321 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I liked the slow cooking method of this recipe. Certainly, the chicken was very tender. Of course, I think it is about the same when I bake it at the typical temperature. Mostly, I was not bowled over by the flavor. It feels odd to have that opinion in the midst of so many great reviews. It was too salty for me and I think it was a bit heavy with the cayenne. I don't know, it's hard to say. It was a very pretty chicken, I will give it that.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitchen Witch Steph November 08, 2007

I placed the seasoned chicken in a turkey oven bag overnight before roasting. This chicken was so easy to make and really delicious! Next time I'll reduce the amount of salt because it made the gravy salty. What size is a large roasting chicken?? I used a 4 lb bird and it was done in about 4 hours.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Libra in Florida! September 13, 2007

Excellent !!! If I could give this recipe more stars I would. I followed the spices as stated, but, added a wedge of lemon and 2 cloves of garlic with the onions! I sealed the chicken and let it marinate for 2 days in the fridge. I had never cooked a chicken on a slow heat in the oven before, and I am now "hooked" with this method, as the timing of 5 hours was "spot on" and the end result of a very tasty, moist chicken. Indeed, a highly recommended recipe. Thank you so much for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Iluv2cook59 July 31, 2007

Great seasonings! I did as directed and then as I went to put it in the oven we had to leave for awhile, so I popped it in my crockpot on low and let it cook as directed in Zaar #68091. Eight hours later we had a delicious, juicy, crispy skinned chicken for dinner. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carole in orlando June 24, 2007

Cut back on the salt. This is a keeper........best we've ever had.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fraz11 January 23, 2007

This spice rub and roasting method makes for an outstanding chicken. I made a few minor changes,I used only 1tsp of salt instead og garlic powder i used fresh minced garlic and left the onion powder out. I added all the ingredients into a mini food processor with a pat of butter and 1/2 an onion. I ground it till the onions were mine and the spices were well blended. I rubed the chicken with the spices and allowed it to sit in a ziplock baggie over night in the fridge. Before roasting I stuffed the cavity with lemon slices and onion quarters and then roasted according to instructions. Dh loved it and wants be to make it again tomorrow..lol :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lemoncurd December 16, 2006

Everyone loved this chicken except my husband for some reason. I used chicken parts because I do not do a good job carving: 1 whole chicken previously cut-up and 4 leg quarters. I still used the same amount of spices for all of this chicken. I think if I had used all of the spices on one chicken alone, it would have tasted very salty, but with more chicken it was fine. I covered the pans and baked the chicken for 4 hours. At that point I uncovered the pans for another 1/2 hour. I checked the chicken pieces then and the internal temperatures were all in the 180s. Nothing was overcooked or dry. Some pieces were falling off the bone moist. I forgot to baste but realized I didn't need to since the chicken was sitting the its juices the entire time. I think this also contributed to the juicy factor. This is a great easy recipe suitable for company.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aviva February 10, 2006

GREAT meal! I didn't have 12+ hours to marinate it, so my bird only got 2 hours of sitting before I cooked it. I really like the addition of white pepper - which sounds like an insignificant ingredient, but it really gets into the meat nicely if you're a pepper fan!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AKillian24 December 22, 2005

I'm not going to read all 96 reviews but I had to add mine- definitely 5 plus stars! I had a 3 lb. chicken so I cooked it for about 4 hours. Stuffed a lemon in the cavity as well and cooked it on a bed of onions-wonderful gravy and a great kick to the crispy skin- thanks for a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jan in Lanark November 02, 2005

I was uncomfortable with the low cooking temperature and went to http://www.fsis.usda.gov just to make sure it was safe. There is a pull down at the top of the page “fact sheets” that says the safe temperature for chicken is 350!! I called the toll free number (888-MP hotline) and was told that it is very unsafe to cook chicken or turkey this way, because it gives bacteria time to multiply while it is reaching the safe internal temp of 180. I went ahead and cooked the chicken at the safe temperature of 350 and it was wonderful, but I am concerned about someone getting sick.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deeyork2 August 17, 2005
Roast "Sticky" Chicken