15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Omg, what have I done wrong? I can only imagine, based on previous reviews, that it was my fault and not the recipe's. I followed it completely, shopping for all the specific ingredients since I had none of them on hand save for the salt, so it ended up being somewhat of an expensive experiment. The result was absolute mush. :o( I don't think it was necessarily overcooked as it wasn't dried out or burnt. Maybe it should have cooked on low. The overall flavor was promising, but we couldn't get beyond the texture. Anyway, it was my first time using basil oil, but not my last. The aroma of the shallots cooking in it was divine. Sorry this didn't work out for me, but thank you for posting, zuzuzpetals.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandi (From CA) February 17, 2012

This was a AWESOME recipe. But I totally altered it to try something new....
First off hubby made a mistake with the wine add sweet white wine. Which was rather good in this.
Then we had no shallots so we used onion and garlic.
Then after it cooked two hours we added a half a jar of Vodka Sauce.
Then added breaded chicken cutlets diced to it. Mixed and Served.

Add some garlic bread and this was superb meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bakin Sensations February 20, 2011

I started this and had it timed to be done with the rest of dinner - but then eventually realized I hadn't pougged int eh crock pot! I finished it over teh stove just in time, but it was still really delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jane49423 June 14, 2010

I could just hug you!! I enjoy making risotto when it's cold out (and when I have the time), but in summer..not so much. Came across this recipe today and initially told myself that a really good risotto can't be made in a crock pot. Boy, was I wrong! The flavor was absolutely perfect (although I did overcook it a bit which was my fault). I didn't have basil oil, so I julienned a couple of big fresh basil leaves and threw them into the olive oil while sauteeing the shallots - the basil looked great when the dish was finished. Believe me, I'll be making this often. Thanks so much for this WINNER!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
928033 June 01, 2010

I'm really excited to find this recipe. I'm not a risotto connoisseur and my goal was actually to find a dish that baked up similar to chicken and rice dishes that use tons of dairy. After emptying the skillet I sauteed 1 chopped chicken breast in the pan and threw that in. This worked great for my lactose intolerant hubby. I held out the cheese so we could stir in our cheese of choice. In his case it was almond "mozzarella". No basil oil this go but I will try it when I get the chance. Also used onion instead of shallot. I can see lots of potential here.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Tweaker April 17, 2009

Jan 21, 2008 - What a great recipe. This was so easy to throw together and came out perfectly. Mine cooked in slightly less time - about 1 1/2 hours. I added some pan fried mushrooms with lemon juice. Perfect, yum! April 1, 2009 - Edited to add that this recipe is fast becoming one of my very favourites. I've used real basil instead of basil oil, I've used chili oil. I ALWAYS add a real good squeeze of lemon and have added a couple of diced up chicken breasts at the start of cooking with excellent results. Definitely watch the cooking though as all crock pots are different.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jewelies March 31, 2009

I love this recipe. After work, I really don't think I have the patience or the energy to make a risotto on the stovetop. Now I can just toss the ingredients in the pot the night before and when i get home, it is ready. We like to stir veggies like mushrooms and spinach in just before serving.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Madpoet March 15, 2009

Awesome recipe! My husband loved it! I only made a couple of changes. I used 4 cups of vegetable broth instead of 3 3/4 chicken broth. Also, when I added the cheese at the end, I added chunks of baked salmon. Hubby said that it was wonderful but needed a bit of spice. Next time, I will add GrillMates Salmon seasonings and add fresh parsley for presentation. Thanks for a keeper! Jane

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BeanieJ February 17, 2009

Wow! This was awesome. Cut the recipe in half. As I did not have any basil olive oil or shallots on hand, I just used extra virgin olive oil and half of a small onion. I sauteed the onion until translucent and transferred to the crockpot, then I toasted the rice in the same pan until just slightly golden (NOT brown), and added the wine to the hot pan. Then I transferred everything to the crockpot and added a 14 oz can of chicken broth. It cooked up on high in 45 minutes. Also, I prefer Pecorino Romano instead of Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese (just a personal preference). Ohhhh, so good and creamy. I'll never go back to "stirring and stirring and stirring" method again. Thank you for sharing, this one is DEFINITELY a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alinasls November 02, 2008

I had never made risotto before, but wanted to try it for Valentine's day. This was a pretty good recipe; especially like how easy it was to make. I used a small 2 qt. crockpot which I think was too small; but my 6 qt was too big! So I ended up transferring to the oven covered w/foil when it wasn't done at 2 hours. Made WAY more than 6 servings in my opinion! Will definitely cut in half if I make it again! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 February 15, 2008
Risotto With Parmigiano-Reggiano in a Crock Pot