322 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

PLEASE don't use a kitchen-can trash bag; even the unscented ones are treated with chemicals and you are really risking your and your family's health.

125 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lennie December 15, 2001

This recipe is not only delicious, it is ridiculously easy!! Besides basting now & then, there's not much else you need to do. I added a little water to the dish to facilitate basting (I used a stoneware baker, and the pan juices were absorbed - next time I'll use glass!). And there will definitely BE a next time - this chicken is good enough for Company! One more comment: The spice mix would make a great seasoned salt for other recipes, such as roasted potatoes, grilled veggies, etc. FIVE STARS!

49 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KeyWee February 17, 2002

Just got up from the table after enjoying this yummy chicken! One thing that impressed me right away was when I went to lift the chicken out of the baking dish and the leg fell away from the rest of the bird and the meat came right off the bone! I did a "quick" version in that I only let the rub set on the chicken for just over an hour. Then I baked it for the 5 hours...The only change I would make is to cut down on the cayenne pepper because my 6-yr old thought it was a bit spicy...Another recipe that's a permanent addition to my cookbook! Thanks! :)

42 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SilentCricket October 11, 2002

I made this recipe a few weeks ago (sorry for the late review). I picked this as I happened to have all the ingredients and it looked simple enough. What I got was a very tender and tasty bird. I followed the directions precisely and the bird came out perfectly done. Will admit this is a bit messy to prepare. But worth all the effort.Will make again

27 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Cher August 15, 2002

Wow! This really was great! The best chicken I have ever made. It was very simple, too. I wrapped the chicken in plastic wrap after applying the rub. I will definately make this again.

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer Wood May 27, 2002

I have made this from a recipe posted elsewhere, and it is every bit as yummy as already stated. Also wanted to note that I used the same spice rub on my Thanksgiving turkey. I cooked the turkey in the oven all night and most of the next day, at 250 degrees, and it literally fell apart! It was wonderful.

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnOkie2 December 14, 2002

I made this over the weekend and it was very good, although I have to agree getting the rub on was a bit messy. However I will definetly make it again and am sharing the recipe with friends!

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patty Muckel May 31, 2001

we had this tonight, and it was delicious. i will definitely do this again. the smell is heavenly and it is a very moist, tasty chicken. i also used chicken broth to baste in the beginning. i used a very large ziploc bag which i don't see any more in the stores. you will want to try this recipe.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nancyal January 28, 2002

We loved this recipe. The result is a juicy, tasty chicken. Thanks for sharing. I basted with chicken broth the first few times, until enough drippings were available for basting.

18 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dawn October 06, 2001

This recipe is delicious, easy, and inexpensive. All my favorite recipe ingredients!

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ClassyMarySue April 22, 2002
Roast "Sticky" Chicken