12 Reviews

Rita, I made these for ZWT8 and could just hang myself! We thought these were terrific, but as I was ready to write the review I realized I forgor to add the Kalamata olives!!! I can only imagine how good THOSE would have been. In any case, they were very very good even without the olives. I will make them again real soon and include all the ingredients. :~(

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jostlori July 27, 2012

This was a fabulous dish! We all loved it. The kalamata olives added such a wonderful flavor to the potatoes and made for a great side dish for our Spanish-style steaks. Thank you for sharing your recipe, Rita~. Made for ZWT8 - Spain/Portugal.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NorthwestGal July 30, 2012

Thank you so much for sharing Rita. My dh & I loved these tasty treats. They were awesome, crispy, tender and full of flavor. I loved the addition of the olives to the dish. They take the flavor to another level, really complimenting the potatoes. This is an excellent recipe that I will make again and again. :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato March 29, 2010

These were awesome! I usually use small red or Yukon gold potatoes when I roast them, so this was a nice change. They got really crisp and perfectly brown, and the olives were a nice salty crunch. Would definitely make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmilyStrikesAgain February 13, 2014

Well, I did remember the olives, but I don't think they added anything more than color to the dish. They all just wound up sliding off the potatoes and into the salsa verde that I served them with. I cut the potatoes smaaller so that they would cook quicker. They came out perfectly crisp in the outside and tender inside.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
threeovens July 29, 2012

Too funny, we're about halfway through eating (and after the photo so I won't post it) and I notice - I forgot to add the olives!! Everyone agreed these were great and they were thoroughly enjoyed! Thanks Rita~! Made for ZWT8 visit to Spain.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buzymomof3 July 29, 2012

Made for ZWT-8, I halved this recipe for 2 of us so it would last for 2 meals & the portions were spot-on. I used a Hungarian paprika from Budapest that was given to me as a gift, jarred black olives as kalamata couldn't be found & the fresh parsley didn't look fresh at all, so I opted for the dry variety. Even w/those 2 chgs, the outcome was very good. DH loved them & like all Icelanders is religious about potatoes w/every dinner meal. I served them w/Halibut Onion Crunch by Bob Mullins (a favourite at our table). Your recipe will definitely be repeated & thx sharing it w/us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis July 20, 2012

Rita, this was sooo very yummy!! I used new potatoes, unpeeled, whole kalamata olives, a tonne of garlic and fresh rosemary because it went with the dishes I had prepared... Incredible! I see that this would be a fantastic 'prep ahead dish' when I have company for dinner. I will just prep nice and early, store in zip lock until ready to roast! perfect! Then sit and visit over a glass of wine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marmie's June 24, 2009

Delicious! I love olives, and I had never thought of this combination before, but I will be thinking of it often. Thanks for posting this winner. Made for ZWT5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! May 21, 2009

My hubby and I loved this one. I know I will be making this recipe again many times!! I used 2 kinds of Olives and love this combo I had never thought to try before. Made and reviewed for ZWT5

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thymestudio May 21, 2009
Roast Potatoes With Olives