Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Road Trip Snack Mix Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Road Trip Snack Mix

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on October 10, 2007

      this is a yummy snack , even with cocktails, i did cut back to 1/3 cup oil and added an extra packet of dressing mix. i also baked it in the oven @ 250 for about 45 min stirring every 10-15 minutes, that gives everything an added crispiness and soaks up the oil.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2012

      Easy to make and taste pretty good. Would probably make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2010

      This was ok. Very boring flavor (just salty) even after doubling the seasonings like some reviewers suggested. It was very easy, but I probably won't be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      Loved it! And it was so darn easy...could not find the small ritz bits without filling so I used the new ritz bits that are part pretzel...turned out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2010

      This is soooo yummy. I forgot to review this when I made it a long time ago. Then, I was looking for something to bring to a gathering and remembered this. I was at the grocery store, but I came close to remembering all the ingredients except the goldfish. I bought frito scoops, so I had to use those instead. I look forward to doing it again with the goldfish..as it is better when the ingredients are smaller in size. Thanks for this take-along great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      Very, very good...very, very easy!! My only troubles was knowing exactly how much of each item since I bought in bulk and was changing some of the ingredients based on availability and preference. In the end, I used about 4 cups of goldfish (wholewheat), 4 cups of pretzels, 6 cups of Crispix and 2 cups of peanuts. I am so looking forward to munching on this during our road trip!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      This stuff is great! The only changes I made were that I used Crispix cereal instead of the Ritz Bits crackers and I halved the recipe, because we made the Pizza Flavored Snack MIx from this site with the other half (which is also yummy).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      I just used Cheez-It Party Mix, the ranch dressing, and the veggie oil for this. It is DELICIOUS! Even picky DBF gave this 5 stars. I put some into little snowman baggies for my xmas party gift boxes. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2008

      My Sis makes this mix but adds "buggles" to hers. She says it's delicious. I always take some type of snack mix when we're traveling. A great recipe for kids, card parties, and general get togethers. I, too, bake it for a while which seems to help distribute the oil and flavors. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      So good. I made these for a wrestling meet and everyone around me was grazing on this. We all enjoyed this and I have since then passed on your recipe to others. Thank you for this delicious recipe...Stephanie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      Great snack! I added a little extra dill for additional twang. It was enjoyed by both the kids and adults. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      A great snack! I modified the recipe a little by omitting the nuts and adding shreddies instead. I also tossed the mixture with a little dill pickle popcorn seasoning to mimic the 'pickled cowboy' popcorn that you can buy at kernels (a Canadian popcorn store).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2007

      I made this for our family reunion, and it was a big hit! I was concerned about using the oil, but not baking it, but it turned out fine, not at all greasy like I thought it might be. My package sizes were a little off, but as close as I could get. The Ritz Bits miniatures were actually sandwiches with cheese inside, which made it even more yummy. Thanks so much for posting a recipe so much tastier than the Chex mix!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2007

      This is so easy! My kids love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2006

      Very good! I left out the cashews as some in my family can't have them. Like other reviewers, I also added more ranch dressing mix than called for to get a stronger flavor. This filled a deep lidded 9x13" pan plus a quart sized freezer bag. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2006

      Made this for our family camping trip, everyone loved it. Gave some to our friends to try and they asked me to make it for them to take on vacation! Try adding some chedder pretzels! Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2006

      This recipe deserves five stars! It is easy, requires no cooking, and tastes great! I had some doubts about the mixture being oily and greasy, but it isn't oily at all. I completely forgot to add the cashews, and I agree with Bobtail that two packets of ranch dressing mix are far better than one. I will absolutely make this again and again, but will try almonds rather than cashews as the cashews are a bit expensive. Thanks for posting this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2005

      love it..I added bugals(sp??) instead of ritz bits as I had the bugals & no ritz..& I wanted to try these... loved the flavor & they turned out WONDERFUL!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2005

      Okay, picture this...4 ladies on a weekend shopping road trip, in a Ford Expedition, going down the interstate, passing a huge bag of this stuff back and forth, stuffing their faces and still talking 100mph! Okay, I know, not a pretty sight! But this does attest to how good this mix is! We almost lived off of this the whole weekend! The other 3 asked for the recipe and expressed how delicious they thought it was! I prepared it as directed by the recipe and kept tasting as I mixed. I found that I had to add much more ranch dressing to get the strength of flavor that I wanted. Very Very Good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2005

      I am so glad I came across this recipe. Its really delicious and so easy to assemble together. Great snack for for trips, breaks,packed school lunches etc. I added alittle Greek seasoning to mine too. Thanks for sharing this snack recipe! ITs a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Road Trip Snack Mix

    Serving Size: 1 (2097 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 388.5
     
    Calories from Fat 222
    57%
    Total Fat 24.6 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 5.0 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 2.2 mg
    0%
    Sodium 639.7 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.4 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 7.7 g
    15%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Ritz Bits miniature crackers

    ranch dressing mix

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites