21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a great recipe. My duck was 5.5 lbs. and thawed, and it took about 2 hours to cook. I did double the sauce, as others suggested, and I let it thicken quite a bit, so it's a good thing I doubled it. I didn't have orange juice, so I substituted the orange sauce packet that came with my duck, and the sauce was delicious. Otherwise, other than putting a ton more garlic in, I followed the recipe exactly. I also brined the duck for about 2 hours before I cooked it, and the end result was a very moist inside and a crispy outside. It was great. Definitely an easy, tasty duck recipe. Thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1032214 December 25, 2009

Whoops! I hadn't realized I hadn't made a review! We made this for Thanksgiving. It was excellent. No changes were made at all. This is the 3rd time I've made duck for the holiday, and we didn't miss the boring turkey at all.. :) Thanks for a great duck recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whatsachef? January 08, 2011

great duck recipe , sauce is very tasty

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tomcath June 25, 2011

Excellent recipe,we use the left over duck drippings as the base for the yorkshire puddings. Also double the sauce recipe as it is so popular when you serve the duck!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cliff Bryson January 11, 2008

I was tired of the traditional turkey and ham thing for christmas,so I looked up duck recipes on the internet and I found this one. I made two ducks and one ham just in case... Both ducks were gone and I still had ham left over. It was fast and easy and very delicious! It will become my new tradition during the holidays!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
honeyhouse December 08, 2006

How easy is this!! Used Bonne Maman Peach Conserve instead of peach preserves and the sauce came out real plummy orange. Top marks from the family, now to take it to the friends to impress. Thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vincentgo June 17, 2013

I made this for Christmas 2010 and it is FABULOUS! I just bought this year's duck for my new Christmas tradition.
PLEASE include this on Pinterest!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manx Mamma November 04, 2012

Grew up eating duck at least once a week! The recipe is pretty impressive. Would definitely make this again. I will tinker with the recipe a bit to personalize it to my family's taste. Did double the sauce quantity. Thx for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saucywok:) June 10, 2012

How fantastic!! I just made this as my first duck dish, and I have to say, I was a bit dubious at first about a sage/chili powder/garlic/orange sauce combo. Also, I've had awful gungy duck a l'orange in the past, and hated it. This turned out to be the most flavorful, delicious duck (and sauce!) I could have hoped for. Will definitely be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KVasanth November 27, 2011

Absolutely Awesome!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jewer3303 May 19, 2010
Roast Duck L'Orange