Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roast Beef Tenderloin With Red Wine & Shallot Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roast Beef Tenderloin With Red Wine & Shallot Sauce

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on April 24, 2011

      I have made this a few times now. The first time I made only the sauce (see 7/10 review below). Yesterday I made a 4# tenderloin & sauce with one major change. Per my BIL/pro-chef, I used an 450°F convection oven temperature for 30 minutes for a perfect medium rare result. BTW the sauce & beef can be made ahead of time. I did this the day before. If doing do, sear the beef on the stove top or grill, wrap tightly in foil and refrigerate for up to a day. 60 minutes prior to cooking, remove from the fridge & unwrap to warm up. Bake until desired doneness, let rest for 10-15 minutes before slicing. Before roasting I re-seasoned the beef with olive oil, rosemary, garlic powder, S&P.
      7/09 Sauce review only: I seared my tenderloin on the outdoor grill and made the sauce recipe as suggested. It turned out great. I halved the recipe and made ahead with the intent on warming adding the cornstarch before serving then forgot to add the cornstarch and it was still wonderful. I would recommend for individual filet mignon as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      Wow. Just superb. I did rub with smashed peppercorns (red, white and black). Otherwise followed recipe exactly and it was wonderful. Will make this again soon! Thanks for a great one.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      This recipe is awesome! I made it for a dinner party and it was a huge hit. I made the sauce in advance before my guests even came and then when the meat was done added the juices and reheated before serving. SO easy too! I also added some fresh herbs (rosemary and thyme)and garlic to the outside of the tenderloin before roasting it. Will definitely make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2013

      This was a big hit for our Christmas dinner. I followed the tips of some reviewers and seared it on my grill first. I put it in a roasting pan and then set it back on the closed grill, increasing my oven space! It worked great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2012

      Oh My Gosh!!! Did this make me look like a star! The beef was melt-in-your-mouth tender and the sauce.....I could have eaten a bowl of that all by itself. Made it for Christmas dinner and it was devoured and loved by all. Thank you for sharing. This one is definately a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2011

      Made this for Christmas Dinner.
      So easy to prepare.
      It turned out wonderful! Wonderful presentation and so so good!
      I can not wait to make a beef tenderloin again!

      Thanks for sharing this keeper recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2011

      Thank you fpr sharing, this is very good! I will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2011

      Fantastic recipe! Used some inexpensive beef roast. The sauce is fabulous. I added steak cut mushrooms to the sauce (sauteed them briefly with the shallots for the last 5 minutes, right before you add the broth/wine etc.). Served with baby carrots and potatoes that I cut up, boiled, and then briefly tossed with butter, thyme, rosemary, and marjoram over med heat. Served with the gravy on the potatoes too, absolutely fantastic. This recipe is a definite keeper. Next time, I will do the beef in the crockpot however, for tenderness (that way I can still use a cheaper cut of beef).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2010

      This recipe was awesome..The gravy was soo good.I used sweet onions instead of shallots and it was amazing.I will be making this again and again...Thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2010

      This recipe was excellent! I BBQ'd the roast & used sweet onions in place of the shallots, since that's what I had on hand. It turned out wonderful, I will for sure be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      I do not eat red meat, but my family does and they LOVED this recipe. I only used the cooking technique for the beef tenderloin and not the sauce, but they all had great things to say about the beef, so thank you Country Lady for your help!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      I had a dinner party for oun nephew who is getting married. Everyone said it was so delicious and it is so easy to do. Just do it exactly as it is written. I am adding it to my favorite recipes for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      Made it for the holidays and it was a HIT!! Thanks loved it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      Simple to prepare with delicious results!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      This is an excellent recipe! The only thing I do differently is add some heavy cream to the sauce near the end.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2009

      Absolutely wonderful! Didn't have the brandy but wonder if Whiskey would do just as well. Hmm... I added fresh sliced mushrooms to the sauce and served over fresh garlic pasta and the "grilled" tenderloin. Simply scrumptious!! You really need to add some nice hot crusty bread to the recipe to sop up all the goodness with. Yum!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      WOW!!! This sauce ia amazing. I grilled the steaks and then put the sauce on top after removing the steaks from the grill. Amazing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

    • on January 24, 2009

      This sauce is out of this world delicious! I used all wine in mine and it was still very tasty without the brandy. This really sent my roast to another level! I will be using this often, as it was a huge hit all around the table!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      Terrific roast, everyone was very happy! I was impressed with the sauce, the whole crowd used it as gravy over the meat and the Hasselback potatoes that accompanied the roast. I did strain the sauce, because I personally like a smooth sauce. I will recommend this to all my beef-loving friends!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roast Beef Tenderloin With Red Wine & Shallot Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (324 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 744.3
     
    Calories from Fat 471
    63%
    Total Fat 52.3 g
    80%
    Saturated Fat 21.1 g
    105%
    Cholesterol 208.0 mg
    69%
    Sodium 824.1 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.0 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 47.0 g
    94%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites