Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roast Beef Sandwich with Spicy Mayo and Avocado Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roast Beef Sandwich with Spicy Mayo and Avocado

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on August 05, 2002

      Just made this for lunch the other day! Easy to put together and very tasty! I liked the flavor the cilantro gave to the sandwich. I served it on crusty French bread and I did add a little yellow mustard to the mayo too. MMMMM! Thanks for a great recipe! -CG

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2002

      Wow, this is quite good. I made this for me and my husband to take for lunch. The spicy mayo was outstanding and definitely gave the sandwich some zip. I also thought the avocado was a nice touch. Thanks leeannr, for adding some variety to our usual boring sack lunch

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2003

      This is a great combination. I make this as a salad because I am on a low carb diet. I also substitute leftover steak if I don't have roast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2003

      My husband and I had this for dinner last night, and it was very good. This is a nice sandwich to serve on a hot night, and the cilantro made the sandwich taste nice and cool. We will be making this all summer long -Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2003

      EXCELLENT!!!Took on a picnic over Memorial Day weekend. Husband said it was one of the best sandwiches ever. I prepared it putting the lettuce on the bread first to prevent the sauce from soaking into the bread, making it soggy. Worked great! This will be a popular picnic item in our family for years to come.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2014

      I scaled back for one serve and used a wholemeal/wholegrain roll and some left over roast beef, 1/2 a small avocado, sharp cheddar cheese and iceberg lettuce and that spicy mayo was the star of the show making this a very delicious lunch. Thank you ciao, made for Name that Ingredient tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2010

      It seemed like it would be a hearty sandwich, so I served it for dinner. My hubby liked it a lot. It didn't have as much flavor as I hoped for, but I'd run out of Tabasco without realizing and substituted Cholula--that may have made a difference. It was very satisfying and the textures were great. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      The mayo wasn't as spicy as I'd expected. We found the sandwiches needed mustard IMHO. Once added, the sandwiches were quite good. Used leftover grilled tri tip in place of deli beef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

      Fantastic flavor!!! I used a low-carb tortilla and made just enough for myself. I also used swiss as that was all I had. I think I'll have this for lunch again tomorrow!! Thank you - I will be making this often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      Incredible! i made this for lunch last week 3 times and my co-workers were drooling!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2009

      Can I give it 10 stars??? I took this to an Air Cadet banquet and it was wolfed up so fast!!! I used a loaf of Italian bread, sliced it and used bamboo sticks topped with an olive to hold the slippery little buggers together as it was somewhat messy. That is all it took, it presented beautifully!!! Lovely thank you for a really unique sandwich! I will try it again as an open faced sandwich. I love the mayo mix on most any sandwich! Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

      WOW! That mayo is hot and it is just what we needed on our steak sandwiches - that spicy sauce is great! Added some Dijon to the mayo and it worked great! My best friend was coming for lunch and we had more people than I expected! So we sliced the strip steak (which I love) very thin, crusty ciabatta rolls, muenster cheese, & of course the avocado slices with some mixed greens (all I had) & with it we served homemade chicken noodle soup and sweet potato fries. My friends enjoyed them immensely and you should have heard all the great compliments! Thnaks so much for posting, it is a keeper, Manami ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2008

      Fantastic recipe! I replaced the lettuce with spinach leaves and added some portebello mushrooms, and it was the most delicious thing ever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      Very good sandwich! Next time I think I'll add some sliced red onion. Thanks ciao.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2007

      We make this all the time. It rocks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      My oh my! This is absolutely wonderful. I used my leftover roast beef and made it for lunch, it was just awesome. The provolone cheese is a nice touch. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2007

      this...sandwich...was....amazing. seriously. amazing. i made this for my husband, his co-worker/friend/bandmate, and myself. i wasn't sure how i'd feel about it...he wasn't sure how he'd feel about it (it was his first time with roast beef)...but dude. DUDE. this was the best sandwich i've ever had. ever. and, according to the im's from my husband and his friend, and my husband's rave reviews afterwards...i belive this was a sentiment shared around the table. thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2006

      This was a nice change from the usual roast beef sandwich. I didn't have tabasco so I used Frank's Red Hot. Next time I'll add a bit more to spice it up further. My avocado was really ripe so I ended up spreading it on one slice of bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2006

      Delicous and easy. I will be the envy of the lunch table tomorrow. I love buying roast beef, but usually refrain due to price. This recipe is well worth the price. Great with pringles and minnestrone soup. I used Frank's Hot Sauce in the mayo dressing and it worked great. No Tobasco on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2006

      AWESOME!! I can't believe I never rated this-you have to try this! I've made this countless times and with the different variations and everyone always loves it. I prefer it with the green Tabasco and add a bit more cilantro (try it). Please try this, you won't be dissapointed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roast Beef Sandwich with Spicy Mayo and Avocado

    Serving Size: 1 (187 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 905.6
     
    Calories from Fat 549
    60%
    Total Fat 61.0 g
    93%
    Saturated Fat 22.6 g
    113%
    Cholesterol 261.5 mg
    87%
    Sodium 4670.6 mg
    194%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 70.0 g
    140%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites