Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roast Duck L'Orange Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roast Duck L'Orange

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on December 25, 2009

      This was a great recipe. My duck was 5.5 lbs. and thawed, and it took about 2 hours to cook. I did double the sauce, as others suggested, and I let it thicken quite a bit, so it's a good thing I doubled it. I didn't have orange juice, so I substituted the orange sauce packet that came with my duck, and the sauce was delicious. Otherwise, other than putting a ton more garlic in, I followed the recipe exactly. I also brined the duck for about 2 hours before I cooked it, and the end result was a very moist inside and a crispy outside. It was great. Definitely an easy, tasty duck recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2011

      Whoops! I hadn't realized I hadn't made a review! We made this for Thanksgiving. It was excellent. No changes were made at all. This is the 3rd time I've made duck for the holiday, and we didn't miss the boring turkey at all.. :) Thanks for a great duck recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2011

      great duck recipe , sauce is very tasty

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      Excellent recipe,we use the left over duck drippings as the base for the yorkshire puddings. Also double the sauce recipe as it is so popular when you serve the duck!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2006

      I was tired of the traditional turkey and ham thing for christmas,so I looked up duck recipes on the internet and I found this one. I made two ducks and one ham just in case... Both ducks were gone and I still had ham left over. It was fast and easy and very delicious! It will become my new tradition during the holidays!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2013

      How easy is this!! Used Bonne Maman Peach Conserve instead of peach preserves and the sauce came out real plummy orange. Top marks from the family, now to take it to the friends to impress. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2012

      I made this for Christmas 2010 and it is FABULOUS! I just bought this year's duck for my new Christmas tradition.
      PLEASE include this on Pinterest!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2012

      Grew up eating duck at least once a week! The recipe is pretty impressive. Would definitely make this again. I will tinker with the recipe a bit to personalize it to my family's taste. Did double the sauce quantity. Thx for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2011

      How fantastic!! I just made this as my first duck dish, and I have to say, I was a bit dubious at first about a sage/chili powder/garlic/orange sauce combo. Also, I've had awful gungy duck a l'orange in the past, and hated it. This turned out to be the most flavorful, delicious duck (and sauce!) I could have hoped for. Will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      Absolutely Awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      Turned about perfect and delicious. We've never made duck before though we eat it often at restaurants. It was simple and great. We flavored our sauce with a little more heat from tiny bits of habanero. Use a good mango chutney! We got ours from an Indian store because we wanted ours to be more spicy. We tripled the Orange sauce so that we had enough to throw over the bird and also have a side dish for individual servings. We added a few more spices to the bird to our tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      I had never had duck before and was warned that I probably wouldn't like it as it is a darker meat bird. Turkey breast being my favorite. It was wonderful and I will be doing it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      Outstanding. Really, really delicious. We poured some boiling water on the duck before seasoning to shrink some of the fat. Otherwise followed recipe and turned out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      Good recipe and the results were delicious! There could be more details in the recipe, such as the size of the duck (I used a 6.5 pound) and how many slices to make in the breasts (I did one in each). I changed the order of the steps; I stuffed in the apples, then sliced and filled (I spread the extra on the skin), and then sprinkled with spices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      this was really easy to make, and delicious. It was the first duck I ever cooked and it turned out really good. The orange sauce and the chili powder/garlic powder/salt combo goes good on chicken too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      This is the first time I've cooked duck and I loved this recipe, it was simple and easy to make. I skipped the orange sauce because I'm not much of a sauce on meat person, but the rest of the recipe was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2007

      That was the first time i have cooked or even eaten duck. I was nervous about the whole recipe because it was a special occassion dinner, but i have to say it was a huge success. Before the duck was served a guest told me they had duck as a kid and didnt like it,so that had me strung out, but that same guest had a second helping and a smile on his dial. wonderful raves from everyone at the dinner table. Thank you Quinn for making my first duck experience a very good one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2006

      Very very good! An dish intense with flavour without being too sweet. Will definately be making this one again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2006

      This was my first time making duck, and it was fabulous! The only thing I did different was I roasted the duck on a rotissery on my grill. Turned out very well this way too. Also, the apples inside the duck were so gross... but I'm sure this was my fault, not the recipe's, as it was our first duck. I'm thinking my husband didn't scrape the inside out well enough! The L'orange sauce was a big hit! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2003

      Completely, absolutely fabulous. There wasn't a piece of duck left on the bone - the sauce was awesome and bread rolls soaked up any extra wonderfully. I wouldn't change a dang thing. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roast Duck L'Orange

    Serving Size: 1 (430 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2769.8
     
    Calories from Fat 2273
    82%
    Total Fat 252.5 g
    388%
    Saturated Fat 84.2 g
    421%
    Cholesterol 481.8 mg
    160%
    Sodium 3965.7 mg
    165%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.6 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 4.8 g
    19%
    Sugars 25.3 g
    101%
    Protein 75.0 g
    150%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sage leaves

    mango chutney

    drippings

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites