10 Reviews

This was very good. I only used one jalapeno (and it was a pretty mild one) as I was afraid using two for the small amount of meat would be a waste. I might try pickled jalapeno next time for more heat. The orange flavor came through nicely though. I marinated about 16 hours or so (overnight). It did take a bit longer than 25 minutes to complete cooking - about 20-25 minutes more in my oven. I took out at a little over 155°, letting it coast up to 160° out of the oven. Juicy and tender - delish! Thanks for sharing :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flower7 December 10, 2010

Yummmmeh. I loved this pork roast. Spicy, savory and delicious.... just like me :) My kids hated it, but they didn't try it so that doesn't count. My DH liked it, and I loved it. The smell was fabulous. The orange flavo was just right with the spice. Awesome. Made and Reviewed for PRMR. Thanks! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilPinkieJ September 01, 2009

I was really scared once I ate a slice of the jalapeno I was marinating with....I grew them myself, and I found that it was much hotter than the peppers I got at the store. But this turned out delicious...not too hot...just right. It took a little longer to get it to the right temperature, but that turned out great...gave me time to get my sides ready! Loved the recipe. Thanks for posting! Made for ZWT5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom May 28, 2009

This smells so good and tastes wonderful too! I especially loved the jalapeno's after they had been roasted on top of the pork. I marinated the meat over night and the heat from the jalapeno went all throughout the pork. Gracias Bellinda! Made for ZWT 5 by an Epicurean Queen!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiedog May 27, 2009

I didn't have paprika so I used chili powder. I sliced the tenderloins and it was in the marinade overnight. This is great :) Thanks Bellinda :) Made for the Saucy Senoritas of ZWT5

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette May 27, 2009

The recipe was easy to follow and tastes authentic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stefano #2 May 26, 2009

This dish is delicious. So different from the other roast pork dishes I usually make. I will definately make it again many times.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amatogabrielle May 24, 2009

Very nice flavor! I marinated it overnight, removed most of the jalapeno seeds, and omitted the salt. I'm looking forward to enjoying the leftovers!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews March 30, 2009

AMAZING. Love the flavour of this. I kept most of the seeds so it was HOT but the other flavours came thru great. My DH and I spent 6 days in Puerto Rico and had a fantastic meal at a restaurant . My meal had 4 different PR speclities and I have been trying to duplcate that flavour at home. Well this recipe did it. Definite keeper. Thanks so much for posting it

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wicked cook 46 November 17, 2008

Wow, I have to admit, I usually turn my nose up at roast pork (bad memories of Sunday dinners as a kid -- sorry, Gram), but I really enjoyed this. I left out the orange zest, since I had no fresh oranges and had to use bottled juice (the good stuff, though). I doubled the marinade recipe, since the only pork loin I had on hand was just over 2lbs. Due to "scheduling conflicts", I ended up marinating this for two days before cooking it, but that was fine, probably since the pork loin was so thick. I wasn't really sure how much to increase the cook time because of the difference in size, so I just went by my meat thermometer (I have one of those digital ones with a really long probe cord so you can use it while your food is in the closed oven). I think it took about 40 minutes, but I wasn't really watching the clock. DH thought it was a little bit too garlicky for his tastes, but I thought it was perfect. Since I'm the one typing the review, my opinion wins lol! Oh, and sorry the photo doesn't really do it justice -- I was being rushed to get food on the table, so I couldn't play around with it. Thanks for improving my opinion of roast pork again, and thanks for posting! Made for PAC Fall 08

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Muffin Goddess October 06, 2008
Roast Pork Puertoricano