Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roast Kalau Pork Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roast Kalau Pork

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on May 09, 2010

      This was the bomb! I cooked this in my large roaster @ 350 for about 4 hours. I did use a can of pineapple rings which I put on the meat last. I dumped the juice in with the other ingredients and served this with basmati rice. The leftovers will not go to waste -- in fact, today we had the meat in chimichangas -- yum! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2010

      This is a good recipe. Does tatse about as close as you can get to Kalau Pork without cooking in an imu pit. I have been using a recipe I got while living in Maui that is just Hawaiian Salt and liquid smoke with pretty much the same cooking technique. You can use foil or some sort of bannana leaf or luau leaf. I do want to try the roasting / steaming on a bed of pineapple. I bet that would give it a wonderful tropical flavor. I like to freeze the shredded pork in 1lb bags for quick easy use later. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      I have not made it yet but had it at a buffet in Las Vegas and they made it with cabbage in it and it was the best thing on the buffet so I am going to add cabbage into the juices at the end. The cabbage was chopped into 1-2" pieces and a bit on the crispy side as if it had been boiled or added at the vey end after the pork was pulled apart. It was so yummy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2008

      My family doesn't do well with change. But I managed to sneek this by them and they were pleasantly surprised. I did however, add pineapple and it's juice and just a little bit of brown sugar. Wonderful recipe thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      I used the tips from others and browned the roast first and at the end added crushed pineapple to the top. It was outstanding!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2007

      We really enjoyed the flavors of this pork roast. I used a 2lb roast, and raised the temperature to 350F, and cooked by boneless roast for about an hour using my iron skillet. When the roast was done cooking, I set it aside to rest. I mixed about 2 tsp cornstarch with a small amount of the pan juices, then incorporated with the rest of the pan juices to make a nice silky gravy/sauce to pour over the slices of roast. The next time I do this roast I will preheat my iron skillet and use it to brown the roast before adding the juices and covering. I also like the idea of using some crushed pineapple for a little sweetness. We enjoyed this meal with Mashed Sweet Potatoes Mashed Sweet Potatoes and Kickin' Collard Greens (allrecipes).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      Delicious. My teenaged son declared this the best pork ever. I'm gonna try adding the pineapple next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2006

      Yes, it's a great Roast! I also added the can of pineapple and the taste was just wonderful. Today, I'm making another. I intend to cook it 3.5 hours in the oven and foil, then remove the foil and cook it for about an hour on the Webber (indirect method). To get that subtle smoke flavor. This should be GREAT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2004

      This was very tasty and tender as well! Thank you for posting such a yummy recipe Ô¿Ô. Awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2004

      This was excellent! I made this one twice too, the second time adding a can of crushed pineapple in juice. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roast Kalau Pork

    Serving Size: 1 (312 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 686.7
     
    Calories from Fat 459
    66%
    Total Fat 51.0 g
    78%
    Saturated Fat 17.7 g
    88%
    Cholesterol 201.2 mg
    67%
    Sodium 1692.6 mg
    70%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.8 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 51.6 g
    103%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites