Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roast Turkey Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roast Turkey

    Average Rating:

    118 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 118

    Sort by:

    • on November 28, 2009

      This is awesome! Didn't have a rack to put the turkey on so I used onions to prop it up like another reviewer suggested. Also, like others mentioned, I cooked it breast side down for an hour and a half. The turkey was really moist and flavorful. Got compliments from everyone. The house does smell wonderful while it's cooking too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2006

      I decided not to go through the hassle of brining the turkey this year and so I tried this recipe. The turkey turned out fabulous. When the turkey was being carved, I could see the juices flowing from the breast. Now that's one juicy turkey! Thanks for sharing your recipe. It's much easier than brining and the turkey was just as juicy. I plan on using your recipe for many more times to come.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2012

      I've only roasted a turkey a handful of times, and have never done anything other than pull the turkey from the packing and stick it in a plastic turkey bag. This time I I wanted to have it well seasoned and know I picked the right recipe. I still used the turkey bag, so I followed the instructions other than putting the chicken broth in the bottom and doing the last few steps. The turkey came out juicy and tasty, and I got quite a few compliments at dinner. The only reason that I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5 is that I found the butter/seasoning mixture really hard to spread over the turkey. It ended up in clumps that didn't melt during cooking because there was way too much seasonings for the amount of butter. I also wasn't sure if I was supposed to put the full amount in the butter plus sprinkle them over the top, which is what I did even though I thought it might be too much. Based on the results, next time I think I'll just add the onion and garlic to the butter and then sprinkle the rest on top. I think the butter will melt better that way and I won't end up with almost black clumps that ended up not soaking into the bird. I also didn't have tarragon but I didn't miss it at all with all of the other seasonings packing a punch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      This turkey tasted phenomenal! Definitely the best tasting I have ever had. However, it took forever to cook this turkey...next time I will wait an additional half hour before covering the wings and thighs. I cooked a 15 lb bird and it took over 5 hours to cook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2013

      I haven't cooked very many turkeys in my life, but this recipe was fairly easy. I too found the butter mixture difficult to spread, having too many seasonings for the amount of butter. Also, it was way too salty for our taste. This recipe has potential and I love the blend of herbs, so I would consider making it again. Next time I would cut all of the seasonings and herbs in half, then take half of those and mix with the butter to make it easier to spread. The other half I would sprinkle on top of the bird.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2011

      This turkey was awesome. It was so juicy, everyone was surprised by how juicy it was. The gravy (from the drippings) was super peppery so next time I'll probably make a separate gravy but other than it was awesome!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      Very nice seasonings, but i cut them down to one tablespoon each, except for the butter, felt 2 tablespoons of salt was way over for our tastes. Turned out lovely and moist but I was dissapointed that it didn't brown as well as i would have liked, to get it browned without haveing to cook it too long I put it under the broiler for about 10 minutes otherwise it would have been quite pale. Loved the combination of seasonings, very tasty, thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      I made this for New Year's Eve. We found it way too salty for our taste. I followed the directions exactly as written. It did turn out very moist so I'll try it again without so much salt. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      This worked well for us, I particularly liked the herb flavours. It was moist and browned perfectly. I didnt use the giblet gravy recipe and I cooked my stuffing alongside. I would make this again. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      Delish! I used the method and seasonings on a 3 lb. butterball turkey roast (all the meat, none of the bones!) and also slathered it with about 1 tbs. mayonaise after putting on the seasonings and it was scrumptious! I have been buying the turkey roasts and trying different seasonings on them instead of paying $7/lb. at the deli for sliced turkey for lunches. I had lots of seasoning left over and saved it in a small tupperware for next week's turkey. So glad I found this recipe, thanks a million!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      the turkey was amaaazziiing, so delicious and sooo moist, I did the exact recipe and added some dried rosemary to the soesoning mixture and some green rosemary on top of the turkey, it was really delicious.. thank you for sharing us such a great recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2014

    • on December 21, 2014

    • on November 28, 2014

      I found the directions for this somewhat confusing. Step 3 lists to mix all the seasonings except paprika with the butter. Yet step 5 lists to sprinkle the seasonings on top of the bird. What are you suppose to do? If you do what step 3 states you end up with a very thick mixture that is difficult to rub over the turkey. I think the directions need to be looked at and rewrote.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2014

      This is basically the way we have always roasted our family turkey. Just a couple of differences. DON'T ignore the giblets!!! Before you do anything with the turkey, take out and wash them and throw in a pot of water with 1 sliced onion, 1 rounded teaspoon chopped garlic and 3 or 4 celery tops with leaves (the real flavor is in the leaves!) and 4-5 black peppercorns. Bring to boil then low simmer. Now you can prepare the turkey. Use the giblet broth instead of chicken broth for everything. Just keep adding water and simmering. We keep it on the back burner while roasting the bird so the oven heat just keeps it simmering all day. Use it for the liquid when making stuffing/dressing, etc. If you put liquid in the roaster, use the giblet broth. We don't use a roasting rack. Just put 1 1/2 sticks of butter (if you're going to play then PLAY!), sliced onion and celery tops. These will keep the bird from sticking and give amazing flavor to the drippings. And remember the giblet liquid is your base for gravy. Make extra and before it thickens freeze some in small containers to flavor stews, soups, casseroles throughout the year.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2013

      This made me a star! Everyone raved over my turkey and it was only the second turkey I'd cooked in my life (the first experience was nothing to write home about!)! This is a great recipe! I didn't have the tarragon so it was skipped, but it still turned out wonderful! I've got a turkey thawing in the fridge that I'm going to cook this way on Sunday!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2013

      Seriously can't believe it's taken me 3 years to rate this. This recipe has made my turkey the STAR of the meal. It's fantastic. Juicy, juicy turkey. Thanks so much for posting this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2013

      This was SO good!! Everyone loved it. I'm going to start using this on chicken as well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2013

      This is, hands down, the best turkey recipe. It makes the most juicy and flavorful turkey. I have made this recipe several times and it consistently receives rave reviews. Thank You a million times over for this wonderful recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2013

      This was my very first Roasted Turkey and it was DELICIOUS!!! The entire family gave it two thumbs up. Thank you for sharing. I followed your directions, but just added a tad bit more of the seasoning. It was very tender and juicy. My husband doesn't like turkey because of the dryness, but he was pleasantly pleased with this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roast Turkey

    Serving Size: 1 (414 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 698.4
     
    Calories from Fat 332
    47%
    Total Fat 36.9 g
    56%
    Saturated Fat 12.0 g
    60%
    Cholesterol 283.1 mg
    94%
    Sodium 1699.1 mg
    70%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.4 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    1%
    Protein 82.3 g
    164%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes