Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roast Leg of Lamb Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roast Leg of Lamb

    Average Rating:

    73 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 73

    Sort by:

    • on March 05, 2010

      A very good and easy dish to make! I used all of the ingredients as listed below. I baked my 4 pound lamb at 375 degrees for 1 1/2 hours to about 158 degrees. The temperature rose upon resting. I did not have a rack so I put the lamb in the pan, but still poured 1 cup of water in. I thickened the gravy as directed below and it tasted great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2002

      What a fantastic leg of lamb this was! I squeezed the lemon over it, then, instead of putting the lamb on a rack, I lay it on the lemon shells, and sprigs of rosemary. Oh, I used fresh rosemary rather than dried.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2012

      Super easy to make and totally yummy. Have saved this as a roasting favourite.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      An answer to prayer! Hubby brought home a 6# semi-boneless lamb leg as an Easter surprise for me. Knowing how much he spent I was reluctant to roast it in fear of ruining it. Let me tell you - it was the most delicious, moist lamb we have ever had! The lemon juice (I had bottled on hand), rosemary (I used fresh) and garlic was a perfect combination. Thank you so much. This one is now the official Easter Lamb recipe in this family.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      We've done this several times and we LOVE it. Lamb roast is wonderful and flavorful. Thank you for a very simple and easy to follow recipe. We used fresh rosemary. Succulent. We like our roast rare so it does not take long, we kept checking with the meat thermometer every 10 minutes after the first 30 minutes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2014

      This was gorgeous, and I'll echo the other reviews: it left us wondering why we don't eat more lamb!! Also, I was repeatedly asked whether the lamb had been marinated -- it was a delicious combination of flavors. As w/some other reviewers, 400F was a bit too hot. Next time I'd reduce to 375 and _definitely_ add water to the pan so that drippings don't burn, and so that (hopefully?) the lamb doesn't burn on top. (Maybe our meat was particularly lean??)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2014

    • on April 08, 2012

      This was good and I was pleased overall with my first attempt at lamb. Next time I will lower the temp to 375 as others suggested. I used a boneless roast but would recommend a bone-in for the added flavor factor. I didn't quite use the entire 1/2c lemon juice. Seemed like a lot to me. I will add this to my holiday menu. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2012

      Last night I used this recipe for a leg of lamb. I used garlic from a jar with fresh rosemary etc. In the pan I put Rose wine, stock and rosemary and used that for basting and gravy. Added a little water now and then. I put the temperature down after 20min's. I will definately be doing this again, thanks for this lovely recipe (even my hubby who isn't a lamb fan loved it).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2012

      Wowza! This has delicious flavor, it takes a little time, but is so easy! Next time I happen to have a leg of lamb laying around, I'll be making this again! Thank you so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2011

      I just made this and it came out PERFECT. This is also my first time making a roast of any kind, I am away at college and missed grandma's easter dinne :( I followed others advice below and cooked at 375. My boneless roast was a little over 4 lbs. I added a touch of dill weed and thyme to the spice mix too. I did not have stock so I did not make gravy, but this meat hardly needs it! I cooked for 80 min and the meat was still quite pink just below surface and draining much blood. I did not really have a thermometer, so I had to go by the juices and peeking in a little cut (I let it cool a little first so this did not drain much juice away) The top was starting to get dark, so I covered with Al foil and recooked another ~20 min. This took it to medium/medium rare after cooling and it is amazzzziiinngly tender and juicy. I also threw in some red potatoes sprinkle in the rub spices about 40 min into the cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2010

      This turned out really well for us. I used a 3.72-lb boneless leg so I cut the garlic back to two cloves, but other than that followed the recipe. Simple but really good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

    • on January 28, 2010

      I did not do the gravy part and it was still great, very easy recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      I made this in our new oven using the rotisserie feature and it came out perfect. Had a pan below w/cut onions, potatoes and beef broth to make the gravy. I like my lamb medium rare, so I only cooked for about 1 hr 20 minutes for a nearly five lb. leg of lamb (not even 20 minutes a pound). I let it rest for about 10 minutes while I made the gravy. Tasted a lot like prime rib which is one of my favorites!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      I love lamb and was looking for a new one to try. I loved this combination of flavors. I used lots of crushed black pepper on the meat and then made gravy adding more pepper. It was so very tasty, that I overindulged and had more than I usually do, but I couldn't help myself it was so good. I made slits in the roast, but then put the minced garlic and juice all over the top instead of inserting it in the meat. I had lots of juice, so it made its way into the roast as it sat in the juice while baking. I didn't add the water or put it on a rack. The result was a very tender roast with loads of flavor and one that was truly enjoyed. The gravy was delicious too! Thanks so much for sharing it with me Sylvie! Linda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

    • on November 17, 2009

      Wonderful. Used to make it like this and then got fancy with all sorts of herbs and spices. Really this is the best way to make it. Gravy was delicious too,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2009

    • on May 19, 2009

      I made this for dinner when we had friends over. It was a huge hit. Also made the gravey like you suggested. A huge hit all round. Thank you Sylivie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roast Leg of Lamb

    Serving Size: 1 (19 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 9.0
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    11%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.4 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 0.2 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    leg of lamb

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes