Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rindergulasch (German Beef Goulash) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rindergulasch (German Beef Goulash)

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on March 09, 2003

      Oh Heather oh Heather...this was sooooooo good and with Mimi's spaetzle too! Made me want to sing something from the Sound of Music!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2003

      Let me comment it with the words of KC & The Sunhine Band "That's the way, aha aha I like it aha aha." :-) Great taste! The beef is soft and melts in your mouth and you can freeze and microwave it, if there are left-overs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      This is a great authentic recipe! Anyone who says differently doesn't know what it's supposed to taste like. I was born and raised in Schwarzwald and this is exactly how I remember. Served with homemade spaetzle. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2004

      This recipe turned out to be a very tasteful family meal that you want to keep and enjoy repeadely. The only addition i made in the last was 5 mi.of cookingt was to add half of a jalapeno pepper cut very tiny to give it a little more zest to meet our personal taste. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      Excellent! My family is German and they all loved it. Instead of peppers, I cooked mushrooms separately and added them right before serving to keep it from getting to soupy. Served with spaetzle. A+

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2004

      I would highly recommend this dish. We had it over noodles and the whole family liked it. I used a chuck roast and was careful to simmer it gently and the texture was the best I've ever achieved in a stew (I'll never again use stew meat to save time.) My two cents: you could use less bacon without loss of quality, a dash of cayenne pepper spices it nicely, I prefer the red peppers chopped fine and added just after the onions. Thanks Heatherfeather!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2010

      This was a wonderfully delicious dinner! I did use less broth because I had less meat, but I simmered it in the oven in my cast iron casserole dish for 2 hours at 300F and it turned out great, the sauce was thick and rich, we ate it over wide German egg noodles.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      My husband loved this recipe. I used a lot more paprika 2 tablespoons(I used Penzey's paprika and added some elements from their recipe for goulash). My husband doesn't like noodles, so added potatoes (four potatoes cut into chunks) about 30 minutes before the stew was done. Delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2013

      I made this last night, and it's an absolutely Wonderful Recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2013

      We really like this and will be having it again! I had to used dried margoram. I added extra paprika in the last third of the cooking process. I made homemade noodles but this recipe has peaked my interest to try making spaetzle next time. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2012

      I am of German descent (well Prussian actually but our Prussia no longer exists). My mom would add about a cup of Hungarian red wine (Bulls Blood, German reds are horrible!) and serve it over really small pototoe perogies

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2011

      Holy Smoke! This is good stuff. Very much like the Goulash I was served at a German restaurant a few months back, and have been craving ever since. I made a batch last night for dinner and we finished off the leftovers for lunch today. I sense this will be a regular treat at our house.

      Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      Really excellent! I dropped one star because I made some adjustments to the recipe - decreased the amount of broth - the recommended amount would have made a soup out of it. I used 2 tsp of dried marjoram since I didn't have fresh on hand, but the flavor it gave was still wonderful. I also used chuck roast for my stewing beef which worked well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2009

      This was such a sad sad little recipe. I'm usually not such a negative reviewer but this was so poor I can't contain myself. Very little flavor - made exactly as recipe was stated. I lived in Germany for two year and although that experience certainly doesn't make me an expert I never tasted anything like this! I have been an enthusiastic member (still am) for a number of years. Seems like almost everything gets a 5 star review now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      Perfect. That is all I can say about it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      This is a fantastic stew for a cold, fall day. I followed OliveWP's suggestions and used less bacon and diced the peppers. I also added 1 tablespoon of red wine vinegar at the end. The added acidity gave the taste an extra little spark. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      I made this for dinner last night and it was SOOO delicious! I didn't have any fresh marjoram, and used dried instead. I will be making this again and again! Thanks for posting, HeatherFeather!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2007

      YUMMY! Comfort food at its best. I will make this again and that says alot bcuz I generally make something new everyday.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2007

      This recipe was pretty easy to make and the end result was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      AWESOME!! I come from German heritage and I have eaten a lot of Goulash in my time but this is the best. Thanks HeatherFeather. This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rindergulasch (German Beef Goulash)

    Serving Size: 1 (784 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 283.3
     
    Calories from Fat 177
    62%
    Total Fat 19.7 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 8.3 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 34.5 mg
    11%
    Sodium 1535.0 mg
    63%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 8.7 g
    35%
    Protein 9.6 g
    19%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh marjoram

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes