Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Risotto in a Pressure Cooker Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Risotto in a Pressure Cooker

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on May 18, 2005

      Cook's Illustrated also says a pressure cooker is worth the money, just for the risotto alone! I use mine a couple of times daily. I couldn't survive without it! I've made this risotto several times and it works out perfectly. Any kind of rice turns out incredibly moist in the p. cooker and this is no exception. I vary the type of cheese. I've used Parmesan and Mozzarella with sundried tomatoes. This dish reheats nicely, too (still moist). Lorna Sass is a top-notch author; so is Pat Dailey, author of "The New Pressure Cooker Cookbook." I use it mostly for reference, since I can adapt any recipe to the cooker. Thanks for posting. Roxygirl in Colo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2014

      Excellent recipe. Although I realize this is changing the recipe a bit, I did add garlic, red bell pepper and 1/2 lb chopped chicken tenders. Absolutely perfect recipe. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2011

      Amazing! Very easy and delicious. At first I was worried because there's no wine and there's so much cheese in this recipe. However, I followed those directions (except I added some spinach and mushrooms) and it turned out amazing! It was so flavorful and not too cheesy at all.
      I only had salted butter on hand (Irish butter) and it worked well. I can't believe there are no photos. I will definitely be making this again so I will try to take photos next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2011

      I have made this twice and it is so easy and so good, even my picky kids like it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

    • on January 25, 2010

      This recipe is just terrific. I had not had risotto before (at least, I had not had good risotto before), and got a pressure cooker for Christmas. Wow! (I have to admit, I even forgot the gruyere cheese, using only the parmesan, and it was wonderful. I had about a cup of baby portabella mushrooms left over and on their last day, so I chopped them up and tossed them in before cooking. Can't say enough about this very flavorful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      We thought this was fantastic. I have always made risotto using the traditional method and this was easily as good! I didn't know what sweet butter was (probably known as something else in the UK) and, not having the gruyere, used only parmesan. It was great. Have made also throwing in some diced chicken and substituting a half cup of the stock for dry white wine - not for children obviously. Thanks x

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2006

      I first tried this recipe in my new pressure cooker using Ms. Sass's cookbook from our local library. Of course I had to buy the book later. She is definitely the queen of pressure cooking. All her recipes are "real." DH and I fell in love with this risotto, and have tried the ones mentioned by Roxygirl too. One of my daughters actually did buy a pressure cooker just to cook risotto. This recipe is truly top notch. We live in the mountains at 5,520 feet. Ms. Sass has instructions for cooking at altitude, and I've not had a problem.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2005

      Perfect! I played with this recipe to serve 2 and also to lower the fat. I sauteed the onion in 1 TBS. of olive oil, used 3/4 c. of arborio rice, and 1 14 oz. can of fat-free chicken stock. I stayed with the steps in the instructions. I used the 6 minute timing on my pressure cooker and then added a sprinkling of shaved romano cheese (omitting the gruyere altogether). This came out delicious, creamy, and with the rice still having full texture. Thanks for a fantastic and FAST risotto.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Risotto in a Pressure Cooker

    Serving Size: 1 (228 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 568.6
     
    Calories from Fat 203
    35%
    Total Fat 22.5 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 11.0 g
    55%
    Cholesterol 56.7 mg
    18%
    Sodium 488.7 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 68.3 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 20.8 g
    41%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites