323 Reviews

Yum!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Normans July 26, 2014

Delicious roast chicken. Perfectly seasoned, skin crisp, meat tender. Made exactly as directed, no changes. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' July 26, 2014

This is fabulous!!! To all who work outside the home, you can actually put this one in the oven before you leave and it's perfect when you get home. I've left it in for much longer than the 5 hours and it's still super moist and delicous. Thank you for sharing this one C. It's my new favorite recipe!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yedenmatka November 02, 2013

this is quite possibly the best chicken I've ever had! I set on 300 as I didnt have 5 hours in my day...(needed it before soccer) I went a little heavy on the cayenne but thanks so much for the recipe. I will make this again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelley White Mayher October 15, 2013

I've been making this chicken for years now, forgot to review -- <br/>So juicy, tender and delicious! I don't use the trash-bag -- just set the chicken in a small roasting pan and cover it with plastic wrap for the overnight. I rarely have garlic or onion powder in the kitchen, so chop-fine fresh and make more of a 'paste'. Also, I use vinyl food-handler gloves to keep the mess down when applying the rub. Tomorrow's chicken will be served with garlic smashed potatoes and broccoli.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SDB September 28, 2013

This recipe makes an unbelievably delicious chicken! I've made this several times since I found the recipe and each time it's perfect. I followed the advice ns from another reviewer to put the chicken and the rub into a big bag and smoosh it all up onto and into the chicken. Works great and not a bit messy! I'm making it again today and expect it to impress the guests as it always has...it's so beautiful and so delicious! What's not to love?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Soygal September 23, 2013

I have made this many times with the following observations: I no longer use all the spices--just white & black pepper and salt--because I think this allows the chicken flavor to shine through (and no butter, oil, or basting). Convection speeds up the cooking considerably--4 pounder in 3-3 1/2 hours; a 7 lb roaster would, of course, take longer. Dressing the cooked meat lightly with some melted butter or warm chicken stock makes a nice touch. I always use this recipe (rather than braising or simmering) when I need cooked chicken for other recipes. Cooked this way, the chicken is super easy to pick.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lb3333 July 28, 2013

Very good! I didn't bother with the bag; just covered the pan of chicken wi/ plastic wrap while marinating. We needed to eat earlier than I expected and the chicken was done nicely, at 4.25 hours baking time.<br/>**Made it again, but it's too hot for the oven! I put it in the crockpot, on high for 2 hours and low for 2 hours- WONDERFUL! Even the breast was moist!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn July 25, 2013

This is so yummy! Cooked it at 400 degrees for 15 min then 300 degrees for 3 more hours for a 5 lb chicken. I was out of thyme (punny but true) so I used rosemary, also no white pepper. Otherwise the spice mix was followed and it was all around delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
denise February 27, 2013
Roast "Sticky" Chicken