321 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have always been afraid to cook chicken at such low temperature but decided to give it a try, 280 people can't be wrong! I followed the recipe exactly and found the spices perfect. My DH drove me crazy all afternoon asking when it would be done as the kitchen smelled wonderful. I especially liked the taste and texture. Thanks for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paka February 07, 2011

What great ideas! Dry rub "marinade" ... slow cook w/o sauce ... so unique

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
goodchick January 26, 2011

While you were off Christmas shopping, I was here making your Sticky Chicken. Too bad you missed the smiling faces of my family as the juices ran down their arms.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng December 22, 2010

I made this for my family last night. It was a huge success! I mixed a little olive oil w/ the spices to make a wet rub. I left in the fridge for 6 hours, and roasted as directed, but I used a Reynold's Cooking Bag. Juicy, moist chicken perfection! I forgot the cayenne, but it was still just as good. Will definitely make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tjespersen September 27, 2010

So simple and so delicious!!! I did have to add a bit of liquid and it cooked for only 3 1/2 hours (there were 2 very small chickens). I used chicken broth instead of water to give it even more flavor. Rave reviews from the family! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alphacook July 03, 2010

Although I didn't roast the chicken (and yes, 250 degrees for 5 hours is very safe) the spices are very tasty. I like to brine my poultry, so brined overnight, then seasoned and let set in the refrigerator overnight. I chose to put the chicken on the outdoor rotisserie. The smells wafting through the air were divine! Very tasty end result.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaribbeanQueen June 04, 2010

Yummy! I followed the recipe except I didn't have any white pepper or onion powder so I left those out. I meant to prep the chicken the night before, but actually did it the morning of so it was only in the refrigerator about five hours before roasting. I used a Reynolds oven bag and didn't even baste. It was delicious and easy. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mia_099 May 24, 2010

This is a great chicken rub! I've used it a couple of times with just a few modifications. I melted a little butter (maybe 2 tbl) and drizzled it under skin and also on top of the skin before adding the rub - also under and over the skin. I did decrease the salt to 2 TBL, just a personal preference. I then cooked the whole chicken in my crock pot (high 4 1/2 hours, or low 6-8 hrs). I poured about a half a cup of dry white wine over the chicken at the beginning of cooking, and the result was a perfectly moist, deliciously seasoned roasted chicken with very minimal effort!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nolan'sMom September 02, 2009

4 thumbs up from the 4 very different taste buds living in my home! Because of all of the concerns about oven temperature, I cooked in an oven bag on 350 degrees for 3.5-5 hours. It was moist and delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mayfranks August 17, 2009

You can't get any better than this. It was so moist and the flavor was excellent. I was limited on time so I only marinated the chicken for 4 hours but the flavor still came through. I also only used 3 teaspoons salt and next time I will only use 2 teaspoons, just a little too salty for my family. I also cooked it at 300 degrees and for 3 1/2 hours (5lb chicken) and it was great. I will share this recipe with friends and will cook it often, Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mojo mom August 06, 2009
Roast "Sticky" Chicken