Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roast Chicken With Italian Seasonings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roast Chicken With Italian Seasonings

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on December 28, 2011

      I followed the recipe EXACTLY as written but had to move the chicken and onions from the broiler pan into a regular roasting pan after the first 30 minutes of cooking... The amount of smoke generated while using the broiler pan was incredibly alarming! I've never seen anything like it. I don't know if it was because of my particular pan, or my oven (mine is electric), but that is the reason for my 3 star review. The chicken itself did come out rather tasty and was quite moist. I would recommend this recipe - just use a roasting pan instead (if not have your extinguisher ready!!).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      This is just so darned good. I had this with Kittencal's parmesan risotto and it was an amazing dinner. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      This is a great chicken. I loved the flavor the onions added to the roasted chicken. Like another reviewer mentioned, I too added a little bit of thyme to season it up a litte more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

      My girlfriend and I were looking for a good chicken recipe, and being Italian, this one stuck out for me. We used Italian Seasoning on ours to get a nice blend of all the different seasonings. The chicken turned out very moist and had great flavor too. We were very pleased with the results! We had some mashed potatoes and fresh steamed carrots to go with it. Thanks for sharing! Mike

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2007

      Lovely Sunday chicken and so easy! Great flavour with the Italian spices and the olive oil, I used light, really made a wonderful crisp skin. I made gravy with the drippings and served the chicken with mashed potatos, the gravy and applesauce filled acorn squash. Thanks for posting I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2006

      There's definitely something to flipping that bird! That's one tip I won't forget. Even though I was a little skeptical about the Italian seasoning, we loved the flavor. Simple ingredients, good techniques explained, very satisfying results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2006

      I absolutely love this recipe! I don't know if it is the herbs or what, but it is very flavorful. I added the onions but I also added an equal amount of green cabbage. It was very good and I used the leftovers for a wonderful stirfry the next day! Thanks for the keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2006

      I really love the flipping method it really produced a nice moist chicken. I used fresh rosemary and garlic in place of the Italian spices and it tasted great! Thanks a bunch for posting highcotton....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2006

      Turning the chicken makes a very noticeable difference! Breast is much moister and more tender this way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2006

      Having never cooked a whole chicken before, I thought this recipe looked promising. It was wonderful! The meat had wonderful flavor, was so juicy, and fell right off the bone. This is the only way I cook whole chickens and have also carried to over to a turkey breast. What a fast, easy way to make a homemade dinner. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2006

      WOW! First time trying this method and it turned out great. My mom suggested slicing through the skin a few spots around the chicken and stuffing in a little bit of butter. I can't wait for leftovers. Definately making again. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2005

      Our family loves this chicken. I use seasoning salt, pepper and thyme for the spices. It is a fun recipe because you can play around with different flavors. (throw in lemon, or whatever is on hand.) The onions give the chicken a wonderful flavor, and are great by themselves. I use the leftover chicken and onions to make soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2005

      This recipe is delicious! My family comes home and smells the chicken roasting ~ and are all very happy! The only thing I do different... is to rub the spices in after rubbing in the olive oil. I have also given this recipe to family and friends and they just love it! This is the only method of roasting chicken I use! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2004

      Finally a recipe that yields a moist roasted chicken! No more dry roasted chicken for us. The outer skin was nicely crisp and wonderfully flavored from the seasonings. I loved using the onions as they gave just a hint of additional flavor to the chicken. I'll be using this method of roasting chicken from now on. Thanks a bunch for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roast Chicken With Italian Seasonings

    Serving Size: 1 (298 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 813.8
     
    Calories from Fat 522
    64%
    Total Fat 58.1 g
    89%
    Saturated Fat 16.6 g
    83%
    Cholesterol 267.3 mg
    89%
    Sodium 541.9 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.3 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 63.4 g
    126%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites