Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roast Turkey Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roast Turkey

    Average Rating:

    117 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 117

    Sort by:

    • on November 23, 2012

      Used this recipe for the spices and instructions prior to roasting - I used a cooking bag in place of the instructions for the roasting part. The flavor was outstanding - my DD especially loved the crispiness and spices on the skin. Will definitely use this for future turkey preparation. Thanks for posting Alan Leonetti.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2012

      Ive used this turkey roast recipe for the last 3 Thanksgivings and it's simply the BEST! It makes the turkey so tender and delicious. I put the seasonings and butter under the skin and it makes the turkey taste great. Will be using this recipe for many Thanksgivings to come!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2012

      Egads, I have used this recipe for the last 3 Thanksgiving's and in between too and just now see that I have not rated it..... Senile, but not so that I do not know a great turkey recipe when I have it. This is one of them. Will make the cheapest turkey look and taste like you robbed it from the white house and anyone can make it happen. Sorry it took so long to add my rating Alan but know that it was worth the wait for both of us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2012

      I had an 8lb turkey and cut the ingredients by 1/4 but it was still a little too salty and peppery. That is why it only got 4 stars. My daughter who doesn't like turkey loved it and even ate leftovers the next day. My husband (whose mom is a turkey fanatic) said that this was the best turkey he's ever eaten, just a little too much salt. (High praise to beat out mom's cooking.) It was juicy and cooked in only 2hrs. It's definitely a keeper recipe, just need to adjust the salt and pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2011

      I followed this recipe to the letter for my christmas turkey and it was perfect! We love turkey in my house and we make it every year, but this method produced the most tender and delicious turkey with no dry bits. Yum. I used Kittencal's http://www.food.com/recipe/dried-cranberry-and-apple-turkey-stuffing-79683 delicious stuffing and made Nigella's giblet gravy. Thanks Alan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

      I found your recipe when I was looking up how to roast a turkey. I didn't have the tarragon or sage, so I put some poultry seasoning instead and I added the paprika when I wasn't suppose to, so when I rubbed it on, it was already brown and looked burnt when it was done cooking. It was the best turkey I have made and my father loved it and well as my sister who doesn't like turkey. It was moist and my dad wanted the recipe and was excited about the tarragon as he uses it all the time with his foods. Thanks for sharing your recipe. I am going to make it again with the real ingredients. Merry Christmas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2011

    • on November 25, 2011

      I had to cook my turkey in a hurry because I accidently turn off my oven and it was off for 90 minutes so my schedule was off. I had prepared the turkey just as described and put it in the oven. So I decided to cook it in a hurry by tenting it with foil and sealing it tight. At about 2 hours of roasting it at 450 degrees I took the foil off to brown it thinking I could put the foil back on at the end. This was an 18 pound turkey and at the end of the 2 1/2 hours when it was brown it was also completely roasted. This was by far the best turkey I have ever eaten. The combination of the fabulous recipe and the fact that I sealed it and roasted it at high heat gave me the moistest, best seasoned turkey ever. Thanks so much for posting this recipe and I am glad I screwed up and needed to cook at high heat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2011

      Best Turkey recipe I've tried yet. My family is still raving about this turkey. I made this for a Thanksgiving dinner in June and my family LOVED it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2011

      This was the juciest yummy turkey I've ever had. As others, I only added half the salt which was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      Delicious, very moist and flavorful! I did not find it necessary to brown during the last 15 minutes, but next time I will not cover the legs and wings unless they start to brown too much. I will definitely make this again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      This turkey recipe for taste is a 5 and a 4 for the amount of time it takes to get it browned. The taste is amazing and well worth the effort. The drippings made super gravy. The tenting is good but the wings and legs (dark meat) were not cooked all the way with them covered and cooking it way longer than stated. That said the turkey was moist and tasty. Thanks for sharing Alan! Enjoy! ChefDLH

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      The turkey was moist and very tasty (the herbs were a great addition). The drippings were added to and helped make a great gravy. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      An excellent recipe. I roasted a frozen turkey instead of the usual fresh turkey that I used to buy. The entire turkey was very moist and was very tasty. I used a 1/4 lb of butter instead of 4 tbs. I also suggest leaving the tent on for 2 hours and the basting is a must.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      Served this turkey for the first Christmas Eve dinner I ever hosted and it was a hit! Very flavorful and moist--not a shred leftover (bad for me; it must make a yummy sandwich). Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      Great recipe! Everyone loved it! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

    • on December 23, 2009

      This was okay for us, I served it for a company dinner. No one raved and there are other methods I found to produce better results. There were Plenty of leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      Awesome turkey. Not too moist, not too dry. Great! Thank you so much ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      FABULOUS! Will roast my turkey this way from now on. Best Thanksgiving turkey and gravy ever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roast Turkey

    Serving Size: 1 (414 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 698.4
     
    Calories from Fat 332
    47%
    Total Fat 36.9 g
    56%
    Saturated Fat 12.0 g
    60%
    Cholesterol 283.1 mg
    94%
    Sodium 1699.1 mg
    70%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.4 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    1%
    Protein 82.3 g
    164%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes