322 Reviews

This was OUTSTANDING! My husband is a 'meat expert'. He loved this, but not as much as as I did. I love to share recipes, but I won't share this one. I want to use it as my traditional bird recipe for holidays, and can't wait to try it on turkey. Thanks to this recipe, I will go down in family history as the one who makes the best holiday dinner.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kari Emley February 12, 2003

Wondeful recipe! Ver tasty- a bit messy to make, but definately worth it! I didn't have any onion powder, so I added a bit extra garlic powder- turned out great! Will be making it again!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shjya Instance January 22, 2003

very easy recipe and everybody loved it!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darcy December 03, 2001

I did not read the recipe through and realize that it needed to marinate overnight until the day I was planning to cook it. So I just followed the recipe and skipped putting it in the fridge overnight. It was still delicious and the seasonings are versatile enough that I could incorporate the leftover chicken into many different recipes. I made some chicken salad and also a chicken noodle soup. The chicken literally fell off of the bone so easily I couldn't even pull the drumstick or wing off without everything falling open. Made it super easy to get every bit of chicken and no waste! Next time I will plan ahead and refrigerate overnight and I'm sure it will be even tastier. I will probably shorten the cooking time by 30 minutes because it was starting to dry out...but that is just an adjustment I need to make because of my oven and not a problem with the recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PsychoCasseroleStepmom February 04, 2011

I LOVE the seasonings on this chicken! I had to use a different method to cook (crockpot with a liner) due to my schedule and I rubbed the chicken with butter (but you could use olive oil) and I added 2 tablespoons dried parsley and 1/2 tsp of turmeric to the seasonings because I wanted to try it. The flavor of the chicken was so good. I saved the drippings and skimmed the fat for soup broth later. Thank you for a great chicken recipe. I'll have to try the roasting method when I have more time and can be home with the oven on.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Milkman's Daughter February 01, 2011

This chicken is wonderful! Made exactly as directed, my chicken wasn't very big so I was only able to fit 3/4 of a big onion inside. Basted three times, filled the house with a fantastic aroma that had us wanting to eat long before it was ready. I added about a 1/4 cup of water and three little pats of butter to the glass baking dish to help the basting juices along. Tasted great, fell off the bone. Can't wait to make broth out of bones and make soup! Oh! I marinated overnight in a Costco bread bag, I save them all the time because they come in handy for so many things, chicken bones for instance! Don't throw them away! Marvelous chicken, easy to do. Made me look like a star! I'll make this again, thanks for the recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nougat January 10, 2011

I made this last night and it was moist and delicious! I didn't have time to marinate and bake as directed so I rubbed, bagged, and refrigerated for 4 hours then baked at 375 F breast down for 40 minutes, then breast up for another 40. Wow, it smelled wonderful while baking and it looked so beautiful when done. No white pepper on hand, added 1 teaspoon of sugar, used way less cayenne, and used 3 teaspoons of salt but will go with 4 next time as it was not too salty. When I make roast chicken again, this will be the recipe I use. Thank you C Chatwin!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spokanite September 15, 2006

THIS CHICKEN IS INCREDIBLE!!! I increased all the spices by 1/2 as I had two chickens. To get around the "rub mess", I set the chickens in a metal 9"X13" pan, then applied the rub/onions, and then wrapped the whole thing up and put it in the fridge overnight. The next day, I simply unwrapped the pan and put it right in the oven with a bit of butter and water. I have never had moister chicken ever! I made a simple pan gravy from the drippings, but this chicken sure didn't need any gravy. DH couldn't say enough good things about it, and he usually doesn't say too much about anything. I only wish I could give more than 5 stars!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boxerwing March 04, 2003

Yum. Yum. YUM! Five star fabulousness! I was expecting a huge mess with all the "messy" reviews, but it wasn't so bad. I skipped the bag and seasoned my 6lb bird right in my 9x13 glass pan. I stuffed one quartered onion, 5 cloves of sliced garlic inside, 2 whole sprigs of fresh rosemary, covered it with plastic wrap, and stuck it in the fridge. When I was ready to roast it, all I had to do was take the plastic wrap off, and stick it right in the oven. I added a 1/2 cup white wine and 1/2 cup chicken broth and a few pats of butter. I sliced potatoes and added them the last four hours... they weren't quite done with one hour to go, so I raised the temp to 350. Everything was unbelievable PERFECT. Made gravy with the drippings, homemade rolls, green beans, and wild rice. The kids could hardly stop eating it, and my very picky hubby was impressed! I'm going to turn the leftovers into a yummy chicken and wild rice soup. Can't wait to try this method with a turkey!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cara Lee March 27, 2011
Roast "Sticky" Chicken