Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roast Pork (Pernil) Puerto Rican Style Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roast Pork (Pernil) Puerto Rican Style

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on January 03, 2010

      I thought this was delicious. I made it along with a turkey for our large family gathering at Thanksgiving. Of course the turkey got eaten and this sat by the wayside since alot of our extended family is afraid to try new things. But no matter, I had lots of left overs for myself to enjoy! I would probably try to inject some of the seasoning next time to add even more flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      Que rico y sabroso! I had never had pernil before; I just saw Arron Sanchez eating it on Food Network and had to try it. This is an excellent recipe. I followed the recipe exactly, and it wasn't too salty. I did let the pork marinate for 24 hours. The pork rind (chicharrones) was a fantastic benefit. I got the pork for 99 cents a pound and fed everyone for $8. I'll be making this again. No wonder the Puerto Ricans love this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      I made this recipe with a few changes. I omitted the corn oil because this cut of pork has more than enough fat and oil. I also swapped out the vinegar for the juice of 1 fresh lime. I marinaded it almost 2 days but before i put it in the oven I injected the marinade into the pork. I cooked it as directed and WOW!!! was this ever a tasty piece of pork. Don't think I will ever do it any other way. Btw...I only used 2 packets of Sazon. Combined with the Adobo, I thought it was salty enough for our tastes. Great recipe as is though. Definetely a must try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2009

      Foolproof recipe for making a flavorful and moist pernil. The meat separated readily from the bone and the skin came out crisp and chewy. This cut of meat does produce a lot of fat, so it needs to be separated if you are to use the meat's juice for gravy. Thanks for posting; would like to see more of your recipes, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      Finally I know what the Vonage lady is talking about! "The roast turkey and the big pernil" Finally!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      No changes. Great flavor. Cooked all day on my smoker and used a pan. It came out delish. Dropped it off around 3 today. Wonderful. Next time oven, but I was using the smoker, slight change from original plans, but absolutely came out like it should.!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2013

    • on May 07, 2010

      I'm not sure what happened to mine but it was dry and didn't have much taste. I followed the directions to a "T". I even injected some marinade. I wanted to love this. By the reviews for this ...it's just a fluke for me. Oh well on to the next recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roast Pork (Pernil) Puerto Rican Style

    Serving Size: 1 (383 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 960.7
     
    Calories from Fat 686
    71%
    Total Fat 76.2 g
    117%
    Saturated Fat 24.0 g
    120%
    Cholesterol 257.6 mg
    85%
    Sodium 237.0 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.6 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 62.6 g
    125%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sazon goya

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites