Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roast "Sticky" Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roast "Sticky" Chicken

    Average Rating:

    320 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 320

    Sort by:

    • on February 12, 2003

      This was OUTSTANDING! My husband is a 'meat expert'. He loved this, but not as much as as I did. I love to share recipes, but I won't share this one. I want to use it as my traditional bird recipe for holidays, and can't wait to try it on turkey. Thanks to this recipe, I will go down in family history as the one who makes the best holiday dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2003

      Wondeful recipe! Ver tasty- a bit messy to make, but definately worth it! I didn't have any onion powder, so I added a bit extra garlic powder- turned out great! Will be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2001

      very easy recipe and everybody loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2001

    • on February 04, 2011

      I did not read the recipe through and realize that it needed to marinate overnight until the day I was planning to cook it. So I just followed the recipe and skipped putting it in the fridge overnight. It was still delicious and the seasonings are versatile enough that I could incorporate the leftover chicken into many different recipes. I made some chicken salad and also a chicken noodle soup. The chicken literally fell off of the bone so easily I couldn't even pull the drumstick or wing off without everything falling open. Made it super easy to get every bit of chicken and no waste! Next time I will plan ahead and refrigerate overnight and I'm sure it will be even tastier. I will probably shorten the cooking time by 30 minutes because it was starting to dry out...but that is just an adjustment I need to make because of my oven and not a problem with the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2011

      I LOVE the seasonings on this chicken! I had to use a different method to cook (crockpot with a liner) due to my schedule and I rubbed the chicken with butter (but you could use olive oil) and I added 2 tablespoons dried parsley and 1/2 tsp of turmeric to the seasonings because I wanted to try it. The flavor of the chicken was so good. I saved the drippings and skimmed the fat for soup broth later. Thank you for a great chicken recipe. I'll have to try the roasting method when I have more time and can be home with the oven on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2011

      This chicken is wonderful! Made exactly as directed, my chicken wasn't very big so I was only able to fit 3/4 of a big onion inside. Basted three times, filled the house with a fantastic aroma that had us wanting to eat long before it was ready. I added about a 1/4 cup of water and three little pats of butter to the glass baking dish to help the basting juices along. Tasted great, fell off the bone. Can't wait to make broth out of bones and make soup! Oh! I marinated overnight in a Costco bread bag, I save them all the time because they come in handy for so many things, chicken bones for instance! Don't throw them away! Marvelous chicken, easy to do. Made me look like a star! I'll make this again, thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2006

      I made this last night and it was moist and delicious! I didn't have time to marinate and bake as directed so I rubbed, bagged, and refrigerated for 4 hours then baked at 375 F breast down for 40 minutes, then breast up for another 40. Wow, it smelled wonderful while baking and it looked so beautiful when done. No white pepper on hand, added 1 teaspoon of sugar, used way less cayenne, and used 3 teaspoons of salt but will go with 4 next time as it was not too salty. When I make roast chicken again, this will be the recipe I use. Thank you C Chatwin!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2003

      THIS CHICKEN IS INCREDIBLE!!! I increased all the spices by 1/2 as I had two chickens. To get around the "rub mess", I set the chickens in a metal 9"X13" pan, then applied the rub/onions, and then wrapped the whole thing up and put it in the fridge overnight. The next day, I simply unwrapped the pan and put it right in the oven with a bit of butter and water. I have never had moister chicken ever! I made a simple pan gravy from the drippings, but this chicken sure didn't need any gravy. DH couldn't say enough good things about it, and he usually doesn't say too much about anything. I only wish I could give more than 5 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2011

      Yum. Yum. YUM! Five star fabulousness! I was expecting a huge mess with all the "messy" reviews, but it wasn't so bad. I skipped the bag and seasoned my 6lb bird right in my 9x13 glass pan. I stuffed one quartered onion, 5 cloves of sliced garlic inside, 2 whole sprigs of fresh rosemary, covered it with plastic wrap, and stuck it in the fridge. When I was ready to roast it, all I had to do was take the plastic wrap off, and stick it right in the oven. I added a 1/2 cup white wine and 1/2 cup chicken broth and a few pats of butter. I sliced potatoes and added them the last four hours... they weren't quite done with one hour to go, so I raised the temp to 350. Everything was unbelievable PERFECT. Made gravy with the drippings, homemade rolls, green beans, and wild rice. The kids could hardly stop eating it, and my very picky hubby was impressed! I'm going to turn the leftovers into a yummy chicken and wild rice soup. Can't wait to try this method with a turkey!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2010

