Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roast Turkey Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roast Turkey

    Average Rating:

    114 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 114

    Sort by:

    • on June 26, 2012

      I had an 8lb turkey and cut the ingredients by 1/4 but it was still a little too salty and peppery. That is why it only got 4 stars. My daughter who doesn't like turkey loved it and even ate leftovers the next day. My husband (whose mom is a turkey fanatic) said that this was the best turkey he's ever eaten, just a little too much salt. (High praise to beat out mom's cooking.) It was juicy and cooked in only 2hrs. It's definitely a keeper recipe, just need to adjust the salt and pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2011

      I followed this recipe to the letter for my christmas turkey and it was perfect! We love turkey in my house and we make it every year, but this method produced the most tender and delicious turkey with no dry bits. Yum. I used Kittencal's http://www.food.com/recipe/dried-cranberry-and-apple-turkey-stuffing-79683 delicious stuffing and made Nigella's giblet gravy. Thanks Alan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

      I found your recipe when I was looking up how to roast a turkey. I didn't have the tarragon or sage, so I put some poultry seasoning instead and I added the paprika when I wasn't suppose to, so when I rubbed it on, it was already brown and looked burnt when it was done cooking. It was the best turkey I have made and my father loved it and well as my sister who doesn't like turkey. It was moist and my dad wanted the recipe and was excited about the tarragon as he uses it all the time with his foods. Thanks for sharing your recipe. I am going to make it again with the real ingredients. Merry Christmas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2011

    • on November 25, 2011

      I had to cook my turkey in a hurry because I accidently turn off my oven and it was off for 90 minutes so my schedule was off. I had prepared the turkey just as described and put it in the oven. So I decided to cook it in a hurry by tenting it with foil and sealing it tight. At about 2 hours of roasting it at 450 degrees I took the foil off to brown it thinking I could put the foil back on at the end. This was an 18 pound turkey and at the end of the 2 1/2 hours when it was brown it was also completely roasted. This was by far the best turkey I have ever eaten. The combination of the fabulous recipe and the fact that I sealed it and roasted it at high heat gave me the moistest, best seasoned turkey ever. Thanks so much for posting this recipe and I am glad I screwed up and needed to cook at high heat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2011

      Best Turkey recipe I've tried yet. My family is still raving about this turkey. I made this for a Thanksgiving dinner in June and my family LOVED it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2011

      This was the juciest yummy turkey I've ever had. As others, I only added half the salt which was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      Delicious, very moist and flavorful! I did not find it necessary to brown during the last 15 minutes, but next time I will not cover the legs and wings unless they start to brown too much. I will definitely make this again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      This turkey recipe for taste is a 5 and a 4 for the amount of time it takes to get it browned. The taste is amazing and well worth the effort. The drippings made super gravy. The tenting is good but the wings and legs (dark meat) were not cooked all the way with them covered and cooking it way longer than stated. That said the turkey was moist and tasty. Thanks for sharing Alan! Enjoy! ChefDLH

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      The turkey was moist and very tasty (the herbs were a great addition). The drippings were added to and helped make a great gravy. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      An excellent recipe. I roasted a frozen turkey instead of the usual fresh turkey that I used to buy. The entire turkey was very moist and was very tasty. I used a 1/4 lb of butter instead of 4 tbs. I also suggest leaving the tent on for 2 hours and the basting is a must.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      Served this turkey for the first Christmas Eve dinner I ever hosted and it was a hit! Very flavorful and moist--not a shred leftover (bad for me; it must make a yummy sandwich). Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      Great recipe! Everyone loved it! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

    • on December 23, 2009

      This was okay for us, I served it for a company dinner. No one raved and there are other methods I found to produce better results. There were Plenty of leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      Awesome turkey. Not too moist, not too dry. Great! Thank you so much ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      FABULOUS! Will roast my turkey this way from now on. Best Thanksgiving turkey and gravy ever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      This is the BEST turkey I have ever had. Better than anything you can buy, or anyone, even family, can make. Delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      I give this one five stars. I've tried a variety of ways to prepare turkeys over the years, and this is one recipe that got me many compliments. I will definitely use this again. I like to roast turkey in a cooking bag and this worked very well with that method also; and the pan drippings added to a delicious gravy! Thanks a ton, Alan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      I didn't follow the recipe exactly, but used as a guide. I didn't use the salt as we had brined our turkey. I also left out the tarragon and used fresh basil and sage. I didn't put the chicken broth in the bottom of the pan as I stuffed the bird and put some stuffing around the bird. Our 10 lb turkey was perfect in 3 hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roast Turkey

    Serving Size: 1 (414 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 698.4
     
    Calories from Fat 332
    47%
    Total Fat 36.9 g
    56%
    Saturated Fat 12.0 g
    60%
    Cholesterol 283.1 mg
    94%
    Sodium 1699.1 mg
    70%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.4 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    1%
    Protein 82.3 g
    164%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites