8 Reviews

Really moist. I Bar B Q'd it in a Weber charcoal cooker.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Calhoon August 10, 2006

Delicious, unusual flavor. I've made this twice so far using "pickling spice" and the flavor is different than other roasted chickens I've made. It definitely needs a whole day in the marinade. The second time I made it I left it in for a shorter period of time and the flavor was not as robust. Thanks, Chef Blade, this one's a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Garlic Chick June 25, 2009

This chicken turned out perfectly! I placed some thick onion slices in the bottom of my iron skillet and roasted the chicken on top of those. I made a gravy out of the drippings using some of the onions as well as a splash of white wine. Served with rice pilaf and roasted broccoli. This chicken was so moist and juicy, and the skin was so crispy. Exactly what we were looking for. Brining poultry is the way to go, as I've done this with turkeys for Thanksgiving with wonderful results as well. Will definitely do this one again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sugarmagnolia_fl February 03, 2007

What a wonderful aroma filled my house and made the dogs drool as this baked. It was the moistest, most flavorful chicken I have ever baked. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scott1265 January 20, 2006

Excellent! I would give this more than 5 stars if I could. Used 4 chicken breasts with bones and skin and a 3 oz package of Zatarain's crab boil. Couldn't be simpler to make. Brining produces a very moist chicken with good, though not overpowering, flavor. My 7 year-old son, who usually does not eat much meat, ate 1 1/2 breasts himself. That's a 10 star recipe at my house. Even picky DH said it was good. I'll make this one again soon. Thanks, chef blade!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama August 02, 2005

This did indeed produce a very moist and flavorful chicken, and we really enjoyed it. However, I feel I have to give it four stars because it did not produce a crispy skin. I will be trying this again though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maiya April 06, 2003

Juicy, tender and a wonderful flavored chicken! I used Zatarain's Crab Boil (3 oz. box of herbs in a bag). The chicken was delicious! My family loved it and I will be making it often! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim D. February 05, 2003

This was the most moist flavorful roasted chicken I have ever made! My family loved my chicken which is a big accomplishment with picky eaters. I've already purchased my Old Bay Seasoning and chicken in anticipation of my next roasted chicken. I did not use the bag of pickling spices but rather the Old Bay Seasoning (dry powder mix) due to an error on my part when grocery shopping - this makes for a chili powder looking brine vs. a clear brine (using the pickling spices) but the outcome is the same, a moist flavorful roasted chicken!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caryn April 02, 2002
Roast Crispy Chicken