Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roast Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roast Chicken

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on June 10, 2002

      Loved the apple it gave a sweetmellow taste to the chicken, I must confess I increased the garlic to 1 head. Lovely Sunday dinner thanks Bunsby

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      Wow!! Very good. Incredibly moist. I followed the directions to a T, only addidng butter AND garlic under the skin. Loved it. My 4 year old gobbled it up!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2004

      I'm with everyone else! This recipe is FANTASTIC and made an excellent Easter dinner! I chopped Gala Apples, mixed with the celery and some sprigs of Rosemary and stuffed them in the cavity. I rubbed the outside with Olive oil and shook some Rosemary and Sage on top and stuck minced garlic (I hate peeling and chopping fresh, so I always use minced) under the skin in lots of different places. My dh came downstairs from a nap and commented on how great dinner smelled! The fragrance as it cooked was amazing! I served it with 1. Supreme Garlic Mashed Potatoes (#19259) 2. Roast Chicken (#24062) 3. Mother's Cabbage Relish (#38358) 4. Asparagus Salad (#88014) DH raved about the entire dinner and I'm pleased that I made yet another fantastic holiday dinner solely with recipes from Zaar!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2013

      This chicken turned out very moist. Unfortunately, I didn't think it had much flavor other than chicken. Not bad, but not excellent either. Also, the skin didn't really crisp up at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2011

      Awesome recipe Bunsbby. Love the flavor of this chicken. This is the way my dad use to make roasted chicken when we were kids. It's lovely, great flavour, crispy skin, moist and tender, juicy chicken meat. Perfect, simply perfect. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2010

      Very moist and juicy, I added some sprigs of thyme as well. Delicious, I'll make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2010

      The chicken itself was very moist & delicious while the skin was crispy & golden brown. I didnn't use apples this time but will try it with them in the future. I used everything else as well as 1 quartered lemon. I placed everything inside the chicken and also placed some of the celery under the chicken. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2010

      The chicken was so moist and delicious. I added fresh rosemary and one cut lemon. I would skip the lemon next time. Kids didn't care for the apples but I loved them!! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      I'm a total novice as a cook. I found this recipe relatively easy and it was a big success with the family. I will definitely make it again! We had a 7 lb chicken, so I increased the recipe (2 apples, extra garlic). I didn't have celery on hand so I added vegetables that we ate with the meal (sliced carrots went in and around the chicken along with the apples, and potatoes went around the chicken. They were all delicious, but I especially loved the sweet baked apples slices!) . This 7 pound bird took about 2 hours & 45 minutes to cook. It was moist and delicious! Thank you Bunsby for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      The chicken was very moist and the skin was nice and crispy. The apples came out great. I made it with potatoes and carrots. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      delish -- I used 2 pink lady apples, several pieces of celery and about 4 cloves of garlic because I had a big chicken. I also quartered a lemon and added sprigs of rosemary. So moist and will definitely do again. Thanks to you, bunsby!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

    • on March 26, 2009

      This was a great chicken recipe! I didn't get the garlic under the skin but sprinkled in on both sides of the chicken. I also added Rosemary and Sage as one of the other reviews mentioned. I wanted to roast it quickly so cooked it at 400 for 45 minutes and then 375 for 40 minutes (3 lb chicken). It was a bit dry but I think I left it in about 10-15 minutes too long. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

      Oh....my.....This was fantastic! I added a little bit of butter and tarragon under the skin. The meat was soooo tender -- just fell off the bones. This will become a permanent part of the rotation. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      This was so amazing and it was so simple. It smelled beautiful and it was so pretty once I got it onto a plate for dinner. The chicken was also perfect for making chicken salad the next day. Thank you for posting such a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2008

      Lovely moist roast chcken for Sunday dinner, we loved the apple and celery combination, and of course the garlic flavour was wonderful. Very easy to put together and enjoyed by all. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      This ended up being mind blowing. I made this for our family dinner party last night, everyone was very impressed. Tasty, moist, execellent. Cooking time pointer: I had 2 4lb. chickens, took 2 1/2 hours to cook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2007

      We liked this chicken, but I would have liked it to be more flavorful. I followed the recipe exactly...maybe next time I will add more cloves of garlic as previously suggested. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2007

      Very moist and tasty...thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2007

      This was delicious. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roast Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (191 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 522.0
     
    Calories from Fat 312
    59%
    Total Fat 34.7 g
    53%
    Saturated Fat 9.9 g
    49%
    Cholesterol 172.5 mg
    57%
    Sodium 169.7 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.0 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 4.9 g
    19%
    Protein 43.0 g
    86%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes