9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very much enjoyed and so easy to do! I used the tomato option, having plenty of tomatoes to use up, and I cooked some risotto to use for these, as I did prep work for the rest of supper. I can see how versatile this recipe would be, and will definitely be trying it again. They not only made a lovely vegetarian supper, together with Cheesy Spinach-Tomato Strata and Balsamic Cashew Pea Salad , but are great for office lunches! thanks for another winner, bluemoon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth March 05, 2009

Besides its enticing aroma and eye appeal this is delicious, healthy, and easy. And love the use of a leftover incorporated into my meal planning. I used the leftover rice from Noo's Braised (Pilaf) Rice to make this. Thanks bluemoon downunder for another winner! Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal January 06, 2009

Oh very yum! I loved this so much. I've made rice cakes before, but never thought to use risotto. The spinach, red pepper and cheese are such a good blend. I can't wait to try other blends, maybe some roasted red pepper or some fontina on top. Loved it. Made and Reviewed for Please Review My Recipe Tag - Thanks! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilPinkieJ December 26, 2008

My Italian mother in law sent me home with some left over risotto. I thought risotto cakes would be interesting. OH MY thank you for the wonderful recipe. I followed the recipe using tomato and parm. regiano. I topped it with a few drops of red wine. The in-laws use red wine as a spice to Everything! I will be making chateaubriand for xmas eve. I will experiment with gorgonzola maybe a few mushroomes and as always a dab of red wine!! YM Yum. Thank you for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
keldy22 December 14, 2008

When I decided to make it I saw I needed a red bell pepper, chargrilled. It was too late. So I cooked it in a skillet with olive oil and I decided to add a diced onion. I cooked them until they were brown. I used parmesan on 6 cakes. And mozzarella on the other 6. We prefered with the mozzarella. It was hard to remove the cake from the pan. Even though I greased it very well. It was very tasty with the red bell pepper and onion. Thanks Bluemoon. Made for Please Review My Recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette September 21, 2008

These were great even before topping with cheese and baking. I can't wait to try again and play around with the veggie combinations. Next time I think I will use my ramekins for a nice presentation when serving. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
little_wing May 17, 2008

These little gems were wonderful out of the oven. Only change I made was I used Italian seasonings, since I was out of dried oregano. Definitely a keeper, and one I'll be using again soon. :) (In case anyone needed a quick conversion to Fahrenheit, 180 C is approximately 350 F)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Misa January 26, 2008

These are excellent, I used a red bell pepper and added in some green onion and also increased the oregano. Thanks bluemoon!...Kitten:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz April 22, 2006

Great little side dish! I used a tomato and I think next time I will try it with red bell pepper and add some onions. I will also use much less oregano. Thanks Mordreth for posting this great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper January 23, 2006
Risotto Cakes