36 Reviews

I am so sorry but this did not work for me. I prepared a 4lb bird and followed all the steps according to the recipe, however when I returned from work the chick was not only not done (11 1/2 hours) but also it was yellowish and rubbery. I was able to take it out of the crockpot and it had no indications of falling apart. I placed it in the oven to finish cooking and browning. We felt it was lacking in flavor as well. Perhaps adding fresh herbs to the cavity, and half a lemon would have bumped up the flavors. Once again I am sorry as I was really excited to have a roast chicken from my crockpot and not have to heat up the kitchen.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Cher July 12, 2003

I was excited at the prospect of a roast chicken in the crockpot, but this recipe did not work for me. It took the full 10 hours to brown, but by then was very dry and "muddy" tasting, meaning the flavors were not bright and savory, but tasted overdone and muddled.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ctrmom September 11, 2010

I actually made this recipe a long time ago and forget to rate it. I really liked the taste of it and how easy it was to prepare. It did fall apart when removed from the crockpot. Also, it didn't brown all the way, but it was still tasty!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jess06 May 14, 2008

This method of cooking a chicken in a crock pot is wonderful! I started a 4 lb chicken at 10 a.m. on high for an hour, then to low until 5 p.m. It was falling off the bone! I used Emeril's chicken rub on mine. Delish! Thanks for posting such an easy recipe for busy days.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pam-I-Am March 19, 2007

I love this trick of roasting chicken in the crockpot. I have cooked this at least 4 times, and most of the skin will cook to almost brown. I did make changes to the ingredients (that's why I'm giving 4, instead of 5 stars). I used the spice blend from ROAST "STICKY" CHICKEN #8782 (I half the cayenne) and pretty much follow the recipe. I rub a small amount of olive oil onto the chicken to help the spices stick, and I place a small pat of real butter under the skin of each breast. I don't refridgerate it, just let it cook over night, at least 10 hrs. Leg will move easily in socket when done. Many people are surprised that it was "roasted" in the crockpot. The chicken is very flavor full and moist(I think the butter helps) and the spices give the skin a nice color. The juices that collect may have to be drained (I used a baster to remove juice)so the chicken isn't sitting in too much, but don't throw it out it's sooo good. Thanks Marie for the "roasting" idea I love it and use it often. I have recieved many requests for this technique.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margaret Gandara September 09, 2004

Sorry, but this did not make it to one of my favorites. Easiness of recipe is 5 stars, clean up is 5 stars, directions are 3 stars (how big of an onion do you use and how much garlic do you use), taste is 1 star and appearance is 0 stars. I did exactly as the recipe stated but had to guess at how big the onion needed to be and how much garlic to use ( I used a large onion and 4 garlic cloves). The chicken was DRY, the skin never browned and it lacked in flavor big time. I was very disappointed.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trixyinaz April 15, 2004

The chicken was very tender and did fall off of the bones. However, I had to drain the juices from the crockpot a few times. The breast skin didn't brown for me.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaCS August 14, 2003

I tried this using a PORK BUTT roast (trimmed of fat) and it was wonderfully moist and tender. Can't wait to try it with a BEEF roast next. Thank you from a dedicated crockpot user!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emjay July 09, 2003

I made this chicken today and it fell off the bones. It was so moist and tender and the trick with the foil is a keeper! It drained all the fat away from the chicken. Bravo!! Thanks for this recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooking Mama July 08, 2003

Did not come out very well. Did not brown. Was very disappointing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sam1945 November 03, 2012
Roast Crock Pot Chicken