Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roast "Sticky" Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roast "Sticky" Chicken

    Average Rating:

    321 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 321

    Sort by:

    • on November 02, 2013

      This is fabulous!!! To all who work outside the home, you can actually put this one in the oven before you leave and it's perfect when you get home. I've left it in for much longer than the 5 hours and it's still super moist and delicous. Thank you for sharing this one C. It's my new favorite recipe!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2013

      this is quite possibly the best chicken I've ever had! I set on 300 as I didnt have 5 hours in my day...(needed it before soccer) I went a little heavy on the cayenne but thanks so much for the recipe. I will make this again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2013

      I've been making this chicken for years now, forgot to review -- <br/>So juicy, tender and delicious! I don't use the trash-bag -- just set the chicken in a small roasting pan and cover it with plastic wrap for the overnight. I rarely have garlic or onion powder in the kitchen, so chop-fine fresh and make more of a 'paste'. Also, I use vinyl food-handler gloves to keep the mess down when applying the rub. Tomorrow's chicken will be served with garlic smashed potatoes and broccoli.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2013

      This recipe makes an unbelievably delicious chicken! I've made this several times since I found the recipe and each time it's perfect. I followed the advice ns from another reviewer to put the chicken and the rub into a big bag and smoosh it all up onto and into the chicken. Works great and not a bit messy! I'm making it again today and expect it to impress the guests as it always has...it's so beautiful and so delicious! What's not to love?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2013

      I have made this many times with the following observations: I no longer use all the spices--just white & black pepper and salt--because I think this allows the chicken flavor to shine through (and no butter, oil, or basting). Convection speeds up the cooking considerably--4 pounder in 3-3 1/2 hours; a 7 lb roaster would, of course, take longer. Dressing the cooked meat lightly with some melted butter or warm chicken stock makes a nice touch. I always use this recipe (rather than braising or simmering) when I need cooked chicken for other recipes. Cooked this way, the chicken is super easy to pick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2013

      Very good! I didn't bother with the bag; just covered the pan of chicken wi/ plastic wrap while marinating. We needed to eat earlier than I expected and the chicken was done nicely, at 4.25 hours baking time.<br/>**Made it again, but it's too hot for the oven! I put it in the crockpot, on high for 2 hours and low for 2 hours- WONDERFUL! Even the breast was moist!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2013

      This is so yummy! Cooked it at 400 degrees for 15 min then 300 degrees for 3 more hours for a 5 lb chicken. I was out of thyme (punny but true) so I used rosemary, also no white pepper. Otherwise the spice mix was followed and it was all around delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2012

      I didn't marinate, and cooked for a shorter time at 325 degrees. I also made a mistake and added chili powder (grabbed the wrong bottle when looking for paprika!). I thoroughly enjoyed the seasoning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2012

      I loved it, Quick and Easy. and good too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2012

      I love roast chicken and this is the best recipe. The chicken is moist, flavorful and EASY! This is the new "go to" recipe for my Sunday dinners. The the leftovers make delicious chicken salad for lunches the next week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2012

      I caught this recipe while I was well on my way through my standard chicken/turkey prep which involves a day of soaking in a brine (water/salt/herbs/mirepoix). I also butterflied the chicken I was using - about a 4-5 pounder. After applying the rub and leaving it sit in the fridge til the next day (so now we're 2 days into the recipe) I stopped in at home for lunch and reluctantly started the 5-hour roasting process. Five hours later, not only we were eating the best chicken to come out of my oven, but the drippings made for the best gravy as well. Five hours!! Who-da thunk it!?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2012

      This is my son's favorite chicken. He calls it Spicy chicken. It does have a kick that's why I reduced the cayenne to a 1/2 teaspoon. I serve it with rice and we love to spoon the juices over the rice. I make this several times a year. Our family really enjoys it although its a bit spicy for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2012

      I just made this and this is nothing special...the rub is good but not great i actually prefer my usual recipe...I guess for the non-cooker this is a start but REALLY nothing special! Sorry but I think it deserves a 3 only because it is fool proof for amateur cooks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2012

      Love this chicken! This is my picky daughter's favorite meal. I don't use the onions inside as it's just another ingredient and isn't necessary in my opinion. Everyone who's had this just raves. I make the seasonings up in bulk to have on hand. I use a couple of teaspoons of this seasoning each time. I cut the cayenne pepper in half and add more garlic (for our tastest), but it's good just as is. It works for other things as well such as drumsticks or leg quarters (which are sale quite often in my areas). It's so easy to pop into the crockpot and have a wonderful, fall off the bone meal to come home to. The leftovers are also good in quesadillas, burritos, wraps, chicken pot pie, etc.

      Thanks so much C Chatwin!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2012

      Very Yummy! I put the whole chicken in a 2 gallon food baggie, dumped in the spices, and shook the heck out of it until the whole chicken was coated, thus eliminating the messy rubbing process. Everyone loved this, including my 9-year old son...he likes things a little spicy, so the cayenne wasn't an issue for us, but I can see how other children might find it a bit on the spicy side. Thanks for a new staple recipe in our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2012

      Poultry should never be cooked below 325 degrees. Yes the USDA may give you doneness temps but you are ignoring time and temp factors in cooking poultry. 5 hours at a low temp means danger when cooking chicken

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2012

      Very good and easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2012

      I was so surprised how well this chicken turned out. The chicken was cooked perfectly and was really fall-off-the-bone tender. We enjoyed the spice mixture, which made the chicken very flavorful and different from my regular roast chicken. Thank you for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2012

      Absolutely delicious! My DH (who can be pretty picky) loves this chicken and we always pick it clean. I have found however that there are never enough "pan drippings" to baste with and I add 1/2 cup to 1 cup chicken stock to the bottom of the pan to use for basting. I always leave out the cayanne as its too spicy for the kids. Also if i am short on time i will just throw the spices on top & stuff w/ onion and roast this at 425 for about 50-55 minutes & its still amazing!! I prep 3 ziplocs at a time of the spices so i am always ready. It's our favorite chicken and I've been making it for years now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2012

      Everyone said it was really good, so I'm saying it is, even though I didn't eat it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roast "Sticky" Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (154 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 238.0
     
    Calories from Fat 141
    59%
    Total Fat 15.7 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 4.4 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 71.3 mg
    23%
    Sodium 1619.8 mg
    67%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    9%
    Protein 17.5 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes