34 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was excellent! I kad Maggiano's Rigatoni "D" just a few days ago and was able to compare, the recipe is right on the money. I roasted a handful of garlic cloves wrapped in foil with a little olive oil until soft and golden as suggested by another reviewer and mashed them with a fork. Next time I will add more mushrooms - we love them and after you add pasta to the dish, mushrooms kind of get lost, but they taste fantastic! I used baby bellas. Also, I didn't have any Marsala on hand, so I used 6 oz of Chablis and really didn't miss the Marsala. Everyone loved it, even my super-picky-eater 11-year-old. Definitely a keeper. Thank you so much for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alinasls June 24, 2010

This recipe is so close to the restaurant's, there's really no reason to go in. I find the real key is going to Whole Foods for the Kerigold Garlic and Herb butter (it's imorted Irish butter). It's $3 a stick but totally worth it. I also use a rotisserie chicken as a time and flavor shortcut. Definitely not low-cal but it is SOO delicious and really has that WOW factor if you're doing a dinner party.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carramae July 19, 2009

Very close to the original. The sauce came out too thin. I know Maggiano's is not a thick creamy sauce, but this was very thin. I did let the it cook down by half like the recipe calls for. I should have cooked the cream until it began to thicken and then mixed it. Also the onions are not carmelized like at Maggiano's. It was still very tasty.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmyBu August 24, 2009

This is a wonderful dish! I have made it three times and have finally perfected it. First of all, i sautee the chicken in a seperate pan until almost done. While the chicken is cooking i carmalize the onions. when they are carmelized, I add the mushrooms and a generous splash of balsamic vinegar and reduce for a minute or two. then I add the stock, white wine and double to triple amount of marsala. Then I boil until it is reduced a good bit. Then I add the cream and stir until thickened and then add the chicken and other ingredients to the pan. To make the garlic puree, I place about 1 cup of peeled garlic cloves to an oven proof dish, cover it with olive oil then bake in toaster oven for 1 hour at 350 degrees until golden. I then strain the garlic and puree in food processor with some of the oil.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JoyGress November 11, 2008

This is my favorite restaurant dish! This recipe is excellent, and tastes very very close to the actual thing! I will be making this often. It made 5 lunch-sized portions for me. The marsala wine is a must, and it's half the price of regular wine. I don't know where to find garlic butter, so I mixed garlic powder in butter and used that. This recipe is going into my permanent cookbook. Thank you sooo much.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luv Dessert November 12, 2006

Perfect!! Must try!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous April 19, 2015

Terrific. Made as written, family devoured it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shadowrockers March 17, 2015

I am no Maggiano's chef, so I did not expect it to be exactly like theirs, but wow!! Yummy! As close as you can get without their recipe. Nice rendition of the wonderful Rigatoni "D"! I'm impressed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sonsheree October 20, 2014

Wow what a great meal. Made half a recipe for the two of us and turned out great. Served with fresh French bread and Chopped Italian salad. May add another T. of balsamic as I only used 1 T. Loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound April 11, 2014

Delicious. The sauce was thin, but surprised me how much the pasta absorbed after a little while. This is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ECompell April 09, 2014
Rigatoni "d" (Maggiano's)