Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roast "Sticky" Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roast "Sticky" Chicken

    Average Rating:

    318 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 318

    Sort by:

    • on September 23, 2013

      This recipe makes an unbelievably delicious chicken! I've made this several times since I found the recipe and each time it's perfect. I followed the advice ns from another reviewer to put the chicken and the rub into a big bag and smoosh it all up onto and into the chicken. Works great and not a bit messy! I'm making it again today and expect it to impress the guests as it always has...it's so beautiful and so delicious! What's not to love?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2013

      I have made this many times with the following observations: I no longer use all the spices--just white & black pepper and salt--because I think this allows the chicken flavor to shine through (and no butter, oil, or basting). Convection speeds up the cooking considerably--4 pounder in 3-3 1/2 hours; a 7 lb roaster would, of course, take longer. Dressing the cooked meat lightly with some melted butter or warm chicken stock makes a nice touch. I always use this recipe (rather than braising or simmering) when I need cooked chicken for other recipes. Cooked this way, the chicken is super easy to pick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2013

      Very good! I didn't bother with the bag; just covered the pan of chicken wi/ plastic wrap while marinating. We needed to eat earlier than I expected and the chicken was done nicely, at 4.25 hours baking time.<br/>**Made it again, but it's too hot for the oven! I put it in the crockpot, on high for 2 hours and low for 2 hours- WONDERFUL! Even the breast was moist!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2013

      This is so yummy! Cooked it at 400 degrees for 15 min then 300 degrees for 3 more hours for a 5 lb chicken. I was out of thyme (punny but true) so I used rosemary, also no white pepper. Otherwise the spice mix was followed and it was all around delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2012

      I didn't marinate, and cooked for a shorter time at 325 degrees. I also made a mistake and added chili powder (grabbed the wrong bottle when looking for paprika!). I thoroughly enjoyed the seasoning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2012

      I loved it, Quick and Easy. and good too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2012

      I love roast chicken and this is the best recipe. The chicken is moist, flavorful and EASY! This is the new "go to" recipe for my Sunday dinners. The the leftovers make delicious chicken salad for lunches the next week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2012

      I caught this recipe while I was well on my way through my standard chicken/turkey prep which involves a day of soaking in a brine (water/salt/herbs/mirepoix). I also butterflied the chicken I was using - about a 4-5 pounder. After applying the rub and leaving it sit in the fridge til the next day (so now we're 2 days into the recipe) I stopped in at home for lunch and reluctantly started the 5-hour roasting process. Five hours later, not only we were eating the best chicken to come out of my oven, but the drippings made for the best gravy as well. Five hours!! Who-da thunk it!?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2012

      This is my son's favorite chicken. He calls it Spicy chicken. It does have a kick that's why I reduced the cayenne to a 1/2 teaspoon. I serve it with rice and we love to spoon the juices over the rice. I make this several times a year. Our family really enjoys it although its a bit spicy for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2012

      I just made this and this is nothing special...the rub is good but not great i actually prefer my usual recipe...I guess for the non-cooker this is a start but REALLY nothing special! Sorry but I think it deserves a 3 only because it is fool proof for amateur cooks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2012

      Love this chicken! This is my picky daughter's favorite meal. I don't use the onions inside as it's just another ingredient and isn't necessary in my opinion. Everyone who's had this just raves. I make the seasonings up in bulk to have on hand. I use a couple of teaspoons of this seasoning each time. I cut the cayenne pepper in half and add more garlic (for our tastest), but it's good just as is. It works for other things as well such as drumsticks or leg quarters (which are sale quite often in my areas). It's so easy to pop into the crockpot and have a wonderful, fall off the bone meal to come home to. The leftovers are also good in quesadillas, burritos, wraps, chicken pot pie, etc.

      Thanks so much C Chatwin!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2012

      Very Yummy! I put the whole chicken in a 2 gallon food baggie, dumped in the spices, and shook the heck out of it until the whole chicken was coated, thus eliminating the messy rubbing process. Everyone loved this, including my 9-year old son...he likes things a little spicy, so the cayenne wasn't an issue for us, but I can see how other children might find it a bit on the spicy side. Thanks for a new staple recipe in our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2012

      Poultry should never be cooked below 325 degrees. Yes the USDA may give you doneness temps but you are ignoring time and temp factors in cooking poultry. 5 hours at a low temp means danger when cooking chicken

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2012

      Very good and easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2012

      I was so surprised how well this chicken turned out. The chicken was cooked perfectly and was really fall-off-the-bone tender. We enjoyed the spice mixture, which made the chicken very flavorful and different from my regular roast chicken. Thank you for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2012

      Absolutely delicious! My DH (who can be pretty picky) loves this chicken and we always pick it clean. I have found however that there are never enough "pan drippings" to baste with and I add 1/2 cup to 1 cup chicken stock to the bottom of the pan to use for basting. I always leave out the cayanne as its too spicy for the kids. Also if i am short on time i will just throw the spices on top & stuff w/ onion and roast this at 425 for about 50-55 minutes & its still amazing!! I prep 3 ziplocs at a time of the spices so i am always ready. It's our favorite chicken and I've been making it for years now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2012

      Everyone said it was really good, so I'm saying it is, even though I didn't eat it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2011

      I like to give credit to when due is the is actually the famous chef Paul Pruhomme's mother's recipe. I have been using this recipe for over 10 years and it is still by far my favorite for seasoning. Now the only thing that I do differently sometimes is us the cooking time of Ina Garten and use high heat first to get the chicken crispy and then drop it to finish cooking. Five hours does not yield a crispy skin, but deiivers on being the stickiest for sure. I also use the seasoning for fried chicken that is to die for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2011

      Amazing chicken!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roast "Sticky" Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (154 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 238.0
     
    Calories from Fat 141
    59%
    Total Fat 15.7 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 4.4 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 71.3 mg
    23%
    Sodium 1619.8 mg
    67%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    9%
    Protein 17.5 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites