Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roast Beef Tenderloin With Red Wine & Shallot Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roast Beef Tenderloin With Red Wine & Shallot Sauce

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-36 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on January 01, 2009

      This is absolutely amazing and a lot easier than it looks. This was my first beef roast from scratch ever and it came out amazing! I am definately making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      the first roast of beef i've ever made myself, and also the most delicious! thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      Excellent....Followed the recipe exactly...Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2008

      Amazing roast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      This was delicious all the way around. We love tenderloin and the sauce was fabulous and easy to make. I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      Made as directed, this is one succulent tenderloin! I feel this deserves more than 5 stars, but what can I say other than "Make It!" We loved this dish and they are right, it is company worthy, heck, it's Queen of Sheba worthy :) I am saving this to make again, as it doesn't get any better than this. There may be some as good but none better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      Oh my! This was fantastic! I can't say enough. I could not get shallots so I had to use sweet yellow onions. That was the only change I made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      Excellent sauce! I didn't have beef tenderloin, so I made this recipe with 4 filet mignon steaks for easter and it was absolutely delicious. I did add a little worcestershire & a slurp of cream to the sauce. The longer you reduce it, the better the flavor gets. My family raved about it even though they told me that filet mignon didn't need a sauce, once they tasted this they changed their mind. Since I used steaks I seared them on high heat and finished them in the oven while the sauce was reducing. Fantastic! Thanks for posting such a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      This was superb. We had it for Christmas dinner. Everyone loved the sauce and put it all over everything...meat, rolls, mashed potatoes, you name it. I did cook it for 55 minutes, after which it was medium rare, then the other cooked for 10 minutes extra to achieve a medium temp. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      Delicious!!!!!! This was my first time making a tenderloin and it was really great - super tender and juicy. One note - it was medium well after the recommended 55 minutes so next time I will check it after about 40 minutes as we like it medium rare. This will allow for us to still be able to tent it and not have it be too well done after tenting. Sauce was great - never got it to thicken enough b/c we ran out of time but it was delicous, even as an "au jus". I used shiraz wine and it was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2006

      Made this for christmas dinner 2006. Followed recipe exactly and it turned out perfectly. Everyone loved it. The sauce was excellent!! And very easy to make. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2006

      The stars are for the roast beef tenderloin without the sauce. I didn't make the sauce this time, but I look forward to making it again with the sauce. The preparation and time for the roast are right on, and produce a delicious tender outcome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2006

      OMG!! Absolutely fantastic. Thanks! Al

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2006

      This was my first try at making a roast, and boy did I ever pick a fantastic recipe! The sauce took a while, but it was very easy to do. Thanks for posting the recipe and for making look like a professional chef to my family. WoW!!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2005

      Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Made this as the main course for Christmas Dinner for a crowd of eight. We couldn't hear the conversation over the MMMMMM'sss.... Perfect amount of the time in the oven! I followed the recipe to the letter including actual shallots and fresh spices. Just scrumptious and not overly time consuming. Make this if you want to impress.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2005

      This dinner was simply amazing, I served it to my guests for Sunday dinner. I didn't have fresh thyme so I used about 2 teaspoons dried, I used a small onion in place of shallots, and increased the garlic, I doubled the recipe and made one beef and one pork tenderloin, since I had a large amount of people to feed, I would honestly love to rate this higher, it is a restaurant-quality dish. Please don't omit the brandy! Thanks Marg for making my Sunday dinner so special!...Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roast Beef Tenderloin With Red Wine & Shallot Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (324 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 744.3
     
    Calories from Fat 471
    63%
    Total Fat 52.3 g
    80%
    Saturated Fat 21.1 g
    105%
    Cholesterol 208.0 mg
    69%
    Sodium 824.1 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.0 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 47.0 g
    94%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites