321 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

For us I used garlic salt instead of plain salt, left out the cayenne, used about 4 T (if not more) of dried onions along with the other ingredients which I zapped in the food processor. I also used a lime chopped up along with the onion which I stuffed inside the chicken. Cooked on a rack basting often and it cooked up beautifully. Great recipe, thank you.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jewelies July 25, 2010

This was delicious. I reduced the salt to 3 tsps and added a clove of garlic with the onion and it did not sit over night to marinate. Unfortunately we didn't get to eat this the night I cooked it, so we ate it for dinner the next night as sandwiches and it was AWESOME. I've never had leftover chicken taste so moist and delicious before. The next day I turned it into chicken salad using Charlie's Famous Chicken Salad with Grapes. It was awesome. Hubby wants to try it on the rotisserie next time. Thank you!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Slingmama August 04, 2009

I also made this last minute so it didn't have a chance to sit overnight. This chicken comes out so extremely moist! With the amount of cayenne pepper it was a little spicy, but only because I used a YOUNG chicken instead of a large one! This chicken is just great! There are not many chicken recipes out there that I will leave the skin on for, but this one is a must. The skin is so good and I can't wait to make it again! The house smelled amazing while it baked for 5 hours! I also stuffed a few garlic cloves into the chicken with the onion and served it with garlic mashed potatos and gravy. Great Sunday dinner!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melvin'sWifey March 31, 2008

This chicken was just as good any you'd buy from the deli. I did change the rub a little. I only used 1 1/2 t salt, used onion and garlic powder, omitted the black pepper and used Mexican chili powder instead of cayenne powder (it has a smoky flavor). I also added 2 t of sugar. I used chicken legs and roasted in a 350 oven. We've also used this rub on the grill with chicken pieces and it was awesome. Thanks for sharing.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. Cooky January 19, 2008

This is a rating for the seasoning, (using only 2 tsp. salt), not the cooking method. Whole, small chickens were on sale, so I rubbed the spice mixture on several chickens and froze them. When I knew that we were to have company for dinner, and a very busy day ahead, I put two chickens, still frozen, in my crockpot on high for 6 hours, turning once about half way through cooking. The chicken was moist and delicious. I would like to say that I will try the recipe as submitted next time, but this was such a success I will be tempted to repeat the crockpot cooking.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Baboo December 13, 2006

I might as well add my 2 cents worth. I tried your recipe this morning and about went nuts waiting for it to get done. Finally raided the frig for some chicken that was left over from last night. Still couldn't wait so finally took it out a half hour early, which was just perfect. I dove in immediately and it was fantastic. Thank you very much!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamamain August 27, 2003

I followed the directions exactly and I ended up with a beautiful, moist and tender bird. But it was entirely too salty! I love salt, but in this case it was overpowering. My Perdue roaster produced very little drippings, so maybe that caused the problem. I'll use half of the called for salt next time.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
florida scott August 16, 2003

I'm another on the list about this chicken. However, I'm watching my salt intake and left adding that in and it turned out wonderful. It's a lightly spicy barbecue type rub. I stuffed as much onion as I could in that poor little bird then wrapped the thing in plastic wrap then into the pot I was going to cook it in and refridgerated it for a day then pulled the plastic wrap off and stuck it in the oven. Since I live at a higher altitude than most I cooked it at 350 for about three hours. I didn't baste it because all the juices stayed inside. I had a little of the fat and a little juice and the seasonings. It still is tender and fell apart when I took it out of the pan. Excellent! Worth 5 stars all the way!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Narshmellow July 11, 2003

Really good! I wrapped my chicken in a few layers of cling wrap instead of a trash bag. Juicy and tender.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy BC March 15, 2011

Like everyone else says, very good and easy! Definitely a keeper! For the marinating part, I used a plastic bag from the meat section of the supermarket - the ones they have available for you to put around your cello packs before you put them in your cart - I would hope those are food safe! I roasted it the way I learned to slow-roast a turkey (from the foodtv, so it should be legit): start in a medium hot oven preheated to 400F (the preheating part is important here) for 15 to 20 minutes, then turn it down to 300 for the remainder of the cooking time. It took exactly 3 hours for a 5 lb bird this way. Does make a pretty bird, too!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
murasaki September 28, 2008
Roast "Sticky" Chicken