Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roast "Sticky" Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roast "Sticky" Chicken

    Average Rating:

    321 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 321

    Sort by:

    • on December 15, 2001

      PLEASE don't use a kitchen-can trash bag; even the unscented ones are treated with chemicals and you are really risking your and your family's health.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2002

      This recipe is not only delicious, it is ridiculously easy!! Besides basting now & then, there's not much else you need to do. I added a little water to the dish to facilitate basting (I used a stoneware baker, and the pan juices were absorbed - next time I'll use glass!). And there will definitely BE a next time - this chicken is good enough for Company! One more comment: The spice mix would make a great seasoned salt for other recipes, such as roasted potatoes, grilled veggies, etc. FIVE STARS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2002

      Just got up from the table after enjoying this yummy chicken! One thing that impressed me right away was when I went to lift the chicken out of the baking dish and the leg fell away from the rest of the bird and the meat came right off the bone! I did a "quick" version in that I only let the rub set on the chicken for just over an hour. Then I baked it for the 5 hours...The only change I would make is to cut down on the cayenne pepper because my 6-yr old thought it was a bit spicy...Another recipe that's a permanent addition to my cookbook! Thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2002

      I made this recipe a few weeks ago (sorry for the late review). I picked this as I happened to have all the ingredients and it looked simple enough. What I got was a very tender and tasty bird. I followed the directions precisely and the bird came out perfectly done. Will admit this is a bit messy to prepare. But worth all the effort.Will make again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2002

      Wow! This really was great! The best chicken I have ever made. It was very simple, too. I wrapped the chicken in plastic wrap after applying the rub. I will definately make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2002

      I have made this from a recipe posted elsewhere, and it is every bit as yummy as already stated. Also wanted to note that I used the same spice rub on my Thanksgiving turkey. I cooked the turkey in the oven all night and most of the next day, at 250 degrees, and it literally fell apart! It was wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2001

      I made this over the weekend and it was very good, although I have to agree getting the rub on was a bit messy. However I will definetly make it again and am sharing the recipe with friends!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2002

      we had this tonight, and it was delicious. i will definitely do this again. the smell is heavenly and it is a very moist, tasty chicken. i also used chicken broth to baste in the beginning. i used a very large ziploc bag which i don't see any more in the stores. you will want to try this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2001

      We loved this recipe. The result is a juicy, tasty chicken. Thanks for sharing. I basted with chicken broth the first few times, until enough drippings were available for basting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2002

      This recipe is delicious, easy, and inexpensive. All my favorite recipe ingredients!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2003

      This was delicious and easy!! I "rubbed" my chicken by putting it in the large ziplock bag and dumping the spices in the cavity and then around the outside of the chicken. I smushed the bag around to distribute the spices and it worked like a charm. I hate touching raw chicken ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2001

      Delicious!!Worth the mess!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2001

      The recipe was easy to prepare, though a bit messy (all rub-on recipes are). The result was a juicy, tasty chicken that I'm sure I make again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2003

      I originally got this recipe from another recipe site and have made it many times. In fact, I won't make a whole chicken hardly any other way! The changes that I made were that I only used 2 teaspoons of salt instead of 4 and I used 1 C. of onion instead of the 2 large onions. I cut them into large pieces and then stuffed them inside. I also put this in the crockpot for about 8 hours on low. Who wants their oven going for so long when it's hot outside? It was falling off the bone tender when I cut it. I agree with everyone else that this is quite a messy recipe, but it's to be expected since it's a rub. I also agree with another reviewer in that you shouldn't use a trash bag to cover your chicken. I used two clear plastic food storage bags. This recipe is a definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      Holy Moly! Best roast chicken ever! I changed up the cooking method to 350 degrees for three hours instead of the 250 for five. I have immune issues, so I didn't really want to take a chance. I also made this at the last minute, so an overnight marination wasn't possible, I just slapped on the rub and into the oven it went. I added smashed garlic to the cavity along with the onions. The bird roasted beautifully and held up during the resting period and carving, but the carcass collapsed after the meat was removed (A sure sign of quality roast chicken!). I used the pan drippings and caramelized onion that fell out of the bird during roasting to make a gravy. I just added 3 tbsp of flour, cooked it for three minutes, added 2 cups of water and brought it to a boil until it thickened. The result was a gorgeous, thick chicken and onion gravy that really complimented the meat. I served it with herb stuffing and steamed green, yellow wax beans, and carrots and corn muffins. This made a fabulous Easter dinner. This recipe will now be my standard roast chicken recipe. Thank you very much for sharing this winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2003

      We just finished dinner, and I had to rush in here to post my review! This was the tastiest roast chicken I have ever eaten, and it came out of MY oven!So easy to prepare. I served with rice and pan gravy, which was so flavorful. I can't wait to make chicken noodle soup with the leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2001

      This was the best roast chicken I ever made or ate! My family loved it. I will definitely make it again and again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2003

      This is a great mix of herbs and spices! I cooked it exactly as written and it looked (and tasted) fantastic! Unfortunately, everyone who ate it got really sick. I made sure it was above 180 (it reached an interal temp of 186), but it ended up making us all ill. I made it again with a faster roast - it wasn't as "sticky", but the flavor was still fantastic!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2003

      Like some other 'reviewers' I found this recipe on another site. I didn't have white pepper, so, I just omitted that. I also didn't use the onions. I 'roasted' mine in the crockpot on high for 4-6 hours and it turned out great. Also, I just used a 2 gallon ziploc bag and smooshed the spices around the chicken so that it wasn't really messy at all! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2008

      Great mix of herbs for superb flavor! Having read the reviews, I opted to use the coating ingredients (cutting the salt in half), stuff the chicken with herb stuffing, and "roast" the chicken in a bag, surrounded by potatoes and carrots cut into 1 inch pieces. I baked it at 350 as per the bag instructions for almost 3 hours (my chicken plus stuffing plus veggies weighed in a 6 pounds). The herbs gave a wonderful flavor to the chicken, to the vegetables, and to the drippings, which I used to make gravy. Tonight I am using this "rub" mixture on turkey drums for the grill. This mixture is truly tasty--thanks C Chatwin! UPdate (dec 4)--very good seasoning mix to use (with lemon juice and olive oil) as a marinade for grilled turkey and chicken drumsticks. Had them last night--my DH said the chicken drums were "better than El Pollo Loco", which he loves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 17

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roast "Sticky" Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (154 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 238.0
     
    Calories from Fat 141
    59%
    Total Fat 15.7 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 4.4 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 71.3 mg
    23%
    Sodium 1619.8 mg
    67%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    9%
    Protein 17.5 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites