18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this last night for my husband. This is one of the simplest, tastiest meals you can make in a crockpot. Even if you don't like mushrooms, give this recipe a try -- you really can't taste them in the cream of mushroom soup.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claire #3 December 14, 2002

Wow! If I could give this more than 5 stars I would! I used 1/3 of a cup of red wine and 1/3 cup water so I could have more gravy and it turned out perfect! It smelled so good while it was cooking. I served it with mashed potatoes and my meat and potatoes loving DH said MMMM!! He actually asked questions about how I made it! He gave me alot of compliments about this and said he would like to have it at least once a week! It was so easy and delicious. I might teach him how to make it since he liked it so much! :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Bee October 30, 2003

This is the best crock-pot roast I have ever tried. My family was amazed. The meat was extremely tender and the gravy had an awesome flavor. I served the roast with mashed potatoes and there was plenty of gravy for that as well. Amazing how easy this was. Thank-you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mariav23 February 11, 2004

Was going to be out all day so this was perfect for dinner. Popped it in the crock pot this morning. Couldn't have been any easier to make. 5 stars for ease of preparation. The gravy didn't thicken up as much as I would have liked. The roast was so tender that it simply fell apart. I didn't eat any myself, but my family gave it 4 stars. Served with potatoes and veggies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom March 23, 2013

This roast definitely deserves 5 stars for flavor, and how much easier could it get? I thought the gravy was awesome over mashed potatoes! I used regular soups, not low sodium. It was not at all salty. Just an FYI for those who may not be aware of this - Cooking wine has a lot of salt added to it to prolong shelf life - if that is what you used, it can make your food very salty. As a general rule, I will not cook with any wine that I would not drink on it's own. You definitely can NOT drink cooking wine, far too salty. Make sure when you make this dish you only use a drinking wine - not cooking wine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Charly* November 08, 2009

This recipe has great potential, but it was far too salty for us. We ended up throwing away the gravy. I will make again, but using low-sodium soups. Thank you for posting, I like the method. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup June 07, 2009

I used reduced sodium soup and it helped to cut down the sodium in this recipe, without affecting the outcome. It was great! I had some leftover roast beef and wanted to make something we would all enjoy. This was it! I served it over noodles and we had some freshly baked Italian bread to sop up the gravy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BluEyedCookette May 05, 2009

This is fantastic! I forgot the wine, but it was still so good and rich. I used stew been (very lean) and served over noodles. This is the recipe I have been looking for!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy2two April 26, 2009

WOW, I have to say, I typically avoid recipes that have a can of soup in them. With less than an hour to go the taste and smell are to die for. I plan to serve this over homemade spaetzle noodles, "Spaetzle". UPDATE: I substituted beef stew meat, used red wine and added fresh mushrooms. Even the kids loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagoland Chef du Jour December 07, 2008

This had really good flavor, but my meat came out fairly tough. I cooked it for about 9 hours so I'm wondering if it wasn't my cut of meat. But overall it was very tasty and I will definitely try to make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bekah49036 August 11, 2008
Roast Beef and Gravy