I've ever made so I was a little aprehensive about it but the directions were really easy to follow and very complete! In most turkey's I've had before the white meat is usually pretty dry but not this bird! All the meat was very juicy and tender! I will definitely be using this recipe for all my turkey occasions from now on! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      This was the best turkey I have ever roasted. The only thing I did differently was to brine the turkey first for about 18 hours. *UPDATE* I made this again today, using the method as instructed and no brine. I cooked the turkey breast-side down for the first 2 hours, and turned it over and cooked it for the remainder of the time. I ran out of thyme and tarragon, but it wasn't missed...the house smelled just as good, and the turkey was moist and flavourful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      Yummy, yummy thanks from my tummy!!!! My guests really enjoyed it to! Will definately use this recipe often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      This was the best turkey I have cooked. Used the lowest price bird but turned out better than the butterballs I always bought before. Doing again for christmas

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      What is there to say but absolutely the best! The only thing I did was to cook the turkey on the breast side first then flip it over half way through. It was the moistess bird I have every fixed...and the flavor...wow. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2008

      BY far the best turkey I've ever had! I rubbed butter on the inside and cooked it upside down for 1/2 the time then flipped it over. IT helps keep the juice in the breast meat! The turkey was a hit and looked BEAUTIFUL. I will keep this recipe for life!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      Delicious recipe! I prepared it ahead of time and let it sit in the fridge overnight with all of the seasonings on it. The butter didn't really spread over the top (I used margarine, and maybe should have dried the skin more) so I just put small globs all over the top before baking. I used my convection oven for the first time and it took over 5 hours to cook a 20lb turkey at 300 degrees (they say to reduce recipes by 25 degrees). In the future, I will buy a smaller turkey and cook it at 325 as stated. It turned out great though! The skin was delicious. I saved the drippings and fried the leftovers in them. My husband loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      Juicy, flavorful, beautiful! I used an organic bird for the first time and followed others' advice to start the bird breast side down for the first 1 1/2 hour. My 11 lb. bird, unstuffed and uncovered at 325 degrees took about 3 hours. It came out perfectly! Thank you Alan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roast Turkey

    Serving Size: 1 (414 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 698.4
     
    Calories from Fat 332
    47%
    Total Fat 36.9 g
    56%
    Saturated Fat 12.0 g
    60%
    Cholesterol 283.1 mg
    94%
    Sodium 1699.1 mg
    70%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.4 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    1%
    Protein 82.3 g
    164%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes