9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was wonderful risotto!! My family devoured it and gave it 2 huge thumbs up. I made this as written and it turned out creamy, cheesy and oh so delicious. I had to add a little extra olive oil to brown the mushrooms in, but all cooking times were right on. I would be proud to serve this dish to company. Thank you BK, for sharing this wonderful recipe...it is definitely a keeper!! *Made for AUS/NZ swap*

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bayhill December 21, 2008

This recipe was just good for hubby and me. Used only 1 lb of shrimp...this was plenty. Did not have Marjoram on hand; substituted basil. Had to more than double the amount of chicken broth called for...recipe on back of arborio rice bag called for 4-5 cups of liquid and was more accurate. Came out a tad too salty for our tastes (possibly because of extra chicken broth).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maureen in MA January 07, 2013

This recipe isn't bad, but I wouldn't rate it 5 stars. I think it calls for too much shrimp. If I make it again, I will only use one pound. The seasonings were good. Maybe next time, I will add more parmesean cheese.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scrivener1 December 12, 2011

My husband and I made this together for his lunches last week. He is obsessed with shrimp fried rice, but I wanted him to get out of his box a little...so we chose risotto. He loved it! It was nice to make, the directions are very good. I found that I had to add a bit more liquid, almost 6 extra ounces. I may not have measured the rice as accurately. Great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogiclarebear August 09, 2010

I just made this and all I can say is, "fabulous!". There was a bit of prep time, would have been less if I figured out the problem with my food processor sooner :) I added scallops, left out the turmeric (my husband doesn't care for it) and also added garlic salt. Simply delicious, beautiful presentation and impressive to serve.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zeeva22 March 01, 2009

I can't remember when I have enjoyed Risotto more. This was awesome! I made following the recipe exactly and the result was a fantastic blend of flavors that blended very well together, and one that we enjoyed very much. Thank you for sharing your recipe with us Baby Kato! Made for Gimme 5 Recipe Tag Game 1/08

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda's Busy Kitchen January 13, 2009

I made this using half white button mushrooms and half as that is all I half portabella as that is all I had at the time, increased the garlic and reduced the shrimp to 1 pound, also did a few other minor amount adjustments, this is one of the better risotto recipes, thanks for sharing BK!...Kitten

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencalskitchen June 28, 2007

I've recently discovered risottos, and this one is defintely a keeper. I cut everything in half for the most part, but only had 1/2 lb of shrimp. There was plenty of shrimp for me for dinner, but my leftovers will be a little skimpy on the shrimp. I used a combination of shiitake mushrooms and baby portabellos, and regular onion. I also didn't want to open a bottle of wine for 1/4 cup, so I used more chicken broth. I didn't see the butter listed anywhere in the instructions, and not knowing where to add it, I just left it out. My rice wasn't quite as creamy as it should have been, but that was my fault. I should have lowered the temp and let it cook a little longer. Still, it is a wonderful dish that is fancy enough for company.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen67 January 30, 2007

This is so so good! I absolutely love it. Add to the fact that it tastes wonderful the low fat content and it really becomes a luxury dream meal. I didn't have the mixed wild mushies but my criminis worked just fine. This is a keeper, no doubt about that and I can't believe that it hasn't been reviewed before. The recipe worked very well and I don't think I would change anything.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia November 02, 2006
Risotto - Shrimp and Wild Mushroom