14 Reviews

I followed the recipe EXACTLY as written but had to move the chicken and onions from the broiler pan into a regular roasting pan after the first 30 minutes of cooking... The amount of smoke generated while using the broiler pan was incredibly alarming! I've never seen anything like it. I don't know if it was because of my particular pan, or my oven (mine is electric), but that is the reason for my 3 star review. The chicken itself did come out rather tasty and was quite moist. I would recommend this recipe - just use a roasting pan instead (if not have your extinguisher ready!!).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HappyWife313 December 28, 2011

This is just so darned good. I had this with Kittencal's parmesan risotto and it was an amazing dinner. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheBurgerDude July 04, 2010

This is a great chicken. I loved the flavor the onions added to the roasted chicken. Like another reviewer mentioned, I too added a little bit of thyme to season it up a litte more.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hazel's Momma April 01, 2009

My girlfriend and I were looking for a good chicken recipe, and being Italian, this one stuck out for me. We used Italian Seasoning on ours to get a nice blend of all the different seasonings. The chicken turned out very moist and had great flavor too. We were very pleased with the results! We had some mashed potatoes and fresh steamed carrots to go with it. Thanks for sharing! Mike

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mike&Cassie September 27, 2008

Lovely Sunday chicken and so easy! Great flavour with the Italian spices and the olive oil, I used light, really made a wonderful crisp skin. I made gravy with the drippings and served the chicken with mashed potatos, the gravy and applesauce filled acorn squash. Thanks for posting I will be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf November 04, 2007

There's definitely something to flipping that bird! That's one tip I won't forget. Even though I was a little skeptical about the Italian seasoning, we loved the flavor. Simple ingredients, good techniques explained, very satisfying results.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Whistle November 18, 2006

I absolutely love this recipe! I don't know if it is the herbs or what, but it is very flavorful. I added the onions but I also added an equal amount of green cabbage. It was very good and I used the leftovers for a wonderful stirfry the next day! Thanks for the keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
boy named Sous August 22, 2006

I really love the flipping method it really produced a nice moist chicken. I used fresh rosemary and garlic in place of the Italian spices and it tasted great! Thanks a bunch for posting highcotton....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheri-BDB June 01, 2006

Turning the chicken makes a very noticeable difference! Breast is much moister and more tender this way.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
redletter May 21, 2006

Having never cooked a whole chicken before, I thought this recipe looked promising. It was wonderful! The meat had wonderful flavor, was so juicy, and fell right off the bone. This is the only way I cook whole chickens and have also carried to over to a turkey breast. What a fast, easy way to make a homemade dinner. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susan R May 08, 2006
Roast Chicken With Italian Seasonings