Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roast Beef and Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roast Beef and Gravy

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on December 14, 2002

      I made this last night for my husband. This is one of the simplest, tastiest meals you can make in a crockpot. Even if you don't like mushrooms, give this recipe a try -- you really can't taste them in the cream of mushroom soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2003

      Wow! If I could give this more than 5 stars I would! I used 1/3 of a cup of red wine and 1/3 cup water so I could have more gravy and it turned out perfect! It smelled so good while it was cooking. I served it with mashed potatoes and my meat and potatoes loving DH said MMMM!! He actually asked questions about how I made it! He gave me alot of compliments about this and said he would like to have it at least once a week! It was so easy and delicious. I might teach him how to make it since he liked it so much! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2004

      This is the best crock-pot roast I have ever tried. My family was amazed. The meat was extremely tender and the gravy had an awesome flavor. I served the roast with mashed potatoes and there was plenty of gravy for that as well. Amazing how easy this was. Thank-you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2013

      Was going to be out all day so this was perfect for dinner. Popped it in the crock pot this morning. Couldn't have been any easier to make. 5 stars for ease of preparation. The gravy didn't thicken up as much as I would have liked. The roast was so tender that it simply fell apart. I didn't eat any myself, but my family gave it 4 stars. Served with potatoes and veggies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      This roast definitely deserves 5 stars for flavor, and how much easier could it get? I thought the gravy was awesome over mashed potatoes! I used regular soups, not low sodium. It was not at all salty. Just an FYI for those who may not be aware of this - Cooking wine has a lot of salt added to it to prolong shelf life - if that is what you used, it can make your food very salty. As a general rule, I will not cook with any wine that I would not drink on it's own. You definitely can NOT drink cooking wine, far too salty. Make sure when you make this dish you only use a drinking wine - not cooking wine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

      This recipe has great potential, but it was far too salty for us. We ended up throwing away the gravy. I will make again, but using low-sodium soups. Thank you for posting, I like the method. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      I used reduced sodium soup and it helped to cut down the sodium in this recipe, without affecting the outcome. It was great! I had some leftover roast beef and wanted to make something we would all enjoy. This was it! I served it over noodles and we had some freshly baked Italian bread to sop up the gravy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      This is fantastic! I forgot the wine, but it was still so good and rich. I used stew been (very lean) and served over noodles. This is the recipe I have been looking for!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      WOW, I have to say, I typically avoid recipes that have a can of soup in them. With less than an hour to go the taste and smell are to die for. I plan to serve this over homemade spaetzle noodles, "Spaetzle". UPDATE: I substituted beef stew meat, used red wine and added fresh mushrooms. Even the kids loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      This had really good flavor, but my meat came out fairly tough. I cooked it for about 9 hours so I'm wondering if it wasn't my cut of meat. But overall it was very tasty and I will definitely try to make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2007

    • on March 30, 2006

      Wow, this was awesome!!!! I was just thinking the other day about how much I really do not like cream soups but this recipe is definitely the exception!! YUM!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2006

      I made a slightly altered version, I used only one can of soup and 1/2 cup of wine. The family loved it. More soup would have been more gravy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2005

      Everyone that ate this tonight gave it five stars. All I had was white wine so that is what I used. Thanks for another great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2004

      This made a delicious roast with gravy that my children loved. I did not use the onion soup mix but added Victorian Epicure Beef & Steak spice. The next day I shredded the beef, added it to the left over gravy to warm and then just before serving over egg noddles I added some sour cream to make an easy stroganoff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2004

      The gravy was wonderful. Unfortunately the meat was rather tough. Maybe I had a bad cut. I thought with it sitting in the juices for 8 hrs. would allow the meat to be more tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2004

      This is just about as easy as a pot roast gets. I had a 3 lb boneless short-rib roast, and I cooked it for 7 hours on Low; next time I'll cut back the time as I think it was a tad overcooked. I get very bad indigestion from onion soup mix, so I used a teaspoon of Penzey's "toasted onion powder" instead -- excellent! That was the only change I made. I had lots and lots of very tasty gravy (I poured it into a saucepan and thickened it on the stovetop with a wee bit of flour/water) that went so well with the mashed potatoes I also made. My entire family thoroughly enjoyed their dinner; thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2003

      Fantastic! Easy and very tasty. Served it with biscuits and mashed potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roast Beef and Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (208 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 324.9
     
    Calories from Fat 133
    40%
    Total Fat 14.8 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 5.6 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 112.2 mg
    37%
    Sodium 1061.5 mg
    44%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 37.5 g
    75%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes