11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very, very good. I didn't have any shrimp, so I was looking for a different recipe. Your recipe is almost identical to my favorite recipe with the exception of it including wine & proscuitto. Let me tell you, this ROCKED! My husband loved it. It does tend to be salty (from prosciutto & parm) but I'm not bothered by that. I crisped up the proscuitto by frying in the skillet prior to cooking the onions (I used EVOO instead of butter) just a bit before adding to the risotto at the end. Thank you for a new family favorite. I served as s side to grilled chicken.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagoland Chef du Jour March 27, 2008

Very good, but I've made other recipes for this risotto that I felt were more flavorful. I followed the recipe to a T, and did need a little bit more broth - when I tested it after 20 minutes, it was still too crunchy. I think it took closer to 30 minutes - make sure you test it!!! You do not want crunchy risotto! I added the lemon zest and couldn't taste it at all, maybe other reviewers added more? Good recipe, but I've made better. But it was easy, for sure, which was nice. (***I just remembered, I did bake the prosciutto first so that it was crisp, which is how I prefer it.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amedrow December 10, 2012

Delicious comfort food. Ditto the importance of the lemon zest! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jeprosser2000 November 02, 2010

Make sure you don't cook this whole thing if you are home alone, because you will eat it all at one sitting. It was excellent

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Camila W. June 06, 2009

This is a really good recipe. I followed the directions exactly although I did divide it in half. It's very easy to make, the directions are excellent and the flavors are great together. The addition of the lemon zest really does make a difference. Worthy of 10 stars. Served with roast chicken and it was delish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sauce Lover June 30, 2008

What a wonderfully spring-like risotto recipe full of flavor. Lazyme, you are so right, lemon is the key here. I loved it so much while I was tasting this as I cooked that I added twice the amount of lemon zest and it was just delicious. I used my own Meyers lemon from my yard. Since I did not have any prosciutto, I subbed thinly sliced ham and also ran out of arborio rice last night and used the "world's greatest tasting rice", California grown Japanese style medium grain rice aka sushi rice and it was perfecto! I used the exact amount of broth, but cut back to 3/4 C cheese because the taste was right at that point. Thanks Lazyme for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rinshinomori June 19, 2008

I loved this risotto! I followed the recipe to the letter and thought it was perfect. I did need to add a little more broth after I added the parmesan and peas to thin it a bit. I agree with several of the other reviewers that the lemon zest is a key ingredient here. Wonderful recipe. Thanks for posting lazyme. Made and reviewed for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MamaJ June 15, 2008

Very nice risotto. Excellent flavor, don't skip out on that fresh lemon zest...it's important. I think for once I picked a decent wine (I am still clueless on buying the stuff) and that was a nice flavor. Loved the green color of the peas and the burst of them with each bite. The prosciutto flavor got a little lost for me. I would agree with some of the other reviewers and cut back on the Parmesan. Dish lost too much moisture when I added it. Thanks for the recipe. Made for my Babes for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitchen Witch Steph June 08, 2008

I love risotto and this is a great recipe. Indeed the lemon gives it that little extra, which makes it taste divine. My husband isn't fond of risotto, but he really liked this one. Thanks for posting. Made for ZWT4

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maïté G. June 02, 2008

What a wonderful recipe for a great tasting dish! I did change one thing just a bit, & that was cutting back on the amount of parmesan cheese used ~ Just before serving I only dusted the top with cheese, using probably not more than a rounded tablespoon, & that was plenty for me! Thanks for sharing your great recipe! [Made & reviewed while in Italy during Zaar's World Tour 4]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike June 01, 2008
Risotto With Peas and Prosciutto