      For us I used garlic salt instead of plain salt, left out the cayenne, used about 4 T (if not more) of dried onions along with the other ingredients which I zapped in the food processor. I also used a lime chopped up along with the onion which I stuffed inside the chicken. Cooked on a rack basting often and it cooked up beautifully. Great recipe, thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2009

      This was delicious. I reduced the salt to 3 tsps and added a clove of garlic with the onion and it did not sit over night to marinate. Unfortunately we didn't get to eat this the night I cooked it, so we ate it for dinner the next night as sandwiches and it was AWESOME. I've never had leftover chicken taste so moist and delicious before. The next day I turned it into chicken salad using Charlie's Famous Chicken Salad with Grapes. It was awesome. Hubby wants to try it on the rotisserie next time. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2008

      I also made this last minute so it didn't have a chance to sit overnight. This chicken comes out so extremely moist! With the amount of cayenne pepper it was a little spicy, but only because I used a YOUNG chicken instead of a large one! This chicken is just great! There are not many chicken recipes out there that I will leave the skin on for, but this one is a must. The skin is so good and I can't wait to make it again! The house smelled amazing while it baked for 5 hours! I also stuffed a few garlic cloves into the chicken with the onion and served it with garlic mashed potatos and gravy. Great Sunday dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      This chicken was just as good any you'd buy from the deli. I did change the rub a little. I only used 1 1/2 t salt, used onion and garlic powder, omitted the black pepper and used Mexican chili powder instead of cayenne powder (it has a smoky flavor). I also added 2 t of sugar. I used chicken legs and roasted in a 350 oven. We've also used this rub on the grill with chicken pieces and it was awesome. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2006

      This is a rating for the seasoning, (using only 2 tsp. salt), not the cooking method. Whole, small chickens were on sale, so I rubbed the spice mixture on several chickens and froze them. When I knew that we were to have company for dinner, and a very busy day ahead, I put two chickens, still frozen, in my crockpot on high for 6 hours, turning once about half way through cooking. The chicken was moist and delicious. I would like to say that I will try the recipe as submitted next time, but this was such a success I will be tempted to repeat the crockpot cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2003

      I might as well add my 2 cents worth. I tried your recipe this morning and about went nuts waiting for it to get done. Finally raided the frig for some chicken that was left over from last night. Still couldn't wait so finally took it out a half hour early, which was just perfect. I dove in immediately and it was fantastic. Thank you very much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2003

      I followed the directions exactly and I ended up with a beautiful, moist and tender bird. But it was entirely too salty! I love salt, but in this case it was overpowering. My Perdue roaster produced very little drippings, so maybe that caused the problem. I'll use half of the called for salt next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2003

      I'm another on the list about this chicken. However, I'm watching my salt intake and left adding that in and it turned out wonderful. It's a lightly spicy barbecue type rub. I stuffed as much onion as I could in that poor little bird then wrapped the thing in plastic wrap then into the pot I was going to cook it in and refridgerated it for a day then pulled the plastic wrap off and stuck it in the oven. Since I live at a higher altitude than most I cooked it at 350 for about three hours. I didn't baste it because all the juices stayed inside. I had a little of the fat and a little juice and the seasonings. It still is tender and fell apart when I took it out of the pan. Excellent! Worth 5 stars all the way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2011

      Really good! I wrapped my chicken in a few layers of cling wrap instead of a trash bag. Juicy and tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      Like everyone else says, very good and easy! Definitely a keeper! For the marinating part, I used a plastic bag from the meat section of the supermarket - the ones they have available for you to put around your cello packs before you put them in your cart - I would hope those are food safe! I roasted it the way I learned to slow-roast a turkey (from the foodtv, so it should be legit): start in a medium hot oven preheated to 400F (the preheating part is important here) for 15 to 20 minutes, then turn it down to 300 for the remainder of the cooking time. It took exactly 3 hours for a 5 lb bird this way. Does make a pretty bird, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roast "Sticky" Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (154 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 238.0
     
    Calories from Fat 141
    59%
    Total Fat 15.7 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 4.4 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 71.3 mg
    23%
    Sodium 1619.8 mg
    67%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    9%
    Protein 17.5 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites