Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roast Crock Pot Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roast Crock Pot Chicken

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on July 12, 2003

      I am so sorry but this did not work for me. I prepared a 4lb bird and followed all the steps according to the recipe, however when I returned from work the chick was not only not done (11 1/2 hours) but also it was yellowish and rubbery. I was able to take it out of the crockpot and it had no indications of falling apart. I placed it in the oven to finish cooking and browning. We felt it was lacking in flavor as well. Perhaps adding fresh herbs to the cavity, and half a lemon would have bumped up the flavors. Once again I am sorry as I was really excited to have a roast chicken from my crockpot and not have to heat up the kitchen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2010

      I was excited at the prospect of a roast chicken in the crockpot, but this recipe did not work for me. It took the full 10 hours to brown, but by then was very dry and "muddy" tasting, meaning the flavors were not bright and savory, but tasted overdone and muddled.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2008

      I actually made this recipe a long time ago and forget to rate it. I really liked the taste of it and how easy it was to prepare. It did fall apart when removed from the crockpot. Also, it didn't brown all the way, but it was still tasty!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      This method of cooking a chicken in a crock pot is wonderful! I started a 4 lb chicken at 10 a.m. on high for an hour, then to low until 5 p.m. It was falling off the bone! I used Emeril's chicken rub on mine. Delish! Thanks for posting such an easy recipe for busy days.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2004

      I love this trick of roasting chicken in the crockpot. I have cooked this at least 4 times, and most of the skin will cook to almost brown. I did make changes to the ingredients (that's why I'm giving 4, instead of 5 stars). I used the spice blend from ROAST "STICKY" CHICKEN #8782 (I half the cayenne) and pretty much follow the recipe. I rub a small amount of olive oil onto the chicken to help the spices stick, and I place a small pat of real butter under the skin of each breast. I don't refridgerate it, just let it cook over night, at least 10 hrs. Leg will move easily in socket when done. Many people are surprised that it was "roasted" in the crockpot. The chicken is very flavor full and moist(I think the butter helps) and the spices give the skin a nice color. The juices that collect may have to be drained (I used a baster to remove juice)so the chicken isn't sitting in too much, but don't throw it out it's sooo good. Thanks Marie for the "roasting" idea I love it and use it often. I have recieved many requests for this technique.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2004

      Sorry, but this did not make it to one of my favorites. Easiness of recipe is 5 stars, clean up is 5 stars, directions are 3 stars (how big of an onion do you use and how much garlic do you use), taste is 1 star and appearance is 0 stars. I did exactly as the recipe stated but had to guess at how big the onion needed to be and how much garlic to use ( I used a large onion and 4 garlic cloves). The chicken was DRY, the skin never browned and it lacked in flavor big time. I was very disappointed.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2003

      The chicken was very tender and did fall off of the bones. However, I had to drain the juices from the crockpot a few times. The breast skin didn't brown for me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2003

      I tried this using a PORK BUTT roast (trimmed of fat) and it was wonderfully moist and tender. Can't wait to try it with a BEEF roast next. Thank you from a dedicated crockpot user!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2003

      I made this chicken today and it fell off the bones. It was so moist and tender and the trick with the foil is a keeper! It drained all the fat away from the chicken. Bravo!! Thanks for this recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2012

      Did not come out very well. Did not brown. Was very disappointing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2012

      I made this, following the instructions very carefully and the chicken was HORRIBLE! After 10 hours on low it was NOT browned at all. It was rubbery and a sickly yellow color. I put it in the oven and managed to brown it a bit but overall I consider this recipe a waste of time.

      If the author of it had been in my kitchen when I removed the chicken from the crock pot, I would have been tempted to hit him/her with the rubbery bird!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2011

      My whole family enjoyed this recipe. I cooked it overnight for 10 hours and we enjoyed it for Sunday dinner today. This is definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2010

      This was excellent! And, it was so easy to prepare. Just get it in the crock pot in the morning and it's ready for dinner. I used all my normal seasonings in addition to what is listed - thyme, marjoram, sage, basil, etc. Definitely a hit with my family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      Shame on me for not reviewing something I have made many, many times. After cooking, I remove the skin, bones and shred the chicken in a food processor. It freezes beautifully and can be used in soooo many recipes. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2009

      I completely forgot to review this. I made this a long time a go and it was excellent...i now use the same method anytime I make a roast chicken or roast beef. I've upgraded from foil balls to mini individual tart pans that I invert and put the meat on top of.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      This certainly deserves a 5 star rating for being economical, simple and versatile! I put the seasoning salt under the skn and then placed an apple inside of the chicken with the onion and garlic. The resulting meat was flavorful and tender. It was the perfect pot for me to leave for my teens to share for dinner on a night when I was at work. We were happy to have leftovers which we used the next day for chicken salad. Many thanks Marie - I'll use this method again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      This was EXCELLENT and EASY! I used Lawry's Seasoning Salt and black pepper to season. The seasoning salt gave it a great brown color and wonderful taste. The only disappointing thing is that the skin does not crisp, but having been cooked in a crock pot, I expected this. The chicken turned out super moist and delicious. This will become a staple in my house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      super easy and sooo good! tastes just like the premade ones in the grocery stores only a ton cheaper. Used it for chicken sandwiches. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      It was a little tasty and falling off the bone. Maybe I could use more garlic next time. My hubby expected more flavor. It certainly wasn't browned. I might try it again but it's not on my husband's favorite list. I put 2 potatoes wrapped in foil under the chicken. That was helpful and the potatoes were good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      What a treat to come home to a house smelling of roasted chicken and potatoes after a long, long day of work. I took the suggestion of another cook at added two potatoes wrapped in foil around my chicken and it was just wonderful. Thank you for this terrific suggestion and this terrific recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roast Crock Pot Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (378 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 812.6
     
    Calories from Fat 512
    63%
    Total Fat 56.9 g
    87%
    Saturated Fat 16.2 g
    81%
    Cholesterol 283.5 mg
    94%
    Sodium 264.6 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 70.3 g
    140%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites