Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Risotto Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Risotto

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on May 24, 2010

      The texture was perfect but the flavour was a little bit bland. Some herbs and white wine or other additions would help. The directions were excellent.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2008

      I've never made or even had risotto before. This was so good. I used long grain rice, it was all I had, and powdered parmesan cheese, and it turned out great! I appreciated the step by step directions, it made it pretty easy to make!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2011

      Okay, try not to cringe, but I was in a pinch so I made this with Minute Rice. It was fabulous! Big hit with the kids.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2011

      Perfect basic recipe, proportions and technique. Add flavours as you need. Try garlic chives in spring. Mmm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      I have made this recipe quite a few times. It is easy to follow and the end product is always as good as what you would get at a restaurant. You can tweak it many different ways. For example- adding lemon zest or some juice, 2 cloves of garlic, substituting some liquid with white wine, adding veggies (love peas) or meat (just added smoked salmon!). This is now my go to recipe. Easy enough to make for the family even when DH is out of town- NICE!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

      Excellent...first time making risotto...using it to make Suppli alla telefonona for our potluck picnic. Can't wait to eat it! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      followed recipe - but added leftover italian sausage and frozen peas- this meal was a hit in my family- even the four year old ate it up! very adaptable recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

      This was very nice. I used this recipe as a jumping off point and added some chicken to it to make a meal. (As far as my husband is concerned a meal must have meat heheheh) I did add some Montreal seasoning and red pepper flakes to the chicken as it was cooking. Definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2008

      fantastic-i add a little bit of black pepper and saffron-turned out great, will make again-also added 1 and a half teaspoons of white truffle oil at the end for a different flavor-once again this is a great recipe-now the only risotto i make

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      This was very simple, and the instructions helped a lot. It made a nice side dish with BBQ ribs and a fresh salad. I will be sure to try more complicated versions now that I am comfortable with this one, and I will make this one again because everyone liked it. I would describe the flavour as subtle, and creamy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2007

      Very easy to follow, this was my first time cooking risotto and Jax's recipe really helped. Took a little bit longer than 20 minutes for me, closer to a half hour, but it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2007

      This was super! Even my husband, who does not like rice said he liked it. (I just told him it was a pasta dish. Ha) I served it with garlic shrimp and some fresh strawberries and green beans. What a great supper. This recipe was so easy to make. I ended up using 6 cups of chicken broth and about 1/2 teaspoon salt. After the addition of each ladle of broth, I was able to leave the stirring long enough to work on bits of the rest of my supper. Then I would add more broth, and work on another part of supper. It all came together quickly and easily. I look forward to making this over and over. Thanks for great directions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2007

      It took a lot of stirring but the flavor was delicious. Came out creamy and looked exactly the way that Jax said it would. Thanks so much for the recipe and lesson!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2007

      very easy - will make again - good base to other more flavorful risottos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2007

      This was delicious and well worth the time (and stirring). I did replace 1/2 cup of the chicken broth with white wine, for the extra flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      Great recipe, very flavorful and EASY!! Thanks for explaining in detail, it makes it a lot easier for first timers. The only addition I made was a little garlic powder with the onion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2007

      This was great. I had my family over for dinner and everyone loved this dish. It will defintely become a staple in my house. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

      My husband made this for dinner with grilled chicken with a blueberry balsamic barbecue sauce (which I have posted). It was soo good. We love risotto and loved this recipe! No changes were needed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2006

      FYI, all arborio rices are not the same. I recently purchased a huge amount on the Internet and it is not very good quality. It takes twice the amount of liquid to cook it and then it is a very strange texture. Have always had good results with the 'RiceSelect' brand made by Rice-Tec, Inc. Also, a variation on this recipe could be with a better Italian cheese than Parmesan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2006

      This was easy to make but very time consuming.I ended up using 8 cups of stock and simmering the risotto for about 45 minutes before it was done. This is the first time I have tried to make risotto and thanks to your detailed instructions, it came out fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Rice Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Risotto

    Serving Size: 1 (310 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 600.4
     
    Calories from Fat 172
    28%
    Total Fat 19.1 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 11.1 g
    55%
    Cholesterol 47.0 mg
    15%
    Sodium 1323.4 mg
    55%
    Total Carbohydrate 83.6 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    13%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    8%
    Protein 20.3 g
    40%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes