Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rj's Rice Pudding Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rj's Rice Pudding

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on July 08, 2014

      This is the exact recipe I have been searching for - a near carbon copy of an old one from a 1950s cookbook my mum used until it literally fell apart. One small suggestion from the cookbook recipe that we followed: meringue by beating the egg whites adding granulated sugar (1/2 cup a small sprinkle at a time) to stiff peaks. Place the rice pudding into a casserole dish and spoon the egg white peaks over the pudding. Bake in preheated 350 oven until peaks are browned. Remove from oven and cool. Serve in pudding cups.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2013

      This is absolutely the best rice pudding I have tasted. I've looked for years for a recipe like this. Everyone loves it. It makes a lot - enough for a party, maybe 18-20 servings - too much for just the two of us, so I usually make only 1/3 recipe and that makes must the right amount. I frequently make this recipe with brown rice with excellent results as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2010

      this is very good i did not think that i was making it right for the lack of thickening
      but when it got to be warm it thickened really good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

      When I first added the custard mixture to the rice while making this I was a little nervous that it wouldn't thicken up enough. However, even though I used fat free milk, it thickened just fine. I separated this into little Tupperware containers and store them in my second refrigerator until my sweet tooth would hit and I would grab one out. This is a very tasty classic rice pudding that I would recommend to anyone who likes it. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      The first time I made this I didn't bake it and thought it was a little too "loose". The next time I baked it in two separate 1 3/4 qrt casserole dishes per directions and found it was way overcooked and dried out. I have always baked rice pudding in a water bath at 300 degrees F. To do this place the dish containing the pudding into a larger container filled with water. Also, cook the rice per instructions on the package. Not all long grain rice cooks for 25 minutes. I often substitute chopped dates for raisins. Any rice pudding is good topped with Brown Sauce. See receipe #100875 for a good Brown Sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2009

      Excellent!! Had same trouble with egg whites staying on top. Second try, I did not beat them as much - barely to soft peaks - and the problem was solved. I used sugar substitute, extra nutmeg and vanilla and sprinkled the top with my cinnamon toast mixture which contains cinnamon, nutmeg, sugar and orange zest. Yummy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2009

      Wow! Fluffy and yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2008

      This had a wonderful flavor to it that I really loved! I did have a problem, tho. I followed the recipe to a "T", except for adding raisins and I'm not sure why, but when I added the egg whites, they kept seperating, making their way to the top of the pudding mixture even after whisking them in, and turned golden when I baked it. I just skimmed it off the top with no problems. Pudding was a little dry after baking, so next time I think I will reduce cooking time to 20-30 minutes. Very delicious! Will continue to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2008

      This was so good. Made it for my husband who had been asking for rice pudding and he was really impressed. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      My husband and 7 kids who"hate rice pudding" devoured this pan in one sitting! Used left-over rice and left out the raisins (didn't want to push it!). Thanks for what tastes more like my grandmother's rice pudding than the recipe she gave me and made believers out of my family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      We enjoyed this quite a bit. I salted the water and I tempered the eggs into the custard instead of cooking the eggs together with the milk. I also thought the rice came out a little hard and absorbed too much moisture from the custard after sitting. By the time dinner came the pudding was not as creamy as it was when I made it this morning, next time I will add some milk to the boil step.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

      We made this exactly as written for Buddha's family reunion (his whole family loves rice pudding). We're sorry to have to say that at the end of the gathering, it was barely touched. :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2007

      Yum! I made a few changes-- divided the recipe to a third, used leftover jasmine rice, took out the raisins, and added a bit of salt. I also didn't measure the rice since I wanted to just use up what I had, and ended up with too much rice. Flavor is wonderful, will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2007

      This was amazing! I made a note to self that it would be just as delicious without the rice, if you're looking for just a creamy pudding. I added another TBSP of vanilla, because I love the stuff. Thank you for sharing this one, you did a great job.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2007

      This was absolutely AMAZING!! I did have to 'tweak' the cornstarch, as I couldn't get it to thicken to the right consistency, so I added another TBSP, and that did the trick. The flavor is amazing, and it's SO creamy. I'll be eating this all by myself!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2007

      Found it tricky to get the right consistency after initially mixing it together but putting in the oven eventually did it. Despite that it tasted great

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2007

      This was good but we all felt it was missing something. My husband suggested salt and the addition took this dish from good to great! I added about 1/2 tsp. We also used golden raisins. I did like that you didn't have to cook the rice ahead of time like my other rice pudding recipe. Thanks Bob.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2006

      I made this for a New years eve dessert party. I omitted the raisins and used cooked Minute Rice. Served it with sweetned whipped cream. It was fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2005

      this was just the rice pudding i have been looking for. i made it with sushi rice (left over from making sushi) and it was so creamy. almost like tapioca. but very simple and very delicious. a new favorite. thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2005

      My new all time favorite! It is delicious, devine, delectable! Thanks for sharing it with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rj's Rice Pudding

    Serving Size: 1 (140 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 174.9
     
    Calories from Fat 24
    13%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 34.7 mg
    11%
    Sodium 37.9 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.6 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 14.4 g
    57%
    Protein 4.0 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites