Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roast "Sticky" Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roast "Sticky" Chicken

    Average Rating:

    320 Total Reviews

    Showing 161-180 of 320

    Sort by:

    • on February 15, 2009

      Perfect roast chicken! I put the chicken in a casserole, rubbed it with spices and covered it with plastic wrap for 2hrs. I stuffed it with chopped onions and green apple. I cooked it at 325F for 2 1/4 hrs. No need to marinate overnight or cook for 5 hours. I added a bit of vegetable stock to the pan, and basted the chicken with it. The chicken drippings made a great gravy -- mix 1/2 c flour with water to make a paste, add to 1 1/2 c drippings in a saucepan (add water if needed), and heat over medium stirring with a whisk until thickened. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      Oh My Gosh! This was the BEST chicken I have ever had in my mouth. It was moist and the spices added sooooo much to it. I didn't even get to marinade it overnight and it was good. Marinading it overnight would probably make it just that much better. For the person that said it didn't get done she probably needs to check that there isn't something wrong with her thermostat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      okay , so!!!! This was not done after 5 hrs and 10 mins, I was really embarrassed as I was sliding it back into the oven at 400 for 30 more minutes... not to mentin my dessert was all ready in the oven!!! The chicken was okay tasting obviously probably not as moist as it was cooked at 400 for 30 mins. Probably won't try again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      "Cut food into chunks or small pieces to ensure thorough cooking. Do not use the slow cooker for large pieces like a roast or a whole chicken because the food will cook so slowly it could remain in the bacterial "Danger Zone" — between 40 °F and 140 °F — too long." http://www.fsis.usda.gov/News_&_Events/NR_013106_01/index.asp

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      This was the best thing I've ever cooked!!! Even my 7 year old ate - who usually only likes things his father cooks lol! Thank you so much for this - definitely a family favourite - and no one got sick ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      To the previous poster. Only meats cooked at less than 250 degrees can make you sick, and people eat slow roasted meats all the time cooking at 250. If you got sick, it was probably something else that made you sick. We truly enjoyed each and every bite of this deliciously seasoned chicken. It was nice and moist and the skin was nice and browned and so good! We will have this again and soon, because we eat a lot of chicken and this is a 5 star recipe for us! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      Hi! This chicken made me and my husband very ill. We were both throwing up, etc after eating it. Slow roasting the chicken can be dangerous and unfortunately that's what happened with us. I even used a meat thermometer to make sure it was 180 inside but we still got sick. Proceed with caution because salmonella can kill small kids and grandparents. Sorry for the bad news. But I feel obligated to share.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      I made two 4 lb. chickens for Christmas lunch, using this recipe. The chicken was so tender and moist and my guests loved it! Thanks for such an easy, delicious recipe. I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      Made this recipe a directed, except the baking part cuz I was too worried to do it that way after reading the other reviews. I marinated a 4 pound chicken with the rub overnite, then roasted at 375 until internal temp was 180 degrees, that took about an hour in my oven. The rub added a nice flavor to the chicken. Not too salty as others complained, but I had some rub that was unused due to the size of my chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      We made this today for Christmas dinner (there are only 3 of us, and none really like Turkey!) and it turned out wonderfully! I have read many reviews that gave advice regarding temperature. I put mine on at 325 for the first 2.5 hours, and then reduced to 250 for another 1.5 hours. Instead of putting my turkey in a bag overnight, I placed it in the roaster and covered it with saran wrap (it seemed like the most logical thing to do...). The flavour of the chicken was incredible - it was soooo moist and tender. I added a little bit of butter to add extra flavour when I began basting. I will definitely be using this recipe over and over again! Thank-you C Chatwin for making our Christmas dinner a smashing success!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      Made this today for dinner and loved it! The only thing I did differently was instead of oven roasting, I put it in the crockpot and cooked on low all day. Meat fell off the bone and was a wonderful flavor. Will certainly make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2008

      Oh my! Wonderful. I rarely eat meat but I made this for my family. I sampled it and couldn't stop eating it! We all loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      I wonder if I did something wrong when I don't like a dish as well as everyone else did. However, I didn't think the finished product was worth the preparation effort and cook time. The skin wasn't very crispy and the long cooking time produced a texture in the meat I really don't prefer. I did enjoy the chicken and so did my guests, so I certainly don't regret making it, I just think there are other cooking methods I prefer more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

    • on November 23, 2008

      Proud to be the 210th reviewer for this winner! I also did not marinate overnight, but rubbed the spices on just before roasting at 375* for one hour, then at 250* for 3 more hours. Also, it didn't get basted at all since my guys at home "forgot" while I was out. It was still fabulously juicy and enjoyed by all. I did roast the chicken "breast side down" to allow the juices to keep this part moist. Served with Spiced Sweet Potato Fries which uses many of the same spices. Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      Cooked this last night and it turned out great! We were actually working in the yard while this cooked so it didn't get basted quite as much as it should have. We also cooked it for 1.5 to 2 hours at 350 in the oven. I was out of white pepper so used 1 tsp of black pepper total instead. Not sure if it changed the taste as I've never tried it with the white, also didn't marinate overnight but just seasoned the bird before cooking. It was sooo tasty and the skin and onions from the cavity were DIVINE! We'll be doing this one again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2008

      Great tasting and so moist!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2008

      It came out nice and moist. Tasty too. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2008

      This chicken was very nicely seasoned, moist and tender. I used a "butterflied" chicken, weighing about 3.5 lbs. When ready to roast, I cut a large onion into thick slices and used it as the "rack". I split the differences of opinion and roasted it at 325. It was done in just over two hours. The skin was perfectly brown and crisp, and the bird was delicious! I'll be using this recipe often...thanks for posting it, C!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2008

      amazing! used to make sandwiches and for a meal. I used an organic chicken for the first time and it made an large amount of brooth. It was delious. I can not wait to make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1... 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 ... 16

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roast "Sticky" Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (154 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 238.0
     
    Calories from Fat 141
    59%
    Total Fat 15.7 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 4.4 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 71.3 mg
    23%
    Sodium 1619.8 mg
    67%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    9%
    Protein 17.5 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites