Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roast Beef Hash Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roast Beef Hash

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on March 05, 2003

      great easy recipe - my little ones loved it and so did my husband - but he didn't get much since he ate after they did!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      From now on I'll be shopping for the biggest roast I can find just to have enough leftover roast beef to make this! It is delicious! For convenience I used frozen hash browns which worked very well. I used about one cup of leftover gravy and reduced the milk accordingly. Everything was cooked after 20 minutes but I then increased the heat and cooked it to form a crust, stirred and continued until it was the drier consistency that my family prefers. Just like my Grandma used to make! Thanks Susie in Texas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2012

      My DH and in laws really loved this. I used 1/2 gravy and 1/2 half & half, and frozen hash browns as suggested by others~~excellent! This is where any left over roast beef in my house will go. Made with leftover roast from To Die for Crock Pot Roast from this site. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      Good, yummy, cheap, everything at home, leftover meal. DH ate 2 platefuls. Served with can of corn and buscuits. Used last Sunday's roast, potatoes and carrots. Also used bullion cube-no gravy-no problems. Will use again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      Had leftover brisket, no gravy so I used bullion cube in water. Doubled the recipe. The kids and Dh fell in love with this. I also thought it was great. Simple,quick and COMFORT food!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2003

      This was really easy to prepare and quite yummy. I didn't have gravy, but i thought using milk alone might be too bland, so i threw in a tablespoon or two of Bisto gravy base, which worked out very well. This will become the standard recipe i call upon when faced with leftover roast beef.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2014

      I had some lovely leftover prime rib and followed the recipe as written, but would not make this again. Maybe the hash we eat in New England is different than the rest of the country, but the Worcestershire & milk made this weird for me, and not in a good way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2013

      Wow! great recipe especially when I improvised. I didn't have any gravy so I used a small amount of cream of celery soup mixed in with the milk. Then I added some frozen veggies (mixed variety). Then I did something crazy. Someone gave me some kind of collard greens ( I think). I sliced out the thick stem of the leaves, then chopped the leaves very thin. In a separate pan with olive oil and garlic I grilled the greens until they were soft (added some salt too). It only takes a few minutes. Then I added the greens to the dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2012

      This recipe is not to be missed! I'm a lover of corned/roast beef hash but have never made it myself. I simply opened up a can if I had a craving for it. After trying this recipe I will not be going back to canned hash. We had leftover Prime Rib from Christmas dinner and whipped this up with over easy eggs and toast for the perfect breakfast! I followed the recipe as given but did add some fresh parsley. Once the dish was ready I turned up the heat for a quick blast so the bottom got nice and crispy. Delicious, simple comfort food!! A

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2012

      Very delicious, what a good idea for leftover roast. I diced up already cooked potatoes and made a quick gravy packet. I will definately make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2011

      Excellent!Total comfort food.I have never made hash before. I've only tried the stuff from the can and didn't like it at all. I'm so glad I tried your recipe because it changed my mind about hash. I added bell pepper and jalepeno while browning the onion. I ended up putting the lid on the pan so the potatoes would steam and then took the lid off turned up the heat to brown lightly. DH loved this and I'm looking forward to making this again the next time we have leftover roast beef. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      My wife & I are eating breakfast (eggs over easy with Roast Beef Hash) as this review is being entered. I cooked the recipe exactly as written....surprisingly and pleasantly different than what we have been eating from a can for many years....would definitely make this again...and again....and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      Great recipe and very easy to make. I had some left over corn so I threw that in too. Left over Christmas Roast turned in to a kid favorite in my house. Served with warm bread for dipping in broth not absorbed by items in "hash". My son had thirds! This took less than 20 minutes and only one pan, a knife, and cutting board. Well done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      A fantastic hash recipe! My husband said it was just like his Mom used to make. I think it was the milk and gravey that made the difference. It was so moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2009

      simple quick, very tasty and a complete meal with eggs and buscuits! Thanks!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      This was great! I used fresh carrots and corn too. A balanced meal in a skillet!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2008

      Great recipe. Beware, however, it doesn't serve 6! I used 3 cups diced potatoes because I only had 2 cups of leftover eye of round roast. Still, it was enough beef. I used 2+ full cups of gravy and 3/4 cup milk. Everything else was as directed. I had to add some liquid at the end of cooking until my potatoes were done (my dicing wasn't small enough). I've made this twice and it will remain a staple for leftover roast. The guys (20 y.o. son and husband) love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      Excellent comfort food and a great way to use up leftover roast beef. I'll definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2007

      This is a really good recipe for leftover pot roast. I used a whole cup of chopped onions and a half cup of light cream instead of the milk. I also added a little garlic powder and diced carrots. Delicious. Thank you Susie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2007

      What a delicious way to use up leftover roast beef. I added about 2 teaspoons of dry mustard and 4 cloves of minced garlic to enhance the flavor even more. I also finely diced about 6 leftover roasted carrots and added them too. I thought I was out of onions but found 1/2 of a large red onion mid way through cooking so diced it up and sauted them in butter before adding them to the already mostly cooked meat and potatoes. I used canned evaporated milk which worked beautifully. Next time (and yes, there will be a next time) I am going to try about a tablespoon Merlot instead of Worcestershire Sauce just to see what happens (I love playing with my food). I was not ready to eat when this was done, so my daughter and her boyfriend got their share and left the pan on low for me which sort of dried it out a little bit, so I stirred in a little more milk which brought it back to is previous moistness perfectly. I enjoyed dinner very much. Thank you for posting this recipe Susie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roast Beef Hash

    Serving Size: 1 (107 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 125.4
     
    Calories from Fat 55
    44%
    Total Fat 6.1 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 16.1 mg
    5%
    Sodium 850.0 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.9 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 3.1 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    roast beef

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites