10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I agree with what Dawn said this was awesome. I will fix this again. My husband loved it also and wanted to give it 10 stars. Thanks Miss Annie for another great recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Bailey December 17, 2002

Oh Miss Annie- God Bless Texas and the Junior league! This spinach recipe is awsome. It is creamy spinach with attitude! I served it with Chicken Jerusalem and it was a great accompaniment.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dawn October 09, 2002

Fantastic recipe! I've been making this for 25 years! I was extremely unhappy when they stopped making jalapeno cheese rolls,and instead of Monterrey jack pepper cheese, I've also used Mexican Velveeta cheese.I do double the recipe, and have no problems with that. Family asked for it, yet again, so I will be making it for the 26th year, this Christmas...:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittygantt December 22, 2010

I make this every Thanksgiving and Christmas. I cook the spinach in the microwave---to save some time (two packs of spinach for 15 min. on high). Otherwise, I follow the recipe exactly. My sons love this dish. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunshine Forever December 03, 2008

Oh yum...this is even better than I remembered (I had it originally when I was about 12 and the River Road Cookbook was about 4 years old--Mom made it, when we were living in New Orleans.) I prefer this without the topping--the better to reheat. It is a wonderful way to prepare spinach!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BarbryT February 01, 2008

This recipe is wonderful - it even converted my spinach-hating mother-in-law! I, too, use cream instead of evaporated milk. Every time I make this I have to print out the recipe for someone. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbie1951 July 17, 2007

Soooo good, no left overs to see if it really can be even better the next day. Used cream instead evaporated milk.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare April 25, 2007

Delicious! I used fat-free evaporated milk and preshredded pepper jack cheese with great results. Spicy, creamy, and so yummy! Would be a great side for grilled steak. Thanks Miss Annie, for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama November 25, 2006

This is excellent. I have added more cheese, more spinach and seasoned to taste. It still comes out beautifully if you keep the consistency correct. Thanks for a wonderful, highly adaptable recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TS February 13, 2006

We had this for Thanksgiving(Canadian) it is soooo good and went over very well

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookie gramma October 16, 2005
River Road Spinach Madeleine