118 Reviews

This is awesome! Didn't have a rack to put the turkey on so I used onions to prop it up like another reviewer suggested. Also, like others mentioned, I cooked it breast side down for an hour and a half. The turkey was really moist and flavorful. Got compliments from everyone. The house does smell wonderful while it's cooking too!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mybirdzone November 28, 2009

I decided not to go through the hassle of brining the turkey this year and so I tried this recipe. The turkey turned out fabulous. When the turkey was being carved, I could see the juices flowing from the breast. Now that's one juicy turkey! Thanks for sharing your recipe. It's much easier than brining and the turkey was just as juicy. I plan on using your recipe for many more times to come.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beckas January 04, 2006

I've only roasted a turkey a handful of times, and have never done anything other than pull the turkey from the packing and stick it in a plastic turkey bag. This time I I wanted to have it well seasoned and know I picked the right recipe. I still used the turkey bag, so I followed the instructions other than putting the chicken broth in the bottom and doing the last few steps. The turkey came out juicy and tasty, and I got quite a few compliments at dinner. The only reason that I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5 is that I found the butter/seasoning mixture really hard to spread over the turkey. It ended up in clumps that didn't melt during cooking because there was way too much seasonings for the amount of butter. I also wasn't sure if I was supposed to put the full amount in the butter plus sprinkle them over the top, which is what I did even though I thought it might be too much. Based on the results, next time I think I'll just add the onion and garlic to the butter and then sprinkle the rest on top. I think the butter will melt better that way and I won't end up with almost black clumps that ended up not soaking into the bird. I also didn't have tarragon but I didn't miss it at all with all of the other seasonings packing a punch!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen67 December 23, 2012

This turkey tasted phenomenal! Definitely the best tasting I have ever had. However, it took forever to cook this turkey...next time I will wait an additional half hour before covering the wings and thighs. I cooked a 15 lb bird and it took over 5 hours to cook!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baking Bunny December 06, 2009

I haven't cooked very many turkeys in my life, but this recipe was fairly easy. I too found the butter mixture difficult to spread, having too many seasonings for the amount of butter. Also, it was way too salty for our taste. This recipe has potential and I love the blend of herbs, so I would consider making it again. Next time I would cut all of the seasonings and herbs in half, then take half of those and mix with the butter to make it easier to spread. The other half I would sprinkle on top of the bird.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Delicious as it Looks July 31, 2013

This turkey was awesome. It was so juicy, everyone was surprised by how juicy it was. The gravy (from the drippings) was super peppery so next time I'll probably make a separate gravy but other than it was awesome!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
haras00 December 02, 2011

Very nice seasonings, but i cut them down to one tablespoon each, except for the butter, felt 2 tablespoons of salt was way over for our tastes. Turned out lovely and moist but I was dissapointed that it didn't brown as well as i would have liked, to get it browned without haveing to cook it too long I put it under the broiler for about 10 minutes otherwise it would have been quite pale. Loved the combination of seasonings, very tasty, thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf April 06, 2010

I made this for New Year's Eve. We found it way too salty for our taste. I followed the directions exactly as written. It did turn out very moist so I'll try it again without so much salt. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY January 06, 2010

This worked well for us, I particularly liked the herb flavours. It was moist and browned perfectly. I didnt use the giblet gravy recipe and I cooked my stuffing alongside. I would make this again. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* December 26, 2009

Delish! I used the method and seasonings on a 3 lb. butterball turkey roast (all the meat, none of the bones!) and also slathered it with about 1 tbs. mayonaise after putting on the seasonings and it was scrumptious! I have been buying the turkey roasts and trying different seasonings on them instead of paying $7/lb. at the deli for sliced turkey for lunches. I had lots of seasoning left over and saved it in a small tupperware for next week's turkey. So glad I found this recipe, thanks a million!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. DeVelopment December 19, 2008
Roast Turkey