322 Reviews

This was delicious and easy!! I "rubbed" my chicken by putting it in the large ziplock bag and dumping the spices in the cavity and then around the outside of the chicken. I smushed the bag around to distribute the spices and it worked like a charm. I hate touching raw chicken ;-)

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jckamen March 06, 2003

Delicious!!Worth the mess!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joyce September 04, 2001

The recipe was easy to prepare, though a bit messy (all rub-on recipes are). The result was a juicy, tasty chicken that I'm sure I make again soon.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark H. May 16, 2001

Holy Moly! Best roast chicken ever! I changed up the cooking method to 350 degrees for three hours instead of the 250 for five. I have immune issues, so I didn't really want to take a chance. I also made this at the last minute, so an overnight marination wasn't possible, I just slapped on the rub and into the oven it went. I added smashed garlic to the cavity along with the onions. The bird roasted beautifully and held up during the resting period and carving, but the carcass collapsed after the meat was removed (A sure sign of quality roast chicken!). I used the pan drippings and caramelized onion that fell out of the bird during roasting to make a gravy. I just added 3 tbsp of flour, cooked it for three minutes, added 2 cups of water and brought it to a boil until it thickened. The result was a gorgeous, thick chicken and onion gravy that really complimented the meat. I served it with herb stuffing and steamed green, yellow wax beans, and carrots and corn muffins. This made a fabulous Easter dinner. This recipe will now be my standard roast chicken recipe. Thank you very much for sharing this winner!

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cynna March 23, 2008

I originally got this recipe from another recipe site and have made it many times. In fact, I won't make a whole chicken hardly any other way! The changes that I made were that I only used 2 teaspoons of salt instead of 4 and I used 1 C. of onion instead of the 2 large onions. I cut them into large pieces and then stuffed them inside. I also put this in the crockpot for about 8 hours on low. Who wants their oven going for so long when it's hot outside? It was falling off the bone tender when I cut it. I agree with everyone else that this is quite a messy recipe, but it's to be expected since it's a rub. I also agree with another reviewer in that you shouldn't use a trash bag to cover your chicken. I used two clear plastic food storage bags. This recipe is a definite keeper.

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AudreyBG April 20, 2003

We just finished dinner, and I had to rush in here to post my review! This was the tastiest roast chicken I have ever eaten, and it came out of MY oven!So easy to prepare. I served with rice and pan gravy, which was so flavorful. I can't wait to make chicken noodle soup with the leftovers!

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leaceae January 18, 2003

This was the best roast chicken I ever made or ate! My family loved it. I will definitely make it again and again and again.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ellen Brody November 15, 2001

This is a great mix of herbs and spices! I cooked it exactly as written and it looked (and tasted) fantastic! Unfortunately, everyone who ate it got really sick. I made sure it was above 180 (it reached an interal temp of 186), but it ended up making us all ill. I made it again with a faster roast - it wasn't as "sticky", but the flavor was still fantastic!!!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LauraTracey November 05, 2003

Like some other 'reviewers' I found this recipe on another site. I didn't have white pepper, so, I just omitted that. I also didn't use the onions. I 'roasted' mine in the crockpot on high for 4-6 hours and it turned out great. Also, I just used a 2 gallon ziploc bag and smooshed the spices around the chicken so that it wasn't really messy at all! Thanks for posting!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~cbw~ May 27, 2003

Great mix of herbs for superb flavor! Having read the reviews, I opted to use the coating ingredients (cutting the salt in half), stuff the chicken with herb stuffing, and "roast" the chicken in a bag, surrounded by potatoes and carrots cut into 1 inch pieces. I baked it at 350 as per the bag instructions for almost 3 hours (my chicken plus stuffing plus veggies weighed in a 6 pounds). The herbs gave a wonderful flavor to the chicken, to the vegetables, and to the drippings, which I used to make gravy. Tonight I am using this "rub" mixture on turkey drums for the grill. This mixture is truly tasty--thanks C Chatwin! UPdate (dec 4)--very good seasoning mix to use (with lemon juice and olive oil) as a marinade for grilled turkey and chicken drumsticks. Had them last night--my DH said the chicken drums were "better than El Pollo Loco", which he loves.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
artistclogger December 04, 2008
Roast "Sticky" Chicken